2D to 3D game programming

coolroy

Newcomer
Hi, I'm currently developing 2D games using ActionsScript, and I have like 4 years of game developing experience in the OOP environment.

What I want to know, is how hard would it be to start developing 3D games and how much actual knowledge you need to have to move from 2D to 3D.
the more I talk to people the more I understand you don't need a too high (I'm not sure if any) math knowledge since most game developers use ready 3D engines such as openGL.

I would start off by making a mod of an existing game
download the sdk and have a go
a good place to start would be quake 3 its now open source and there are plenty of tutorials available

if your talking just about game logic eg: a.i pathfinding player movement, decision trees ect (ie non rendering engine stuff) then not that much
but have you really been developing 2d games I'm not sure if actionscript counts

id go here:
http://quakestyle.telefragged.com/tuts.shtml

start off with
Compiling Q3 Without MSVC++
Bouncing Plasma!
Cloaking Cheat
Grappling Hook
Instagib Gauntlet
Modifying Knockback
Player Speeds

it does count believe me, I like to script big games even though actionscript is pretty popular for it's minigames, I have scripted (and still scripting actually) a game like MapleStory (maplestory.nexon.net) in flash and the more I develop the more I want to move to 3D to extend the variety of things I can do (did I already mention I like complex things?).

anyways, isn't the Z complicating things or is it very simple to refer to it with the 3D engines (the z in the coordinate).
and how about lighting, is it just placing lighting points with a certain power or is it more complicated than that?

and about the quake tutorials, is it really necessary for me to edit a few vars to create a new mod or do you think I can start off something original of my own?