ATI Mobility M1 Drivers

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by aaronbond, May 12, 2005.

  1. aaronbond

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, this isn't your normal;

    "OMG HELPZ ME PLEAZ I NEED DRVERS."

    I just bought an old Dell Latitude CPxJ which has an onboard M1 ATI chip. Well I was wondering if anyone knew somewhere I could get "newer" drivers for it. The one's on Dell's website (like most drivers on there) are very old. I'm talking 1/10/2001.

    Things I've tried:

    Omega's (maybe an older version works, but d/k where to start?) Current drivers show M6 and up for support

    Patje's modded Cat 5.4's

    IBM-based drivers for same chip .5779 from late 2002. Didn't work. :(

    Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks all!
     
  2. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,267
    Likes Received:
    1,781
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Didn't DriverHeaven have a tool for modding standard Catalyst drivers to laptop drivers? Mebbe it has an M1 option or something?

    (I'm guessing pretty hard here, I know next to nothing about laptops.....damn it. :? )
     
  3. aaronbond

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah digi that's the "Patje modded" It's called the DHModTool or something. I tried that last night. Think he uses the same INF as Omega.

    Dell's - DriverVer=12/01/2000, 5.00.2195.4045

    http://www.geocities.com/ziyadhosein/rprow2k.htm

    Newest - 5.13.01.5064

    Guess I'll give those a try. Too bad it doesn't have a date to it.

    Ohh well's I guess I'm stuck in the stoneage with drivers.
     
  4. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    You can try just forcing them to install thru Driver Update in Device Manager. That works fine for my M9600 though it's a bit scary when you wonder whether it's going to boot up that first time :)
     
  5. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    112
    M1? That's probably Mach64 based, one of these chips known as 3d decelerators (with the scan-line setup if I'm not mistaken). You won't get any useable 3d out of it, and modified catalysts won't run on it - there's a reason m6 is the lowest supported chip. Maybe you could get other mach64 drivers to run.
     
  6. Ichneumon

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    1
    Edit: Hrm, looks like I was wrong... I think you are correct about it being mach64 based.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...