Can't search!

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by weaksauce, Jun 28, 2008.

  1. weaksauce

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got bombarded with spyware after running some keygenerator, they hampered performance and loaded lots of popups. I've managed to get rid most of it by running some anti-spyware software, but what still doesn't work is that I can't access any web search engine. I can get to google's homepage, but the search doesn't work. Yahoo and altavista sites don't work for me at all. It's kind of annoying. Any suggestions?

    Oh and also there's this:
    http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/9787/spywaresx1.png

    I kind of like that one though.
     
    #1 weaksauce, Jun 28, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 28, 2008
  2. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    6,806
    Likes Received:
    473
    Nuke it from orbit, it's the only way to be sure (reinstall windows).
     
  3. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,722
    Likes Received:
    5,815
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    It's game over man, it's game over!


    ( :( )
     
  4. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    34
    AVG antispyware + spyware doctor + avg anti-rootkit + avg anti-virus free + adaware/spybot (your choice)

    try them all, run procexp afterward and search for rogue (packed) processes and impostors posing as legitimate system processes.

    BTW, the problem you've described is a simple browser hijack BHO. I'm disappointed you've been told to nuke & pave for such a simple problem...
     
  5. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,504
    Likes Received:
    8,707
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Once you have things fixed up you really need to find a better place for your porn and keygens...
     
  6. weaksauce

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well I tried all different kinds, bulletproof anti spyware, adaware, spyware doctor, pestpatrol, panda antivirus with antispyware, and finally I installed symantec antivirus and it found a "vundu" trojan, but that still didn't quite do it. Anyhow, I've just formatted this mofo. And I've made a seperate partion for windows, so next time the shit hits the fan, I'll just zap it. ZAP! Just like that.

    :smile:
     
  7. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    have you checked your hosts file ?
    edit: too late
     
  8. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    34
    call me surprised then. sorry you went through all that. did you try any anti-rootkit software and check the processes via procexp as I suggested?
     
  9. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    ...this is where I might mention linux...or at least vmware (or any virtualization product) for browsing...hell you can install ubuntu inside windows and surf from Firefox or Opera from linux pretty much threat free.
     
  10. Sxotty

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    PA USA
    He installed the threat mize. It didn't jump out and get him.
     
  11. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Scary, eh? But on a vmware IE appliance app it wouldn't have been possible...though "if you make it idiot proof, they'll build a better idiot" is always true...
     
  12. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    34
    Good thing MS knows this well and will be transitioning all (future) Windows products to a virtualized environment then, eh?
     
  13. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Let's see how badly they can f*ck it up :)
     
  14. Simon F

    Simon F Tea maker
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4,560
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    In the Island of Sodor, where the steam trains lie
    If it's any consolation, my laptop got hit by a virus that two different scanners failed to recognise. Ironically, the virus in question kept downloading other virii which were systematically cleaned up by the main scanner.
    I could actually see the virus file that was doing the dirty work but, of course, windows :roll: won't allow you to delete an open file so I couldn't kill it while XP was running and the company laptops have full disk encryption installed so I couldn't boot from a CD.

    Had to do a format and reinstall but, of course, Vaio laptops cunningly put the reinstall software on the hard disk which was formatted. sigh. It's never been the same since.

    I hope there is a special hell reserved for virus writers (and the Sony executive who decided not to ship a re-install CD/DVD).
     
  15. Sxotty

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    PA USA
    You can just use another image of XP.

    My HP laptop was like that, and loaded with crap software so I just used my key and an image of vista I burned to reinstall and get rid of all the bullcrap.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...