Anyone planning any new hardware purchase...

epicstruggle

Passenger on Serenity
Veteran
in the next few months?

Im looking at a complete rebuild. With the following additions:
-CPU AMD64-FX53
-MOBO for above CPU
-RAM 1Gb
-HDD(SATA) at least 2 (raid)
-Graphics Card: either nv/ati's new offering
-Case

I have been saving money for about 3 years. Now ive got about a few $k's to spend. Just need to have the wife to jump onboard.

So anyone else planing on upgrading in the near future?

later,
epic

I am as well, which is actually rather unfortunate as the next 2-4 months is probably the WORST time in the last many years to build a new computer. So many emergent technologies coming out (pci-express, new sockets for both cpu platforms, new motherboard/case standards (btx) etc etc). Oh well, this 3 year old box I'm using right now WONT wait past april (unless both Doom3 and Half-Life2 are delayed beyond then that is).

At any rate right now I'm eyeballing a system built around:

Athlon64 (either 3400+ or 3700+)
1 Gig of PC3200 memory
76 gig 10K Raptor drive
either ATI's or nvidia's new beast
5.1 speaker setup (looking at logitech 5300's)
19" NEC FP912SB Monitor

no, i wont
i currently have
Athlon XP 1800+
KT133A Board with 640 MB SDRam (no DDR)
ATI 9600 pro (my old GF4Ti4200's fan died :( )
80 & 60 GB Harddisk

its more than fast enough for whatever i do, and since this year will change a lot of things (BTX, PCI Express, 64 Bit, DDR II) i wont buy anything new until all those things are out.

i think i'll buy a new PC in a year or so

mat said:
no, i wont
i currently have
Athlon XP 1800+
KT133A Board with 640 MB SDRam (no DDR)
ATI 9600 pro (my old GF4Ti4200's fan died :( )
80 & 60 GB Harddisk

its more than fast enough for whatever i do, and since this year will change a lot of things (BTX, PCI Express, 64 Bit, DDR II) i wont buy anything new until all those things are out.

i think i'll buy a new PC in a year or so