Catalyst 10.9s

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by Broken Hope, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. Broken Hope

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    No idea what's changed there's no release notes uploaded yet.

    Profiles
    https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/920...ion_profiles/10-9_ATICatalyst_AppProfiles.exe

    Windows 7/Vista 64 bit
    https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/DRIVERS/10-9_vista64_win7_64_dd_ccc_enu.exe

    Windows 7/Vista 32 bit
    https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/DRIVERS/10-9_vista32_win7_32_dd_ccc_enu.exe

    XP 32 bit
    https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/DRIVERS/10-9_xp32_dd_ccc_enu.exe

    Though apparently this is new?

    [​IMG]

     
    #1 Broken Hope, Sep 15, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2010
  2. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,396
    Likes Received:
    1,862
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Thanks, I'll play with 'em after a nappy. ;)
     
  3. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,817
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    Location:
    Germany
    No OpenCL?

    And what exactly does this mean
    "CrossFire™ now functions properly and in-game Anti-Aliasing can now be enabled
    in "StarCraft II""
    AFAIK, there's no in-game controls for Anti-Aliasing in SC2.
     
    #3 CarstenS, Sep 15, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2010
  4. Broken Hope

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    AMD won't bother to include a 17.5MB installer into the Catalyst package for some reason since that's the size of the OpenCL part from the SDK, no idea why they are being so resistant to adding OpenCL to the main drivers.

    Perhaps the SC2 1.1 patch due this month will have in-game controls for AA?
     
  5. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    767
    Location:
    London
    I think part of the problem is working out what to do for people who want OpenCL but don't have Radeon graphics, i.e. anyone with an x86 SSE2 capable CPU.
     
  6. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,817
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    Location:
    Germany
    Where's that problem? People with another OpenCL device still can go through the SDK, if they want to and people with Radeon graphics eventually update their driver and get OpenCL. Some people win, nobody looses, right?
     
  7. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    767
    Location:
    London
    I think AMD is planning to come up with a solution and doesn't want to muddy the waters with something that changes multiple times in getting there. That's the sense I get from staff forum replies to repeated complaints on this topic.
     
  8. Broken Hope

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
  9. Drazick

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish they'll address their Open GL performances.
     
  10. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    13,261
    Likes Received:
    9,950
    Location:
    Cleveland
    What current/recent games even use OpenGL in this day and age?
     
  11. djskribbles

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    667
    Hopefully this fixes the scaling reset bug that was in 10.8. Whenever I move the scaling slider to 0%, it resets after I reboot.
     
  12. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,005
    Likes Received:
    857
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Brink, Rage... but they are upcoming, not current...
     
  13. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    What wondering what needs "fixing". I was just looking at a bunch of OGL performances and they are very strong for us.
     
  14. Drazick

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't care about games.
    Just notice that in Matlab (Which uses Open GL for rendering of teh figures) ATI performs much worse than nVidia.
     
  15. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    13,261
    Likes Received:
    9,950
    Location:
    Cleveland
    How do you know it's not an application issue with Matlab's code instead?
     
  16. Drazick

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, Why wouldn't I experience it differently with nVidia?
    Matlab is Platform independent.
     
  17. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Sure, but that doesn't mean everything platform independant always performs equally well across platforms.

    Take the latest Wolfenstein for example. In Anandtech's coverage of the GTS 450 launch, the lone OGL game was the one that performed the worst in comparison to the competition. Meaning that in that one case, Nvidia's OGL performance was actually worse than AMD's.

    Their DirectX performance was generally right between the 5750 and 5770. But in the only OGL app they tested, it was approximately the same speed as the 5750. And where the OC'd versions generally were faster than the 5770, the OC'd version in OGL couldn't even touch the 5770.

    This isn't me saying that AMD has better OGL drivers. Just an example of where performance can vary greatly depending on application. Or in other words, there's no reason to panic about Brink or Rage performance on AMD GPUs just yet. :)

    Regards,
    SB
     
  18. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,250
    Likes Received:
    3,295
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I'm sure AMD will address any OpenGL performance issues for Rage a few months after it is released ;)
     
  19. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,005
    Likes Received:
    857
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Dunno about that, but if you could point me to a nice application profile list (preferably with details about what they change) I'd appreciate it.
    [I could in NV drivers, you can see all the profiles there and their settings.]
     
  20. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,817
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    Location:
    Germany
    Just saw MoH being a "Gaming Evolved" title - or so it seemd from seeing the advertisement in the catalyst drivers 10.9. So I guess we can expect competitive performance and features upon launch day alright?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...