Shadow of the Colossus (Remake 2018) [PS4]

I kinda get the argument about losing a few things when compared against the original but I'll take more responsive controls and 60hz over anything else. I'm sure if they got Ueda to remake the game we'd get 20 fps and sluggish controls and people trying to convince us that's actually good and/or intended. I actually liked TLG but the performance was horrendous on a "regular" Ps4.
I agree.
I started playing it recently and yeah the frame rate is ruining the game's beauty.

Also the detail is constantly crashed and lost either in too much darkness or in too much light or both. It is hard to point where the visuals find a proper balance for brightness.

It is a shame because there is so much magic crafted into it.

Assets quality :

b2sub.jpg

As this article has just appeared, I feel it worth adding to show the different takes on the remake versus the original. It also probably goes to show that the way one presents one's arguments has a huge affect on how willingly others will listen, even if they don't agree. Had OCASM written more like this, discussion may have been more open and understanding.

"The result is a kind of particularity that feels totally estranged from the original game. While Shadow of the Colossus, in its washed-out, blur and bloom-laden original form felt like it was describing the sense of a place, its remake is describing the place itself...an undeniably particular landscape, one that might even have a 1:1 match in reality. In comparison, the original's hazy, grassy plains felt like a dream, something half-forgotten, already lost.

I'd go so far to say that this difference is not just a difference of fidelity, but a difference of language."

You said : "Even the environments have lost all sense of realism, they look as if the artists simply mashed some "rock" brushes all over the place to get as much detail as possible."