Sony's ReRAM plans - what can and can't ReRAM bring to a console? *spawn

Ok.

I can't talk about what I don't know. It's a good position to come in with some skepticism because it takes a while for things to change.

I'm no developer and I'm maybe completely wrong on this one. Please don't insult me if I am.

How about AI and Machine Learning? I've read some articles detailing how Machine Learning will be a new thing in video games enabling more complex AI, dynamic and realistic worlds and another article that says persistent memory is an important tool and will accelerate Machine Learning and AI. One of the focuses of Sony's new AI division is gaming.

ML_Game_Development.png

Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) applications are being developed for the enterprise and consumer markets at an exponential rate, but few developers are aware that persistent memory can play a critical role in optimising access to large data sets.

AI and ML technologies create highly demanding IO (input and output) and computational performance for GPU accelerated Extract, Transform, Load (ETL). The key challenge developers must overcome is to reduce the overall time to discovery and insight within data-intensive applications. Varying IO and computational performance is driven by bandwidth and latency. Therefore, the high-performance data analytics needed by AI and ML applications can be addressed by persistent memory solutions that offer the highest bandwidth and lowest latency.

Last edited by a moderator:
I think realistically in the next 5 years ML would only be used during training which happens during development and not during actual playing of the game.

I hope sony's new AI division whose focus includes gaming will accelerate things faster though. (with or without reram in the ps5)