Finland

Dresden

Celebrating Mediocrity
Veteran
My girlfriend and I would like to go to Finland, sometime in the near future. I, personally, have never left the States and have always been fond of Finland. We've talked about taking a class in learning to speak Finnish, as well. What should I know about, prior to making definitive plans to travel? What are some interesting touristy sites? I'm just beginning to research the trip, so any help would be welcomed.

Finnish is very peculiar in that it has more in common with Hungarian, than the other four major nordic languages (Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Icelandic).

JRR Tolkien spoke fluent Finnish, and in fact based the first Elfish language on it. I forget which one that is, but you could easily look it up if you're interested.

Finnish rye bread is Very Good eats, especially those round soft ones, sold pre-sliced into halves. Nice matured hard cheese along with that = really yummy.

Turkish Pepper is made by a Finnish company these days.

Now I don't know what else to say about the place, lol!

JRR Tolkien spoke fluent Finnish, and in fact based the first Elfish language on it. I forget which one that is, but you could easily look it up if you're interested.
did he speak Finnish thanks for the info i never knew that
i only did know that he spoke Icelandic/old icelandic
he had a Icelandic housekeeper so he could practice his Icelandic

Start your planning by deciding whether you want to make your trip in midwinter or midsummer. I've always hated both the spring and autumn, although in recent years the weather has been mostly quite OK - the climate definitely seems to have shifted a bit, making those transition-seasons shorter. Getting a proper winter in southern parts of the country seems to be a bit of a gamble nowadays, so if you want to enjoy cold and dark with plenty of snow, the target should be in the north.

Anyway, here's some info you might find useful.