Digital Foundry Article Technical Discussion Archive [2014]

Status
Not open for further replies.
While standing still, you can always achieve 100% coverage with your samples.

I welcome anyone to prove mathematically that you can reconstruct perfectly a full frame from 2 half sampled frames. ;)

I think what you're getting hung up on is that you're visualizing pixel coverage, rather than sample point.

Please, go read about rasterization, what you are describing is not possible, because it's not how it works, and you'll understand what I am saying once you grasp the subject. I am calling you out because you are trying to argue about something that you lack knowledge of, and I am not good at bringing you up to speed so we can have constructive technical discussion

Put it another way, essentially you are arguing that you can take 2x1M pixel photos of a scene and perfectly reconstruct one single 2MB photo of the same scene.
Explain to me, how do you take 2 photos so that 1 has the odd lines and 1 has the even line, in real life.

Last edited by a moderator:
So what exactly are we arguing about in this thread?

It seems pretty simple really: Guerilla have discovered an interesting, credible alternative to reducing resolution to maintain framerate.

I welcome anyone to prove mathematically that you can reconstruct perfectly a full frame from 2 half sampled frames. ;)
If you're defining one of the half-sampled frames to be the odd samples of the full frame, and the other half-sampled frame to be the even samples of the full frame, it's trivially obvious.

So, if I manage to convince you of the plausibility behind the premise that it is possible to produce two such half-sampled frames, that will hopefully be sufficiently proofish.

Please, go read about rasterization
What about it do you think I need to learn? Anywhere to point me to? As I noted in that last post, I know a fair bit about rasterization already.