Can this hardware project be done for consoles?

Hi, I am not a hardware expert or anything, but I've always had this idea and I want to discuss it with you, great graphics can be achieved on consoles and we can clearly see that in some current gen titles such as Gears of War, Killzone 2, Resident Evil 5...etc, however there are always sacrifices, and that sacrifice being made is usually the framerate, the games I have mentioned before all run at 30fps on consoles and the reason is clear, hardware limitations, is it possible for a GPU manufacturer such as Nvidia or ATI to produce an optional secondary seperate GPU for the console they've developed it's main GPU and link it to that console then use the extra processing power to up the framerate to 60fps so every 30 fps console game would be automatically upscaled to run at 60fps?, or would every game need to be patched seperately to enable such thing?, thanks in advance.

It's tiresome repeating but, framerate is all about priorities.

Any gen of consoles can deliver all games in 60 FPS. The majority of people would rather have better graphics and 30 FPS, so that is what the majority of games use.

Echoing Laa-yosh, no. There's no expansion bus deisgned to route graphics to an external card. Hypothetically speaking you could create a USB card and have software use that as a USB device, but no-one would, and it wouldn't be an expansion of the internal workings that would seemlessly improve eixsting games either.

Even if you could somehow add graphics horsepower, the game engine's internal speed can't be adjusted. If physics, AI, game code etc. only work at 30fps then you can't do anything.

Increasing the rendering resolution would be a bit more simple as it only effects rendering, but only theoretically, seeing how a lot of titles use SPUs on the PS3 to do post processing and sometimes even actual rendering. Those resources would remain limited unless you'd add an entire extra console.