Predict: The Next Generation Console Tech

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reading the reviews made me sad. Where's the AMD of old? I mean, seriously, they're not even competing right now, they're just screwing around.
There was a blog post about this from a former engineer. It seems all of the "AMD of old" has left.

Something that I never understood about IPC and multithreading is when they say for example Dual Issue and Multithreaded x 2. Sorry if I sound like an idiot but I need to know if they are talking about 2 instructions per cycle shared between 2 threads or 2 instructions per thread.

From some reviews I read, I saw that Bulldozer actually has quite a significant advantage in Integer performance. As I am not a games programmer, I can't really tell if that's good for gaming, though.

I remember early in gen MS touting Xenon's superior integer performance over Cell as an advantage. Take with salt.

Something that I never understood about IPC and multithreading is when they say for example Dual Issue and Multithreaded x 2. Sorry if I sound like an idiot but I need to know if they are talking about 2 instructions per cycle shared between 2 threads or 2 instructions per thread.
I believe it depends on the type of multi-threading.Depending on the architecture one CPU may issue instructions from threads available concurrently or not. I remember reading that Xenon/ppu was using a simple form of multi-threading (either round robin or barrel processor) so only instruction from a given thread are issue at one time. I believe Intel SMT is different as intructions from the 2 different threads can be issued concurrently.
A more complex, intel like, implementation makes a lot of sense as the CPU are wide and have a ot of execution units, still I read in some presentation that Power A2 should be able to issue instructions concurrently (I'm not sure IBM was not that precise in that regard we may learn more as the chip ships).