AMD: Pirate Islands (R* 3** series) Speculation/Rumor Thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by iMacmatician, Apr 10, 2014.

Tags:
  1. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    At least tweak town claims to have a source.
     
  2. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    What?! Which 8K screenshots? Where?
    May you elaborate your thoughts?
     
  3. kalelovil

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    93
  4. dbz

    dbz
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    41
    Unless I'm missing something that just seems like a random screenshot with no data points -little things like what card and how many, game i.q. levels, and framerate - is it in any way playable, or does it approximate someone browsing through a stack of postcards?
     
  5. Arty

    Arty KEPLER
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    55
    You should read the full article. They go on to reason that the rumor is false based on some Demerjian-level of math.

    I doubt they even have a source. Probably saw extremetech refuting the rumor with that databook data. Since they couldnt re-use it, brought in the magical source and like a perfect internet journalist threw together a click-bait article for the pre-weekend hits.
     
  6. flopper

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    6
    8k is coming Fury and AMD is gearing up for it.
     
  7. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    910
    How would that work? With 4 DP1.2 inputs connected to an 8K monitor? Weren't there annoying issues with tiled displays?

    Come to think of it, do 8K monitors even exist?
     
  8. Lightman

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    There are 8K TV's for sure as even last year manufacturers were showing them off during trade shows.

    http://www.selfridges.com/en/samsun...dp:1o2|bku:1&gclid=CPft6d3KicYCFUYTwwod7lcAZw
    Only £34k but you can buy it ...


    http://gizmodo.com/lgs-ludicrous-8k-tv-is-too-insane-for-my-eyes-to-handle-1677790143
    LG take

    http://www.trustedreviews.com/samsung-110-inch-glassless-3d-8k-s9-series-tv-review
    another Sammy
     
  9. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    One of the major LCD panel manufacturers (could have been LG) claimed that Apple would release an 8K iMac this year. Could just be BS of course, as you'd need an absolutely monster graphics card to drive such a ludicrous resolution... Even 5K is quite the handful as it is. :)
     
    Alexko likes this.
  10. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Germany
    YMMD!
    On an equllay serious note: Seems like there are a ton of HBM products already out in the wild, since 0,8 gbps has already been sold out - it is not liste in recent 2015 data books from Hynix any more (and neither is 160 gbps HBM…)
     
  11. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,983
    Likes Received:
    1,496
    eh they might not even make them anymore if yields on the faster speeds is very high.
     
  12. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    Sorry for spoiling your enthusiasm but for the most consumers it really DOESN'T matter what Apple would release. It's irrelevant. :D
     
  13. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,966
    Likes Received:
    4,561
    This just in:


    XBox, Playstation and the Nintendo Wii use Mantle!

    [​IMG]


    I knew those TEV units were super-advanced!
    Oh, and GCN is not an architecture, it's a translator. Though that description seems to refer to a compiler or a driver.
     
  14. Alessio1989

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    285
    The language is the GCN ISA...
     
  15. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,966
    Likes Received:
    4,561
    Yeah. So?
     
  16. Alessio1989

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    285
    Another marketing "mistake" :lol2:
     
  17. liquidboy

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    77
    Nope to this ...
     
  18. SimBy

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    135
    Could this be VSR at 8K? Never tried VSR so not sure if there's a way to screencap at render res or just after its downscaled.
     
  19. Lightman

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    Grabs at render res. Eg. 4k or 8k if vsr allows
     
  20. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,966
    Likes Received:
    4,561
    Fiji's card name is now DOUBLE CONFIRMED.

    [​IMG]
     
    hoom, CarstenS, Razor1 and 2 others like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...