A new programming paradigm for the Cell

Discussion in 'CellPerformance@B3D' started by homy, Mar 21, 2007.

1. homy

Banned

First of all I'm not a game developer. But with the knowledge of distributed programming I would suggest that the current programming style on the Cell is questionable.
    The Cell is a parallel multi-processor hence it works best if the resource and computation are shared among its sub-processor(cores).
    This work has been proven by the following paper:
    http://hpc.pnl.gov/people/fabrizio/papers/ipdps07-graphs.pdf
    2 Cells beat performance of BlueGene/L 128 CPUs and pretty much neck-to-neck with BlueGene/L 256 CPUs

I saw many PS3 games not using the distributed programming approach even though it looks quite nice.
    For example: HS uses 2 SPUs for AI and few other for physics...
    This style of dividing sub-processors for specific tasks is not efficient.
    At school, our department professor tested his algorithm on 2 SPUs give an advantage of 2.2 times to 1 SPU, however when he distributed the algorithm to 5 SPUs the performance got a boost of 16 times to 1 SPU.
    So the question to developers is: should you design your codes such that it's distributed to all SPUs?
    Suppose you want to have 60 fps, which means a frame takes up 16.67 millisecond. Out of this 16.67, a third is dedicated to graphic card and the rest goes into the Cell for other tasks such as geometry, animation or physic... So the geometry would take x amount, animation takes y amount and physic take z amount of 11.11 millisecond on all SPUs.

#1 homy, Mar 21, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 21, 2007
  2. one

one Unruly Member
    Veteran

SPURS (SPU Runtime System) is available for PS3 developers AFAIK. In SPURS, SPEs are main processors and the PPE is merely a service co-processor invoked only when absolutely necessary.

3. patsu

Legend