AMD Radeon HD 7900 Reviews

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by Arty, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. rpg.314

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    /
    These days rendertargets are used for lots of things. Blindly forcing SSAA on, say a "compute rendertarget" would almost certainly corrupt the final image.

    If a rendertaget has MSAA on, then the driver can be sure that this is a "graphics rendertarget", and force SSAA confidently.
     
  2. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Germany
    My wording was misleading and wrong.
    Not the buffers are run at sample frequency, but the shaders of course. But nevertheless you have to know where to store your data. That's how DX10.1 and higher applications can request supersampling from appropriate hardware.

    What you're talking about is not antialiasing, but up- and downscaling the final image. There's no way for this to contain more information than the original image. Antialiasing dwells on the concept that there's more information (in some buffers) that is scaled down to the final image. And the application knows where it stores those buffers, the driver normally does not.

    So it can double both dimensions for something that may look like it is used as frame- or z-buffer, but it cannot be sure so this "dumb approach" is prone to errors - more prone, the more unusual (or creative) an application is laid out.
     
  3. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Sparse grid super-sampling in todays hardware is simply applying multi-sampling to the whole pipeline, incl. texture and pixel shader stages (i.e. sampling frequency), instead of skipping them. This is different than the classic ordered-grid SSAA that rendered the frame in the back-buffer at the multiply of the sample count by X and Y.

    SG super-sampling is the better option, not only because is ditches the ordered sample pattern, but as a "superset" of MSAA it can be applied selectively on different surfaces, so it's not really that much of a brute force method, depending on the application. NV drivers offer such a choice -- Enhanced and Override modes, for MSAA-compatible titles, where SG SSAA can be an enhancement or a "brute force" type override feature.
     
  4. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    BTW, ATI does upgrade MSAA to SSAA with the enhance option if you have the AA slider on SSAA. I use that with my 6950. I suppose that this only applied to Cayman cards until now because only they have the enhance option as it enables EQAA.
     
  5. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,028
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Yeah I know, I was trying to ask if there was specific hardware in 6 or 7 series that would prevent it from going into Cypress as well. Would Cypress be able to do this eventually when they get around to writing the support in?
     
  6. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Germany
    From my limited understanding, there's nothing that would prevent any DX10.1 card from doing this. It's basically just forcing what's already required by the specs.

    That's what 5000 cards do as well. Just select SSAA and either use in-Game MSAA or force it through the catalyst control center and you're good to go.
     
  7. gongo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    12
    Will the HD7970 output independent HD video and audio... from each of the 2 hdmi ports?
    Thinking ....is it time when video cards can....play HD uncompressed audio...without needing to pipe both video and audio to my av receiver?
     
  8. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,137
    Likes Received:
    5,074
    You've been able to do that with video streams for years and years now. And HD 7970 is supposedly able to output application specific audio to the display it is located on, so yes it should be able to.

    I think one of AMD's key demonstrations of the seperate audio stream functionality was video conferencing with audio sent only to the screen through which that videoconferencing person was speaking.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  9. gongo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    12
    yes...you can do that for years...but if you did that, the gpu will enable dual video out mode...what me wants is the ability to toggle on/off between video+audio, video only, audio only, per independent output. It would mean for HTPC..i can choose to display my desktop without turning on my avr/volume....

    connection as follows :

    PC -> 1. HDMI to TV (for desktop only)
    |
    V
    2. HDMI to AVR (for HD audio only)

    It wont activated dual video mode...teehehe.
     
  10. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,137
    Likes Received:
    5,074
    I don't believe the HDMI spec allows for audio without video when there is a combined audio+video stream. At least I haven't seen any receivers that allowed the audio stream to be played without the corresponding video stream.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  11. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    110
    Doesn't your AVR have HDMI pass through?
     
  12. cho

    cho
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    2
  13. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    110
    Prices seem to be softening in the UK e-tailers.
     
  14. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Saw over at Sweclockers today there's a new version of GPU-Z out now that can read the "quality" register of the chip (which is used to determine base core voltage) for Fermi and Southern Islands GPUs.

    It can also apparantly test the performance of the PCIe interface, or something. I didn't read that carefully TBH since I don't have the money for these fancy new toys... :sad:
     
  15. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    The "quality" is a bad word, and the scale is flawed (many nV users are reporting way over 100% results)
    On Radeons, apparently the more your chip is leaking, the better the "ASIC quality" rating is
     
  16. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    "Quality" is what the news blurb called it. For lack of a better term, I guess. Shoe fits reasonably well, IMO, so why not use it?
     
  17. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    Because it makes absolutely zero sense that higher leakage chips are considered better :grin:
    (they're only better for OC'ing!)
     
  18. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    110
    Is there any anecdotal evidence yet as to if any brands or models have the better overclocking potential? Has any one brand selected all the best chips or using higher spec’ed RAM?
     
  19. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    Purely in terms of what an enthusiast would want, how better would you describe quality?

    Keep in mind that someone who isn't an enthusiast isn't going to see this information.
     
  20. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    Believe me, there is no register for quality. :lol:
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...