Intel ARC GPUs, Xe Architecture for dGPUs [2018-2022]

Status
Not open for further replies.
A FE at that ;)

I keep it for "collecting" reason for now, not for sell :) (I'm not good at remembering nicknames on forums, someone asks on another topic already a few weeks ago, maybe it was you :D )
It probably was, I've wanted a Vega since Siggraph 2019 when I attended the Capsacin event thingy.

"Collecting" reasons? Mebbe we could work a trade, I have an R300 signed by Terry Makedon and a Gemini that doesn't work. :p

(Nah, I can't give up things like that either. I DO get the collecting thing. ;) )

Their driver team has still years of up bringing to do ...

No developer ever tests their games on Intel HW and people just plainly expect their games to work there. A developer one time intentionally released a broken application that crashes on Intel HW and their excuse was that they don't support Intel graphics. In the recent past it was all too common for them to introduce hack and workarounds in their drivers just for some games to be able to boot up. Out of all the graphics vendors, it is intel who faces the most amount of injustices by far compared to the others ...

As a relief they won't have to focus so much on legacy hardware anymore prior to Xe and concentrate making hacks/workarounds on their current driver stack for their upcoming hardware ...

Some principles remind me of VRS ?

Yeah it's like VRS on steroids. VRS is a spatial optimization that uses shading results from nearby pixels in the same frame. Texture space shading reuses shading results from the current or previous prior frame. What I dont get is how does TSS decide that it's safe/accurate to reuse an old shading result if the view or lighting changes.