16 pipes for R420 too?

Discussion in 'Pre-release GPU Speculation' started by whql, Apr 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,264
    Likes Received:
    1,781
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    On a serious note, WHY does it have a buzzer on it?
     
  2. mikechai

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    :shock: :shock: :shock:
     
  3. AlphaWolf

    AlphaWolf Specious Misanthrope
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8,475
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    Treading Water
    Perhaps related to the asterisks that come with the dual molex's.
     
  4. OpenGL guy

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    28
    And you completely missed my point which was that there was a bug. The "third party tool" doesn't do what many people think it does.
    A bold, and incorrect, statement.
    The control panel is not meant to be a panacea. The best option is that games start supporting AA/AF so that it gets done the way the developer intended.
     
  5. Razor04

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you can have fun trying to figure out if it is the Dust Buster or your motherboard beeping when your system gets FUBARed... :lol: Ok that wasn't so serious but I couldn't resist. Most likely it is to warn users about the power requirements the beast needs.
     
  6. Joe DeFuria

    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    70
    Is it really a sound buzzer of some type? Hell, I was just joking...
     
  7. Mark

    Mark aka Ratchet
    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Newfoundland, Canada
    it looks like one of those mini speakers you see on some motherboards.
     
  8. flick556

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    4
    Often system crashes occur do to gpu related problems it would be nice if your graphics card could issue some error codes on reboot.
     
  9. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,498
    Likes Received:
    8,700
    Location:
    Cleveland
    If it's not a buzzer or a water-cooler connector then it must be a flux-capacitor... 8)

    Or maybe you put your weed in there...
     
  10. elroy

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    1
    [rant]

    I'm on the wrong side of the world. I checked the boards before I went to bed, nothing. 8 hours later, wake up and check the boards, and there's 13 FRICKIN' PAGES of posts to read!!!!!!!

    [/rant]

    I think nVidia should buy out Zalman, and, like MuFu said, slap 1 kg of copper on NV40 with a few heatpipes for good measure. I sure don't want to see/hear DB2! I thought nVidia would have learnt by now that smaller fan usually = louder fan.
     
  11. keegdsb

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it looks like it might just use 1.21 Gigawatts of power. :lol:
     
  12. flick556

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    4
    Also that card looks like a very crammed one slot solution but I'am happy it's not two slots.
     
  13. Doomtrooper

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Cool..I thought the Nv30 had a flux capacitor :?:
     
  14. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,264
    Likes Received:
    1,781
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    It looks damn near identical to them old little crap buzzer/speakers you used to find on modems to me. :|
     
  15. tEd

    tEd Casual Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,094
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    switzerland
    I get your point but i all care about is to get the games running at full quality. As of yet i still could not use AF without artefacts because there is no patch AFAIK which fixes the bug. With the 3rd party tool i was able to get what i wanted right away even if you think it's not proper way.
    Not from my point of view. I am a gamer who buys the latest hardware because i want enjoy my games with the best quality i can get. I want to use features like AF,AA and it just seems to happen that many games i played i couldn't use those feature to their fullest extent even though it would have been possible sometimes. I know that pretty much everytime developer are to blame because they don't support these features in the first place but that doesn't change what i want and if the hardware/driver has the funcionality to still give me those features nevertheless then i think they should give me that. It's that kind of support which i also consider when i buy a graphiccard

    i agree. But wouldn't you say that it is in a IHV's best interest to give the customer what he wants. In my case all the functionality the hardware/driver can give me.
     
  16. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,498
    Likes Received:
    8,700
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Absolutely. Unfortunately Nvidia strongly disagrees with this.
     
  17. ANova

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    10
    From the manual.

    *Note: If alarm sounds you have 5 seconds before the board turns into liquid plasma. :twisted:
     
  18. Lecram25

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well AFAIK, it's not for another card (refering to the white connector on the top left corner), but it's not useful for 3D either, it's neither something big or something that comes to a surprise. Just wait untill nVidia says what the feature list is 8)
     
  19. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,264
    Likes Received:
    1,781
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    That looks like a cd sound plug or soundcard connector... :?

    EDITED BITS: Some form of sound-synched viddy displayed for mp3s?
     
  20. Sxotty

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,890
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    PA USA
    *jumping up and down* soundcard connector *claps hands*

    All I want is dolby encoding... :(

    edit:
    Oh and btw if you want to complain about companies I feel particularly grumpy about this statement
    From creative labs. It is not notated to say "only in dvd playback" the same thing from all other companies. When I first got my gametheaterXP it said the same thing and I actually was dumb enough to think I would get more than stereo through the optical out, ever since then I have been frustrated by that.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...