Haswell vs Kaveri

That's fair point; I got 32 gigs of fast DDR3 for around $130 not too long ago because my workflow could use it. For most people, having more ram than their equipment was installed with is giving much diminished returns from a few years ago; they would have a much better user experience from a more modest but faster memory subsystem.

Most CPU benchmarks right now aren't showing much tangible improvement going to higher RAM clocks or even quad channels for high end x86 systems (SB vs SB-E). There's no evidence that we're at a point where common CPU tasks are heavily bandwidth limited. Lower latency might help but moving to GDDR5 doesn't give you anything there.

Why isn't it an option? Can't be more expensive than GDDR5, so is it too big/power hungry or something? That'd surprise me a bit too as I don't recall GDDR being particularly power-friendly compared to low voltage DDR3 (but admittedly I'm no expert).

Perhaps because most motherboards in this segment come with two slots for memory? I mean they are small and...

GDDR5 as system memory seems like a bad idea since it's too expensive to make sense for desktops

Pricing is a very relative thing. I'm sure they can afford to push and regulate it. And how expensive is it really?

Most CPU benchmarks right now aren't showing much tangible improvement going to higher RAM clocks or even quad channels for high end x86 systems (SB vs SB-E). There's no evidence that we're at a point where common CPU tasks are heavily bandwidth limited. Lower latency might help but moving to GDDR5 doesn't give you anything there.

These things are APUs though, and the graphics side is sharing the same bus:

http://www.anandtech.com/show/6372/...3-to-ddr32400-on-ivy-bridge-igp-with-gskill/9

Perhaps because most motherboards in this segment come with two slots for memory? I mean they are small and...