AMD's DirectX 10.1 entry and mid-range level GPUs: RV620 and RV635

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by B3D News, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. B3D News

    B3D News Beyond3D News
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Information about the future successors of the RV610 and RV630, found respectively in the Radeon HD 2400 and 2600, has been unearthed. The always unable to keep a secret sources close to graphics card manufacturers told DigiTimes that AMD's DirectX 10.1 entry-level and mid-range graphics processor would be known under the incremental names of RV635 and RV620.


    Read the full news item
     
  2. egg

    egg
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm surprised to see them refreshing midrange and entry-level cards. Prior to last gen's X1600's and X1650's (RV530 to RV535/RV560) this was almost unheard-of for either company.

    The X1600's were also a year apart....the 2600 series has barely been on the market 4 months.
     
  3. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,343
    Likes Received:
    5,322
    I'm guessing ATI found it trivial to add on DX10.1 functionality to their cores thus the quick turnaround. After all isn't there already a fair amount of support on current Rv6xx cores for some features of DX10.1?

    I could be wrong though as my brain is still jello from working 80 hour weeks in Japan.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  4. vertex_shader

    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Far far away
    Some picture from HD3450 (RV620), HD3470 (RV620) HD3670 (RV635).

    GPU clock speed not incrased on hd3670, same as before on the hd2600xt, another "great" die shrink with customer confusing product name.
     
  5. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    34
    Damn, I was hoping 3670 would bring something new to the table... At least it should run cooler and cost less. I need to replace my X1650 XT with a card that does HDMI output of audio & video and doesn't require a PCI-e 6-pin power connector, and the 2600/3600 series are my only choices there.
     
  6. aca

    aca
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Delft, The Netherlands
    What kind of "something new" would you expect? It has all the features, hasn't it?
     
  7. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    34
    Something new like more performance. Sorry, wasn't clear beforehand.
     
  8. v_rr

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    HD 3850 selling for 159€ with performance on par with 8800gts 320 Mb isn´t enought for you?
    Lol, what you were really expecting when HD 3850 wipes the floor of 8600GTS....

    ATI have a very very good linup by January time with HD 3400, 3600, 3800, 3900 (R680).
    All lineup at 55nm with super small cores and DX_10.1, UVD, HDMI, etc.
     
  9. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    34
    You missed the part about not wanting to use a 6-pin power connector ;)

    I've already got that with my RV560-core X1650 XT, but no native HDMI sound output. That's the only reason I want to upgrade (well, I'd always like more performance but can't expect much given my restrictions).
     
  10. aca

    aca
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Delft, The Netherlands
    Well for now, no defect RV670 which they can sell as RV660, so I'm affraid there will be not much options left to go for. On the other hand, a low priced RV635 might interest you? :wink:
     
  11. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,256
    Likes Received:
    1,944
    Location:
    Finland
    The HD3450 seems like the ultimate HTPC part - only thing I would ask from it would be another DisplayPort in place of that VGA (assuming they support passing HDMI & DVI signals through the DisplayPort, it's something they can do if they want, but it's not required by DP and the DP specs don't have any support for HDMI/DVI signals either)
     
  12. v_rr

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why?
    The HD 3850 is PCI-E2.0. If you have a PCI-E2.0 motherboard you don´t need to conect the 6 pin conector ;)
     
  13. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,256
    Likes Received:
    1,944
    Location:
    Finland
    Has that actually been ever confirmed? Some at least said that it won't start without the 6pin plugged in, because it would be so much more expensive to make the power part of the card understand 2 so different sources of power or something?
     
  14. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    As far as I'm aware the PCI Express 2.0 spec calls for only 75W to be supplied by the motherboard, not 150W.
     
  15. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    34
    My computer is circa-2004 technology. DDR2 & PCI-e had just been released. No PCI-e 2.0 for me.
     
  16. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,256
    Likes Received:
    1,944
    Location:
    Finland
    I'm not sure what it "calls", but at least pretty much all sites reporting on the new spec mention capability of supplying up to 150W via the slot.
     
  17. Skrying

    Skrying S K R Y I N G
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    61
    Why is it a issue anyway? Just have two of your 4-pin molex connectors go into a adapter for the 6-pin...
     
  18. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    34
    I don't trust my OEM "305W" PSU quite that far, especially with a P4 3.4GHz (Prescott 1M) to power as well.
     
  19. Skrying

    Skrying S K R Y I N G
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ahh, then you need rephrase and ask what you actually want to. It's mind blowing when people say "but I don't want to use the 6-pin connector" which little sense, maybe they're actually trying to say "I don't believe my power supply is up to the power demands" or such.
     
  20. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    There's an (one day to be) age-old axium there...
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...