AMD announces new GPGPU card, hints at RV670 specs

Discussion in 'GPGPU Technology & Programming' started by Dave Baumann, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    13,989
    Location:
    O Canada!
    http://biz.yahoo.com/bw/071108/20071107006687.html?.v=1

    Some articles:
    http://www.internetnews.com/bus-news/article.php/3709826
    http://www.reuters.com/article/marketsNews/idUKN0527644420071108?rpc=44
    http://www.news.com/one-more-thing/8301-13579_3-9813173-37.html

    Specs:
    http://ati.amd.com/products/streamprocessor/specs.html
     
  2. AlphaWolf

    AlphaWolf Specious Misanthrope
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8,170
    Location:
    Treading Water
    Is this

    a typo?

    <edit> oic, its supposed to be a 2 for the footnote.
     
  3. Freak'n Big Panda

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Waterloo Ontario
    RV670 based right? Anyways it's about time AMD released something to compete with telsa.
     
  4. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    So, did you hire Mike Houston? :)
     
  5. B3D News

    B3D News Beyond3D News
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    AMD announces new GPGPU lineup, hints at RV670 specs

    AMD has just announced the RV670-based FireStream 9170 GPGPU processor as well as the FireStream SDK. Notable are 2GB of RAM, a 775-800 MHz core clock, 500 GFLOP/s, and Brook+ (based on Brook, obviously!) as the official high-level language.

    Read the full news item
     
  6. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,617
    Location:
    London
    Blimey, AMD beat L'Inq to the punch :shock:

    So, er, why's the double precision GFLOP "rating" a secret?...

    Jawed
     
  7. CruNcher

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    30
  8. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    After talking to a number of CEs, I'm going to guess it's quarter-speed; otherwise, the transistor count hit would be enormous.
     
  9. AlexV

    AlexV Heteroscedasticitate
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,520
    That's FP32, nothing relevant to the double precision. Double precision would mean FP64...per component/channel. Multiply that with 4(as there are 4 of em traditionally ,ARGB, for example) and you'll get the type of big number marketing likes.
     
  10. Geo

    Geo Mostly Harmless
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,115
    Location:
    Uffda-land
    Now, will we see DP exposed in the consumer version as well?
     
  11. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,617
    Location:
    London
    Hopefully Brook+ and all the other stuff will run on consumer cards.

    Jawed
     
  12. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    If we do, I'll eat a hat, especially if they eventually release a 1GB consumer RV670.
     
  13. Geo

    Geo Mostly Harmless
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,115
    Location:
    Uffda-land
    Hat eating seems to be the new prognosticator currency hereabouts! :lol:
     
  14. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,719
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    What's the chance that hefty 2 Gigs of RAM comes with ECC?

    There may be a few folks looking at a large system that would like at least that much of a nod towards reliability, or is AMD hoping to inflate its sales volume by forcing customers to buy more hardware for the sake of error checking? ;)
     
  15. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    Zero. It'd be in the press release if it did have support.
     
  16. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,926
    [​IMG]

    Let's see if NV matches 'em. DP in Quadro/Tesla before year's end?
     
  17. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,617
    Location:
    London
  18. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    I honestly think DP is much less important than NV/AMD have claimed. It's an easy buzzword, but the two big problems that I see with GPGPU in the next year are the perception (and maybe reality) that you're writing for one architecture and code won't scale as well as the lack of reasonable development environments. DP is turning away some HPC people, sure, but I don't think that HPC is where the future of GPGPU lies.

    PS--I don't get why you'd want MXM? Double-precision computation on a laptop...? Why? Unless this means that these apps won't work at all on consumer RV670s.
     
  19. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,617
    Location:
    London
    Embedded doesn't necessarily mean laptop is how I would interpret that.

    And anyway, double or single precision, why would it being in a laptop be relevant?

    Jawed
     
  20. Tim Murray

    Tim Murray the Windom Earle of mobile SOCs
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    It sounds like they're targeting HPC, which makes an MXM module very strange (unless they're making MXM for a 1U rack, a la the highest-end Tesla thing?). So, if they're making MXM for laptops, I don't get that--it just doesn't make sense to have an HPC part in a laptop, especially if you already have the capability to run single-precision apps with an RV670 that's already there. Now, if they're making MXM bits for a rack (so you can get 6 or so in a unit), that's a lot more interesting, and I guess that'd make sense.
     

Share This Page

Loading...