AMD Catalyst 12.8 WHQL & Windows 8 Certified now available.

Discussion in '3D Hardware, Software & Output Devices' started by Bouncing Zabaglione Bros., Aug 15, 2012.

  1. Bouncing Zabaglione Bros.

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    6,363
    Likes Received:
    82
    New drivers available. Make sure you install Cap 12.7 CAP3 as it's apparently not included in this driver package.
     
  2. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    thanks but after 12.3/4 /me = scared
     
  3. egoless

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    29
    Delete
     
    #3 egoless, Aug 16, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 4, 2014
  4. Kaarlisk

    Regular Newcomer Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    49
    Now let's hope that they also release a Win8 driver for legacy cards...
     
  5. Svensk Viking

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    61
    This is what AMD has said on the matter

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/5775/...4000-gpus-being-moved-to-legacy-status-in-may

    Probably not good news at all for Crossfire users? I'm personally not going to "upgrade" to Win8, but it sure stings a little when I see older Nvidia cards than my HD 4870 getting Win8 support
     
  6. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    How old is the 4000 series ?
    edit: 2008
     
  7. Svensk Viking

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    61
    Well, how old is Nvidia's Geforce 6 series then? That's the oldest card Nvidia's Windows 8 driver claims to support, and that's alot older than any of AMD's DX10/10.1 cards. Besides, the HD4800 series are still decent enough to play on, as long as you don't expect to crank all settings up in the latest demanding games. Console ports in DX9 can often be played on high.
     
    #7 Svensk Viking, Aug 16, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 16, 2012
  8. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    I'm on your side
    6 series 2004 :
    even a 6 series is still a usable card, and its a shame amd arnt providing drivers
     
  9. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
    Crossfire users will be fine. Windows 7 (WDDM 1.1) drivers install and operate just fine on Windows 8.
     
  10. HMBR

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Brazil
    yes, but they are hardly making huge improvements for the older cards,
    I tested a few new forcewares with my GF 6 on windows 8 and the same bug was present on different versions, actually the only version which worked without this bug (transparent water on skyrim) was the default driver from win8,

    also the default driver included on Win8 should work OK for old ATI cards, but I think it will have reduced functionality (no CCC and decent CF support?), but I've seen a few people installing successfully 12.6 from win 7 on 8 with older cards... anyway, I agree that is to early for AMD to be dropping support for the HD2900-4800 cards, 4890 is still probably faster than a new $100 card, and I can't remember any game with DX11 as a minimum requirement.
     
  11. Babel-17

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    245
    HDMI audio borked for anyone? I googled and a few other users are similarly hampered.

    I get no audio from mp3's (using Winamp) and no audio from The VLC player on videos. MPC Home Cinema plays the videos fine.
     
  12. Quitch

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    UK
    This apparently resolves issue with resuming from sleep, but I've only started experiencing these following upgrading from 12.6 to 12.8. Unsure if this is the cause though.
     
  13. Bouncing Zabaglione Bros.

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    6,363
    Likes Received:
    82
    Still fails to support 3D acceleration for Liquify in Adobe PS6. Really AMD? You want your hardware to be discounted for use with Photoshop?
     
  14. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Germany
    So, except for WHQL no reason to upgrade when you're already on 12.7 beta, right?
     
  15. Babel-17

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    245
    Did some more googling and found a few more users with basically the same issue so I filed a ticket with AMD.

    They fixed the last issue to pop up with HDMI audio, disabled sound when the HDTV was shut off, so I'm hopeful though admittedly annoyed about this.
     
  16. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    12.8 still calls my Mobility 5870 a FirePro like 12.7 beta. Maybe because they are similar drivers.
     
  17. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    maybe you should install the fire pro drivers they may be more stable (if fire pro's use different drivers)
     
  18. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    Today ccc finally got round to telling me about 12.8
     
  19. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    Unbelievable, cannot enable 3 displays without a bsod in atikmpag.sys
    back to 12.2's
    I am totally fed up with this.....

    edit: its atikmdag.sys
     
  20. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    Went back to 12.2 and everything works fine
    Amd should run a lottery, because thats what i feel like I'm playing every time they bring out a new driver
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...