AMD, why are basic features missing on your gpu?

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by gongo, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. gongo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    25
    Features such as Triple Buffering (missing) and GPU display scaling (greyed out) seems to be bugged with my 4870. Why is the display calibration not improved beyond the same tiny graph-boxes in CCC? Why not have useful step-by-step guide like Windows 7? BTW is it possible to use the dual DVI ports, to send HDMI audio from one port to a AVR, and DVI video from the other port to monitor, separately but works concurrently?

    A big tech company like AMD hires those bright MIT/Standford engineers and the team lead probably have decades of experience, it is a disheartening thought that such basic but useful features are not working as they should...../ends bitchy rant.
     
  2. Colourless

    Colourless Monochrome wench
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Somewhere in outback South Australia
    You can only enable GPU Panel Scaling if your current desktop resolution is lower than your panels native resolution.
     
  3. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17,163
    Likes Received:
    4,549
    thats a bit daft, if you wanted gpu scaling with a 640x480 game you have to lower your desktop res before running it
     
  4. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    18,250
    Likes Received:
    8,593
    It's like that for both venders video cards in Vista/Win7, I believe. Not sure about XP.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  5. AlexV

    AlexV Heteroscedasticitate
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    139
    Because forcing it is a bit evil, and the control panel should really really not be doing that? It's the application's call. Just like V-sync, by the way. I also think that triple-buffering forcing is considered out of spec for anything DX10+ (not 100% sure, I'd have to re-read some bits).
     
  6. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    NY
    I think forcing triple-buffering for anything Direct3D related (i.e even D3D 9, 8, etc) is out of specification. At least I never remember being able to force it back in the day (save for OpenGL).
     
  7. trinibwoy

    trinibwoy Meh
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    11,613
    Likes Received:
    2,470
    Location:
    New York
    Yep it's like that for Nvidia hardware too on Win7. Seems really silly.
     
  8. Karoshi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mars
    Why the out of spec? Makes no sense to me. What were they smoking?
    It's a useful feature, that should be the user's call. Some applications give the user the option to v-sync or set the render ahead buffers (BFBC2, for example). Others don't, for whatever reasons.
    It should be my choice if i want to have double buffering and low detail for max online fps slaughter (again, BFBC2) or triple buffering and smooth fps in the 40-50 range (stalker cop) instead of a horrible 30fps locked slideshow.
    User choices please :wink:
     
  9. AlexV

    AlexV Heteroscedasticitate
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    139
    No it shouldn't be your choice via CP forcing. It's primarily the ISV's choice (hey, maybe he actually knows what he's doing with his own game and code and maybe doesn't want one extra frame of latency added?), and if the ISV opts for exposing this or that knob it's then the user's choice - only then. Drivers should never ever mess around and over-ride intended behaviour in this day and age. Once upon a time APIs were shit, and functionality was all across the board, and game programmers were young, so it sort of kind of made sense to force this or that, but today it makes none.
     
  10. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    18,385
    Likes Received:
    2,965
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    D3DOverrider that comes with RivaTuner is a totally kick-ass solution for that. Forces v-sync and allows for triple buffering. :)
     
  11. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    18,385
    Likes Received:
    2,965
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Except for lazy programmers who don't allow v-sync or AA options in there games. :razz:
     
  12. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17,163
    Likes Received:
    4,549
    Also nv cards have no scaling options if your connected via vga
     
  13. AlexV

    AlexV Heteroscedasticitate
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    139
    You're missing the point, which is this: you feel like something should be in a game? Go kick the ISV in the gonads, it's his job to put it there. Because he knows(or should know!) exactly what the proper solution would be. Asking the IHV to over-ride intended behaviour is a bad idea, and perpetuating this attitude is ultimately detrimental to the aforementioned user, because it keeps his eyes of of the true target, which is software that properly implements functionality from the get-go.
     
  14. FiggyG

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    It only affect Windows 7. Aspect scaling works correctly on XP/Vista while at native resolution.
     
  15. Moloch

    Moloch God of Wicked Games
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    72
    It is a bit daft you have to use the work-around to change the scaling type for ATI, other then that, you're way off base.
     
  16. Tamlin

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    That issue isn't limted to GPU's either. Many widescreens, Dells in particular, needs to be fed a non-native resolution signal before you can access the scaling options.

    Optimal, I would prefer that the control panel have an independent scaling per resolution. My NEC screen (2690WUXi) have an independent setting for each resolution. If the resolution changes, so do the scaling options. I can even have an independent sharpness setting for each resolution. Would be cool if this would be possible in the GFX drivers. :D
     
  17. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17,163
    Likes Received:
    4,549
    my cheap ass lcd doesnt have any scaling options
     
  18. Kyyla

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    491
    Location:
    Finland
    D3Doverrider causes some weird 2D app crashes on my Windows 7 64-bit. I had to stop using it since apps crashed at least once a day. It seemed to particularly hate Spotify, Steam and IM clients.

    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: Steam.exe
    Application Version: 1.0.811.113
    Application Timestamp: 4b7cc2ca
    Fault Module Name: D3DOverriderHooks.dll
     
  19. ninelven

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    149
    No. If I thought that was the case, I'd be playing on a console and not a PC. It isn't a matter of responsibility.
     
  20. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    NY
    Forced aa/af from the control panel is never the best case scenario (performance and image quality wise) and something that shouldn't be desired.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...