Ashes of Singularity - a.k.a. the game that sprung from that Mantle demo.

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by ToTTenTranz, Mar 6, 2015.

  1. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,280
    Likes Received:
    5,897
    By Stardock and using the Oxide engine:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And here's a video:




    Seems to put Planetary Annihilation to shame in terms of unit count.
     
    iroboto likes this.
  2. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    11,515
    Likes Received:
    12,373
    Location:
    The North
    Selecting my next processor is going to be time consuming. I guess waiting for Skylake makes the most sense for now, unless I need more cores than 4.
     
  3. sebbbi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,924
    Likes Received:
    5,293
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Reminds me about Supreme Commander :)
     
  4. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,280
    Likes Received:
    5,897

    Actually, it doesn't look like it will. In the video, they're using a Kaveri with a Radeon 290X and they say the 290X is the bottleneck.
    So if a dual-module Steamroller can take it, it doesn't look like Mantle/Vulkan/DX12 games will be very demanding on the CPU.
     
  5. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    11,515
    Likes Received:
    12,373
    Location:
    The North
    You could be right. I'm still likely to go for a 4 core Skylake though. I have a feeling that this is just the beginning, as impressive as it is, it will require higher scaling over time.
     
  6. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,909
    Likes Received:
    7,813
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Total Annihilation!
     
  7. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    NY
    I loved Supreme Commander! The second one was such a let down. Here's hoping! :smile:
     
  8. sebbbi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,924
    Likes Received:
    5,293
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Yes, and Total Annihilation. Awesome game :)
     
  9. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,222
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    The demo has over 5,500 units and it's the smallest map size.

    5,500 units! O.O

    Regards,
    SB
     
  10. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    598
    Doesn't especially look like 5500 units there...
    I mean, presumably they have a unit count that isn't bugged & I'm all for TA/Supcom/PA type vast scale games.

    But its not like PA can't handle thousands of units.
    eg there has to be like 5k at least in this game


    Edit: unit count 5181 near the end with 3868 being mobile (others are buildings, don't think walls count) & the sim is still running pretty fast.
    [​IMG]
     
    #10 hoom, Mar 8, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2015
  11. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,222
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Yes, but the graphical detail there is significantly less than in Ashes of Sigularity. And it's pushing the CPU significantly harder. IIRC, the Ashes of Singularity demo was running on a Kaveri. With CPU to spare which could be used for better AI.

    Smallest map size. Implication being that it can run a lot more units than that.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  12. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,620
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Gamasutra development post mortem written by Brad Wardell
    http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/..._and_Oxide_Games_Ashes_of_the_Singularity.php

    Fun tidbit

    I'm enjoying the game quite a bit. Hope someone else here is as well.
     
    #12 swaaye, Apr 28, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2016
  13. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,222
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Yeah I'll eventually pick this up when I eventually migrate to Win10 (waiting until last possible moment for the free upgrade as I still can't stand Win10 compared to Win8.1).

    Looked at some people doing co-op multiplayer and the computer AI is just brutal at adapting to their strategies and countering them.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  14. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,620
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    WI, USA
    It runs better in D3D11 mode on some configurations so don't get too caught up on needing Win 10 for the game. You choose API when you launch the game.

    Yeah the AI is crafty indeed. I've seen it change strategies. It uses everything and it notices what you are weak in. You have to cover all the strategic possibilities or you probably die. :) And of course since it's an AI it can scarily out-micromanage you. It's fine managing 8 fronts at once. There's a scenario included called Overlord that is nuts to keep up with, even with 2 AI allies.

    They just put out v1.1 with some new maps, units, and other improvements.
     
    #14 swaaye, Apr 28, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2016
  15. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,280
    Likes Received:
    5,897
    Which configurations? Kepler with Core i3/i5?



    EDIT -
    From that article:

    :lol2:
     
    #15 ToTTenTranz, Apr 29, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2016
  16. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,620
    Likes Received:
    692
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Well apparently my notebook with GM107 and i7 4820QM is faster with D3D11. Not only slightly faster, but there are occasional visual glitches in D3D12 mode. When I ran the benchmark test in "Low" preset without vsync, it even appeared to be rendering frames out of order, giving a strange rewind judder effect. :D

    I get the impression that their D3D12 mode is intended for Maxwell 2 and later GCN cards. The cards everyone is using for those D3D12 performance generalization website traffic booster articles.
     
    #16 swaaye, Apr 29, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2016
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...