Wii U hardware discussion and investigation *rename

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not sure I get what you mean, I'm just an ex-AAA senior rendering programmer now working on GPU R&D after all...

Perhaps you can explain how a game "written for PS360" differs from a game written for WiiU, then. And perhaps the parts of the WiiU that aren't being utilized by "5 minute ports" (although you'd have no way to know this and probably shouldn't have commented about it to start with as such.)

NFS:MW better on Wii U

A bunch of other multiplats: Better on PS360

I fail to see how that proves any Wii U superiority. In fact the bulk of the multiplatform evidence supports inferiority.
The devs that confirmed to have put some effort in it (Criterion: when we first ported it, it ran crap) actually produced improved games.
And I totally agree with Shifty, from what I've seen Pikmin 3 is another Wii U game that looks to do nothing not possible on PS360. If it did, there would be more excitement around it's graphics.
That's okay. You mean possible as in identical looks and framerate without ignoring Wii U optimized ports?

There is excitement. Not because of the gameplay renders but because of the photo mode:
pikmin3-screenshot7.png

forumaccount said:
You don't appear to understand the similarities and differences between PS360 and WiiU nor how they relate to performance and development time.
Funny, I saw your comment to Roderic but I was thinking the same about your owen statement, perhaps you can name some of these similarities. Because IMO it won't be in memory access strategy, eDram usage for GPU or CPU's cache usage.

I fail to see why people can't stomach the Wii U being better than the PS360, it's hardly a technical feat given today's tech really...
That was the sentiment before Wii U launched, but now it's pretty clear Nintendo didn't go that route. 45nm process and HD 4xxx series design coupled with low power consumption have given people reason to doubt.