A question about DOOM3's rendering paths.

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by PowerK, Aug 3, 2004.

  1. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    As far as I know there are few rendering paths in DOOM3, and these are... NV10, NV20, R200, and ARB2. (There could be more paths that I'm not aware of....perhaps ARB1 ?)

    NV20 path is for GeForce3, and GeForce4, correct ? (while R200 path is for Radeon R200 core series).

    Anyway, what I would like to know is this.
    Does those specific rendering path mean, no matter what one chooses in DOOM3's option menu (ULTRA, HIGH, MEDIUM, LOW) GeForce3 uses NV20 path only ?
     
  2. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,750
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Probably. Note that other rendering path may use functions not supported by NV20. The same applies for NV20 path to NV10, too.
    It seems that the "quality" settings are mostly about texture sizes and compression. There are also some issues with normal map compression. Some chips uses DXT5 with red/alpha swapping to compress normal map, others uses palettized textures.
     
  3. K.I.L.E.R

    K.I.L.E.R Retarded moron
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Australia, Melbourne
    IIRC the former looks better than the later and it was developed by Ati as it didn't have PT support?
     
  4. jvd

    jvd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    12,724
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    new jersey
    I would really like to see the 6800s with the x800xt id tags so they will run the game in full percision. I wonder how it looks
     
  5. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,750
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Yes. Actually it's pretty interesting. If you want to use DXT5 with red/alpha swapping, obviously you'll need additional instructions to swap the red/alpha components. However, it is not always affordable (such as PS1.1 which has only a few instruction slots). On these chips, palettized textures are used instead.

    I don't know what it does if running on a chip with only PS1.1 or worse and no palettized texture support :p
     
  6. jvd

    jvd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    12,724
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    new jersey
    this game would have been a good test canadiate for 3Dc
     
  7. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    Hmm.... by the way... there seems to be ARB1 rendering path in DOOM3.

    I found it by typing gfxinfo in the console, and it tells you which rendering paths are enabled/disabled in your system in regards to DOOM3. ARB1, NV10, NV20, R200, ARB2, Cg.
     
  8. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    This is what it says. My graphic card is X800 XT PE, by the way.

    ARB path = ENABLED
    NV10 path = disabled
    NV20 path = disabled
    R200 path = ENABLED
    ARB2 path = ENABLED (ACTIVE)
    Exp path = ENABLED
    Cg path = disabled

    Does anyone know what Exp path is ? :?
     
  9. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,750
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Experiment? :)
    I just tested it on a GF FX 5200, it uses ARB2 too.
    3Dc would be good for Doom 3, but since normal maps are not compressed in high quality mode, it probably won't help X800 much. Does X300/X600 supports 3Dc?
     
  10. Guden Oden

    Guden Oden Senior Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,201
    Likes Received:
    91
    They should support it... They sure need it a lot more than the x800 does. :)

    I wanna know when the mid/low-range NV4x chips are released, boo hoo! :( My GF3 sucks butt. :(
     
  11. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    pcchen,

    Which paths are enabled for your GF FX 5200 in DOOM3 ??
     
  12. XxStratoMasterXx

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a CG path?? How do you enable the seperate paths?
     
  13. jvd

    jvd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    12,724
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    new jersey
    Using 3Dc you can used larger normal maps and compress them to the size of the original normal maps uncompressed and get some where inbetween medium and ultra settings
     
  14. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,750
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Taiwan
    It's ARB2. Actually it's a company computer :p
    I ran it 640x480 medium quality, a timedemo with vsync disabled gives near 30 fps, not bad. I generally play with vsync on, though.
     
  15. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,750
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Of course, one may argue that id software should created larger diffuse textures and shipped them compressed as default. However, by some reason they didn't do this.

    To be honest, the textures are not very high resolution. However, the variaty of textures in one level is very high. Almost everything has different textures. That's better than the same high resolution texture applied on everything, IMHO.

    By the way, does ATI release an OpenGL extension for 3Dc? I found not too much information on ATI's web site.
     
  16. jvd

    jvd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    12,724
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    new jersey
    IT be interesting to see a 3DC performance mode and a 3Dc quality mode built in .



    as for it being in open gl yet. I have no clue
     
  17. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    No. I'm asked which paths are ENABLED. You already told me ARB2 was the ACTIVE path for your GeForce FX5200 in DOOM3.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. tEd

    tEd Casual Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,094
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    switzerland
     
  19. keegdsb

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stop complaining, your GF3 is twice as fast as my Parhelia (literally), which uses the ARB path in case anyone was interested.
     
  20. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,268
    Likes Received:
    1,783
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Hmmm, mebbe if'n I force glFinish it'll clear up that white-dot line annoyance.... :|
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...