5870->580 GTX on an Q9550: any point?

Discussion in 'PC Purchasing Help' started by Mize, Dec 20, 2010.

  1. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    1,138
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Currently running a Q9550 at 3.2 GHz coupled with a 5870 and wondering if there's much point to installing a 580 GTX... certainly would be better to go i7, but I'm not up for the kilobuck upgrade at the moment.

    Anyway, anyone done something similar?
     
  2. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,052
    Likes Received:
    1,557
    What res are you running ?


    I have a q9550 that hits 4ghz on air and i'm running a 5850 and i just ordered a 6970. But i play in eyefinity with 3 1920 monitors.

    edit sorry mean to say 6970 hehe. Be a side step to a 6870
     
    #2 eastmen, Dec 20, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 21, 2010
  3. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    1,138
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    19x12 on one monitor
    Normall with all eye candy on and max AF with whatever AA will work without chugging.
     
  4. Squilliam

    Squilliam Beyond3d isn't defined yet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I understand that you're feeling a little poor at the moment given the recession, personally I would say that upgrading probably won't yield the full effect of the graphics upgrade so may not be worth it until you can 'afford' that central upgrade for your entire system.
     
  5. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    1,138
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Meh...guess I'll wait for Sandy Bridge and 595 GTX or 6990...buying stuff for the kids makes me want to buy stuff for me :)

    Maybe I'll put a Phenom II x4 or x6 in my media server instead... :)
     
  6. Squilliam

    Squilliam Beyond3d isn't defined yet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    New Zealand
    You could always call dibs on your tax rebate come April. Intel generally makes some price cuts then anyway. :-D
     
  7. green.pixel

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    417
    Location:
    Europe
    I would wait for Bulldozer if I were you.
     
  8. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,073
    Likes Received:
    1,138
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Well, I honestly hope that Bulldozer puts AMD back in the game, but I don't see any real indications that it will. My fingers are crossed and I sure hope they get it out early in Q2.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...