Any SiS guys on here? Would appreciate some help with damaged pre-production card.

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by [EOCF] Tim, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. [EOCF] Tim

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Maybe a long shot, but I'm hoping there are some (ex) SiS people on here who wouldn't mind helping me out.

    I've got a battered and bruised SiS Xabre 600 pre-production card (XABT05A1) pictured below. Since it's a rare card I would really like to get this up and running.

    It's got 4 smds missing, unfortunately no idea on the values. Pretty sure it's these numbers :

    R177
    C246
    C247
    C327

    Would really appreciate if anyone can dig up some designs for me. Thanks.

    http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/8324/200211sisxabre600prepro.jpg
     
    #1 [EOCF] Tim, Feb 3, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2012
  2. zuiezhen

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Your pict[​IMG]ures look down upon! Don't quite understand what you say, can you specific point
     
  3. Reznor007

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Location:
    Norman, OK, USA
    I'm not an SiS guy and I've never seen one of those cards personally. However, from looking at the picture, I think the one you believe to be R177 is actually C297, the cluster of capacitor designators points down towards the row of 5 caps where the missing part is. If that is the case, and all of the missing parts appear to be under the RAM chips for the card, there's a good chance all of them are either 603 or 402 sized 0.1uF or 0.01uF caps. No promises, but that's a common value for caps in areas like that.

    If you have a multimeter that can check capacitance, you might check the surrounding caps and the ones around the other RAM chips, as all of those should be nearly identical setups per chip.
     
  4. [EOCF] Tim

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Ah I see, I think you are correct about that. I've got a special tweezers that measure capacity, but think I read you can't measure smds without desoldering it, otherwise you measure the whole circuit? Don't know if that is true.

    Good idea about checking the other SMDs. I can see the similarities but they are in different positions. I should have time to check this wednesday, if they are all the same values, it should be simply to measure I suppose.

    note. R177 should be C297.

    Picture of missing smds here :

    http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/8324/200211sisxabre600prepro.jpg

    Front of card if it helps :

    http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/8324/200211sisxabre600prepro.jpg
     
    #4 [EOCF] Tim, Feb 4, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2012

Share This Page

  • About Beyond3D

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...