Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
Old 25-Feb-2011, 16:47   #1
Dade
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 182
Default LuxMark v1.0

Introduction

LuxMark is a OpenCL benchmark tool. The idea for the program was conceived in 2009 by Jromang. It was intended as a promotional tool for LuxRender (to quote original Jromang's words: "LuxRender propaganda with OpenCL"). The idea was quite simple, wrap SLG inside an easy to use graphical user interface and use it as a benchmark for OpenCL. After Anandtech adoption of SLG as OpenCL benchmark, the code was finally written.



Features

* Open source
* 100% OpenCL
* Cross platform (Linux, MacOS, Windows, etc.)
* Complex/real world code used as GPU computing benchmark
* Support for OpenCL GPUs-only, OpenCL CPUs+GPUs, OpenCL CPUs-only and native CPU-only benchmarking
* Support for Interactive mode
* Easy to run
* Multiple scenes usable as benchmarks

Download

Precompiled binaries for major OS are available at http://www.luxrender.net/wiki/LuxMark#Download

License & Sources

LuxMark is part of LuxRays source repository and is release under GPL license. The sources are available at http://src.luxrender.net/luxrays

Results



A list of results obtained with LuxMark is available at http://www.luxrender.net/wiki/LuxMark_Results
Dade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Feb-2011, 17:50   #2
Man from Atlantis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 728
Default

OpenCL GPU Only = 5092
GTX 460 1GB @950/1900/4600MHz


Native CPU = 2393
Q9650 @4.00GHz

Man from Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Feb-2011, 18:11   #3
Arnold Beckenbauer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,017
Default

GPU only: 1718 (HD4850, 700/993 MHz)
CPU+GPU: 2661
Native CPU: 1278
OpenCL CPU: 1256

CPU: Q6600 with 2,4 GHz, DDRII 667 MHz.
__________________
Hail Brothers and Sisters! Coranon Silaria, Ozoo Mahoke
Eta Kooram Nah Smech!

Find Chuck Norris.

Last edited by Arnold Beckenbauer; 25-Feb-2011 at 18:17.
Arnold Beckenbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Feb-2011, 22:54   #4
Tahir2
Itchy
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: United Queendom
Posts: 2,873
Default

GPU only: 2204 (HD5770 stock)
CPU+GPU: 3145 (PII X4 3.4GHz)
Native CPU: 1100
OpenCL CPU: 1193
__________________
"Unless I am very mistaken… and yes, I am very much mistaken." - The Legend M Walker

Last edited by Tahir2; 25-Feb-2011 at 23:20. Reason: first figure was wrong.
Tahir2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Feb-2011, 23:04   #5
Chabi
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 117
Default

GPU only: 1154
CPU+GPU: 2344
OpenCL CPU: 1762
Native CPU: 1514

CPU: X6 1075T 3GHz
RAM: 2x1GB 800MHz
VGA: HD4830 512MB (640/925)
OS: 32bit XP
__________________
GPGPU application list
Chabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Feb-2011, 22:24   #6
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,008
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default

GPU: 8823
Native CPU: 3337

Core i7-920 @ 3995MHz
GeForce GTX 570 @ 825/2100MHz
Windows 7 x64

The benchmark, for some reason, doesn't like Intel's OpenCL alpha driver and can't initiate execution for the OpenCL CPU path.
__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Feb-2011, 08:48   #7
Dade
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fellix View Post
The benchmark, for some reason, doesn't like Intel's OpenCL alpha driver and can't initiate execution for the OpenCL CPU path.
Thanks Fellix, I was interested to know how it was working on Intel OpenCL. I assume it is a problem in Intel alpha implementation because the same code works fine on AMD/NVIDIA/Apple OpenCL.
Dade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Feb-2011, 09:48   #8
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,008
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default

The application apparently refuses to load, if the system does not have OpenCL driver installed, although there is native CPU render. It would be nice if LuxMark defaults to the native CPU path, or at least allows the user to select the benchmark mode, after start-up, so those without OCL devices or drivers to at least be able to run the native render.

p.s.: What a beast score: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...98&postcount=6
__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.

Last edited by fellix; 28-Feb-2011 at 09:55.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Feb-2011, 21:34   #9
GM™
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Reading, UK.
Posts: 181
Send a message via MSN to GM™
Default

OpenCL CPU+GPU: 15637

CPU: Core i7-920 @ 3800MHz
GPU: GeForce GTX 570 SLI @ Stock
OS: Windows 7 x64
GM™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Mar-2011, 09:27   #10
Dade
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fellix View Post
The application apparently refuses to load, if the system does not have OpenCL driver installed, although there is native CPU render. It would be nice if LuxMark defaults to the native CPU path, or at least allows the user to select the benchmark mode, after start-up, so those without OCL devices or drivers to at least be able to run the native render.
Is that possible ? I mean, will not Windows complain at the executable startup because of the missing OpenCL.dll dependency ?

BTW, it is possible to compile LuxMark from the sources without any OpenCL dependecy (i.e. with only native CPU mode) by defining the LUXRAYS_DISABLE_OPENCL symbol. But you have to use 2 executables, one for plafroms with OpenCL and one where it is not available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fellix View Post
That is a big number
Dade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-Mar-2011, 18:17   #11
Lightman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torquay, UK
Posts: 1,150
Default

No one with HD6970?

Then I will need to post some scores

OpenCL GPU: 6373
OpenCL CPU+GPU: 7727
OpenCL CPU: 2361
Native CPU: 2470


AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @3440MHz (HTT 215MHz)
Radeon HD6970 @930/1425
DDR3 @1720MHz CL7
W7 64bit


Just to compare with fellix 4GHz run,
OpenCL GPU: 6503
OpenCL CPU+GPU: 8122
OpenCL CPU: 2717
Native CPU: 2896
6 AMD cores not enough to catch 8 Intel threads!

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @3996MHz (HTT 222MHz)
Radeon HD6970 @930/1425
DDR3 @1776MHz CL7
W7 64bit

Last edited by Lightman; 03-Mar-2011 at 18:40.
Lightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-Mar-2011, 18:33   #12
pcchen
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 2,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dade View Post
Is that possible ? I mean, will not Windows complain at the executable startup because of the missing OpenCL.dll dependency ?
In theory, it's possible to load OpenCL.dll dynamically and use GetProcAddress for entry points. However, that seems to be pretty redundant because OpenCL.dll itself is doing the same thing for the ICD!

Personally I think Khronos should release an universal ICD for everyone to use, even those without an OpenCL implementation (to at least allow programs which uses but not require OpenCL to work).

By the way, an easier way to handle this is to make multiple executable and use a loader which detects whether OpenCL.dll is available and then run the executable.
pcchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-Mar-2011, 19:14   #13
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,008
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lightman View Post
6 AMD cores not enough to catch 8 Intel threads!
I think the renderer is quite sensitive to the cache sub-system. Both for CPUs and GPUs.
Also it loves concurrent threading, looking at the HT-enabled CPU scores.
G92 is particularly bad here. I guess the register pressure is too much for its wimpy RF size and can't sustain enough threads.
__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-Mar-2011, 01:22   #14
Sinistar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 519
Default

HD6970 crossfire stock

OpenCL GPU: 12646
OpenCL CPU+GPU 12020

No those are not backwards, I actually got a lower score using both GPU and CPU.
Sinistar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-Mar-2011, 08:58   #15
Lightman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torquay, UK
Posts: 1,150
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinistar View Post
HD6970 crossfire stock

OpenCL GPU: 12646
OpenCL CPU+GPU 12020

No those are not backwards, I actually got a lower score using both GPU and CPU.
What CPU?
Lightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-Mar-2011, 11:49   #16
Sinistar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 519
Default

Q9450 @ 3.2
Sinistar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Mar-2011, 22:47   #17
seeker010
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 41
Default

have both nvidia and amd gpu, but luxmark only detects nvidia gpu. any reason for this?
seeker010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-Mar-2011, 13:55   #18
pcchen
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 2,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker010 View Post
have both nvidia and amd gpu, but luxmark only detects nvidia gpu. any reason for this?
I guess (just a speculation, as I don't have a mixed GPU system anymore) it's because your OpenCL.dll is from either one (NVIDIA or AMD) and is not compatible with the other one's OpenCL ICD, as NVIDIA's OpenCL ICD is 1.0 and AMD's is 1.1.

You may want to check the version of your OpenCL.dll in your system directory, and try replacing it with the one from the other GPU's driver (and remember to backup the old ones to be safe), although if the two ICDs are imcompatible with each other, this probably wouldn't help at all.
pcchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-Mar-2011, 00:17   #19
seeker010
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcchen View Post
I guess (just a speculation, as I don't have a mixed GPU system anymore) it's because your OpenCL.dll is from either one (NVIDIA or AMD) and is not compatible with the other one's OpenCL ICD, as NVIDIA's OpenCL ICD is 1.0 and AMD's is 1.1.

You may want to check the version of your OpenCL.dll in your system directory, and try replacing it with the one from the other GPU's driver (and remember to backup the old ones to be safe), although if the two ICDs are imcompatible with each other, this probably wouldn't help at all.
thanks for the reply. I couldn't find ati's opencl.dll, but I did some checking

the opencl registry entry under in HKLM\software\Khronos has the list of all the opencl dlls for each gpu vendor. changing from 0 to 1 disables the specific vendor dll.
seeker010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-Mar-2011, 14:51   #20
Chabi
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chabi View Post
GPU only: 1154
CPU+GPU: 2344
OpenCL CPU: 1762
Native CPU: 1514

CPU: X6 1075T 3GHz
RAM: 2x1GB 800MHz
VGA: HD4830 512MB (640/925)
OS: 32bit XP
gpu caps viewer:

cpu: opencl 1.1 - gpu: opencl 1.0


[/quote]
__________________
GPGPU application list
Chabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-Mar-2011, 16:14   #21
Arnold Beckenbauer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,017
Default



APP 2.4 is part of the Catalyst 11.4 early preview.
__________________
Hail Brothers and Sisters! Coranon Silaria, Ozoo Mahoke
Eta Kooram Nah Smech!

Find Chuck Norris.
Arnold Beckenbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Apr-2011, 10:43   #22
Man from Atlantis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Man from Atlantis View Post
OpenCL GPU Only = 5092
GTX 460 1GB @950/1900/4600MHz

Quote:
Originally Posted by fellix View Post
GPU: 8823
Native CPU: 3337

Core i7-920 @ 3995MHz
GeForce GTX 570 @ 825/2100MHz
Windows 7 x64
it seems GF104 superscalar(2way 32+16sp array) sucks and only utilizes 224sp(2/3) here.. 5092*(480/224)*(825/950)=9475.. ~7% off though maybe it's because lesser bw, caches and error rate.. at least gf104 made for gaming not compute or else
Man from Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Apr-2011, 13:12   #23
Dade
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 182
Default

BTW, there have been some impressive score recently reported on LuxRender forums.

This has been posted by KyungSoo, LuxMark running on 8 x 480GTX:



And this by Royoni, LuxMark running on 4 x HD6990 + 2 x Xeon E5620:

Dade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-May-2011, 09:00   #24
Davros
Darlek ******
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,051
Default

how the hell is he running 8 gtx460's ?
__________________
Guardian of the Bodacious Three Terabytes of Gaming Goodness™
Davros is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-May-2011, 09:10   #25
CarstenS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,964
Send a message via ICQ to CarstenS
Default

Apart from the fact that he's running GTX480s, not 460s, this way perhaps?
http://www.guru3d.com/article/msi-bi...arshal-review/
Plus,of course, single-slot watercooling for each one.
__________________
English is not my native tongue. Before flaming please consider the possiblity that I did not mean to say what you might have read from my posts.
Work| Recreation
Warning! This posting may contain unhealthy doses of gross humor, sarcastic remarks and exaggeration!
CarstenS is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.