Will AMD's Mantle revolutionise PC gaming? *spawn

Apparently a single 290X was driving the 5760x1080 live play of BF4 Angry Sea and no one said it was running in Mantle mode.

So, erm, it seems PC gamers don't need Mantle :p

I want to see how much it helps the low and mid range GCN cards. That's the real win. If a lot more people can suddenly run Battlefield 4 at respectable framerates and graphical settings, it'll be a big selling point.

Even more exciting is to think what Mantle could conceivably meant for low power Windows laptop/tablet gaming. Perhaps you won't have to have a desktop replacement laptop that gets at best 1-2 hours on battery life for good gaming performance.

In other words, I wonder what this could do for a low power Windows laptop/tablet that gets 8-10 hours of battery life. Obviously lower when gaming, but perhaps gaming will actually become pleasant on such a low power device with something like Mantle.

Regards,
SB

I'm not technically minded but I'm wondering if Microsoft is also learning from the combined effort behind the Xbox One.

Maybe they are looking to implement some of that in future operating systems.

This is exciting stuff. More free cpu cycles available to developers could really be an incentive to make games with beefy AI.

Even more exciting is to think what Mantle could conceivably meant for low power Windows laptop/tablet gaming. Perhaps you won't have to have a desktop replacement laptop that gets at best 1-2 hours on battery life for good gaming performance.

In other words, I wonder what this could do for a low power Windows laptop/tablet that gets 8-10 hours of battery life. Obviously lower when gaming, but perhaps gaming will actually become pleasant on such a low power device with something like Mantle.

Regards,
SB

wouldn't amd actually need to get window's tablets out that have gcn hardware ?

I'm not technically minded but I'm wondering if Microsoft is also learning from the combined effort behind the Xbox One.