ATI driver profiles.. coming soon

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by FrameBuffer, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. Dave Glue

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    634
    Now all they need is a digital vibrance equivalent. :)
     
  2. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,009
    Location:
    O Canada!
    CCC has "Avivo Color Correction" with Hue and Saturation sliders.
     
  3. Diverge

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Does this mean that we can create a profile for a game that ATI hasn't supported for crossfire?
     
  4. karlotta

    karlotta pifft
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,292
    Location:
    oregon
    But that doesnt work in games...
     
  5. IRQ Conflict

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    DV,AB,Canada
    Really? I thought it did. You know what I miss? The post processing effects that used to be included with Catalyst. More of a toy than an an actual useful feature but it was fun non the less.
     
  6. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Location:
    NGC2264
    But in CCC -> Desktops & Displays -> Right clicking monitor icon and selecting configure -> Avivo Color-> Hue/saturation, color temp control. These AFAIK works for games and Windows desktop and is separate from the Video settings.
     
  7. karlotta

    karlotta pifft
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,292
    Location:
    oregon
    wow duh... thnx
     
  8. Humus

    Humus Crazy coder
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Having games be compatible with driver overrides is kinda backwards. AA and AF overrides were great tools for gamers back when they were introduced and no games supported them. Enabling AF on all textures never broke anything back then (even if it was more expensive than necessary), and games always rendered straight to the backbuffer and DirectX didn't allow any direct sample access, so it was pretty safe to just modify the backbuffer and everything worked. Nowaday game engines are alot more sofisticated and diverse and these overrides are way past their expiration day. Forcing AF can introduce all kinds of ugly artifacts and it's certainly not always the case that the game's "main" buffer is the backbuffer. For instance it's not the case with our engine we use at Avalanche. We do support in-game setting of AA and AF though. With theHunter we had all kinds of problems with driver forced AA. It just didn't work with either vendor and often came with a huge performance penalty for no gain in visual gains. We ended up asking both IHVs to disable AA overrides when the game was detected since we supported it in-game anyway and it just caused problems. The same problem would likely occur in Just Cause 2 too, but honestly I haven't touched the driver control panel settings so I don't know. I stopped changing driver settings sometime around 2004 or so and have never felt a need to touch them again.
     
  9. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,893
    You're my Hero!

    That's just awesome, I hope more devs start to do this. Not only supporting in game settings for AA/AF for all hardware, but also working with IHVs to then make sure they don't force it for that game.

    Well as long as the AA/AF in game is good. :)

    Regards,
    SB
     
  10. jaredpace

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Generally, is it better to use a game's built in AA/AF versus using the Driver control panel?
     
  11. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,781
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    Always.
     
  12. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,893
    Especiallly with deferred renderers.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  13. vazel

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    992
    Funny, I already set profiles in Ati Tray Tools. Is it because it's a less appealing GUI than nhancer? I do miss the better GUIs of the nvidia control panel and nhancer...
     
  14. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    15,632
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    I think it's because you have to activate each profile individually that matters, they don't set themselves automagically when the .exe is detected...do they?

    And yeah, the GUI sucks. :(
     
  15. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,893
    With ATI Tray Tools (ATT) it can do app detection and switch profiles I believe. Never used it though, I prefer to not have to do profiles in the first place.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  16. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    15,632
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    ATT tends to crash my PC since putting a 5970 in, although I haven't tried it in months. Thanks.

    I STILL want ATi to put something like it out, as easy to use as nVidia's profiler and with app detection. :(
     
  17. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,915
    Lets hope it also has app display as so far this seems to be beyond nvidia :(
     
  18. vazel

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    992
    ATT does set profiles automatically when it detects .exe's. It can also display frames per second and GPU/CPU temps in-game like Rivatuner at the press of a hotkey(although that conflicts with the Steam overlay but you can create profiles to disable the OSD for games that make use of Steam friends list and achievement features).
     
    #38 vazel, Feb 14, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 14, 2010
  19. mapel110

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    Germany
    The most interesting thing at the profiles is to deactivate A.I. when the game doesn't need it. -> Better AF-Quality. Maybe they allow to deactivate A.I. (AF-Optimizations) even for Crossfire-Systems.
     
  20. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,726
    Yes well, Tim Sweeney's little engine that can't is kinda backwards ... but we still run into it an awful lot.
     

Share This Page

  • About Beyond3D

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...