720p 64bit framebuffer size? Educated guesses here please

Squeak

Veteran
How much bandwidth and RAM does a 720p x 64bit framebuffer with 4x AA take up.
My (uneducated) ballpark guess would be in the area of 5Gb/s with all bandwidth saving features on and a reasonable overdraw of 5.

Isnt 1280X720X64X4X30(or 60FPS)=7077888000b=~7Gb@30FPS

Anyway I am no programer, please correct me :!:

@60FPS=~14gb

And 1980X1080X64X60 (Ithink they refered this in the press c.)=~8gb

pc999 said:
Isnt 1280X720X64X4X30(or 60FPS)=7077888000b=~7Gb@30FPS

Anyway I am no programer, please correct me :!:

@60FPS=~14gb

And 1980X1080X64X60 (Ithink they refered this in the press c.)=~8gb

I think it should be like that:

1280 x 720 x (2bytes per component x 4 component) x 4 (AA)= 29.491.200 Bytes per frame x 60 fps = 1.769.472.000 Bytes

All of these without any bandwidth saving feature applied of course.

where u getting the 64bit part from ? shouldn't it be 32bit as that is what its renderered in ?

jvd said:
where u getting the 64bit part from ? shouldn't it be 32bit as that is what its renderered in ?

Is it rendered at 32 bit? I thought it would render the framebuffer full precision and then "downsampled" it to 32 bits on output to the monitor/tv.

Apoc said:
jvd said:

Is it rendered at 32 bit? I thought it would render the framebuffer full precision and then "downsampled" it to 32 bits on output to the monitor/tv.
I thought all video cards rendered in 32 bits , well i guess 28bits and 4 bits for alpha or whatever ?

Or is that color percision ?

jvd said:
Apoc said:
jvd said:

I thought all video cards rendered in 32 bits , well i guess 28bits and 4 bits for alpha or whatever ?

Or is that color percision ?