Business trip to the US

PowerK

Regular
Hi guys.

Next week, I'm visiting Austin, TX. Unfortunately, there's no direct flight from Seoul to Austin. The closest city is Dallas. I've been to the west & east side of the US many times before. But it's my first time to Texas.

I'm thinking to drive from Dallas airport to Austin. (I hate to transit.. especially, domestic flights)
According to Google Maps,
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&sou...365093&sspn=0.007411,0.013797&ie=UTF8&t=h&z=7
It's about 200 miles. (Approx. 3 hours 30 minutes of driving). Is this a good idea or should I just suck it up and transit to domestic flying from Dallas to Austin ?

Hi guys.

Next week, I'm visiting Austin, TX. Unfortunately, there's no direct flight from Seoul to Austin. The closest city is Dallas. I've been to the west & east side of the US many times before. But it's my first time to Texas.

I'm thinking to drive from Dallas airport to Austin. (I hate to transit.. especially, domestic flights)
According to Google Maps,
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&sou...365093&sspn=0.007411,0.013797&ie=UTF8&t=h&z=7
It's about 200 miles. (Approx. 3 hours 30 minutes of driving). Is this a good idea or should I just suck it up and transit to domestic flying from Dallas to Austin ?

just be warned that it is a very boring drive, there is literally nothing between dallas and austin.

If it were me I'd take Korean Air to Los Angleles and then Delta (partner airline) from LAX to Austin from there. Breaks up the trip nicely (only about ten hours to LAX) and that way you're not looking at 7 hours of driving past the same brown field. Dallas to Austin is actually a less interesting drive than crossing Nebraska or Kansas.

Just know that LAX is just about the worst major airport in the US.