Beginning graphics driver development?

joh

Newcomer
My goal is ultimately to learn more about GPU architecture and graphics driver development. I'd like to try implementing a 2D kernel space and user space driver, as I've been advised that that is a much easier project when familiarizing oneself with driver development. (I have no driver or kernel dev experience and little linux experience. I've been a OS X developer my whole life however, so I am familiar with the unix environment).

My problem is two-fold:

(1) I'm struggling to find a hobbyist-oriented linux box on the market that uses a well-documented graphics card, or for that matter finding any kind of documented GPU. I'm looking for something with a similar price point as the BeagleBoard (which uses the closed-source PowerVR SGX). If something like that doesn't exist, I believe my only other alternative may be to work with the much more complicated Sandy Bridge integrated chip, as I have one in my laptop and it seems to be well (but tersely) documented at intellinuxgraphics.org.

(2) Given either direction I go with in point 1, I'm still vague on how to actually communicate with a graphics card. After some digging in the intel linux drivers, it seems that it all boils down to essentially libdrm (which I believe to be the kernel space API vendors must implement for each card...?) calling ioctl on a file in /dev corresponding to the graphics card. Is that correct?

Thank you to anyone who can shed some light on my questions and help me along!

Don't want this to sound like an ad but why don't you just join Imagination Technologies? We're hiring for driver dev positions in all locations (UK, Poland, India,...). :)