Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
Old 11-Aug-2009, 02:46   #701
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big4ared View Post
4. Just like Gears 2, they don't have SSAO on moving characters. When characters die and lay on the ground, they get SSAO, but if you look at Batman's feet, he doesn't get any.
Geras 2 does have SSAO for characters on the environment, but it's not very noticeable most of the time. Self-SSAO would be pretty hard to see given the colour palette though.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 05:38   #702
Richard
Mord's imaginary friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: PT, EU
Posts: 3,513
Default

First screnshots supposedly from the XBOX version.

here, here, here, and here.
__________________
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true. - James Branch Cabell
Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 07:31   #703
grandmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,159
Default

The complete lack of any form of aliasing whatsoever makes that claim a bit suspect...
grandmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 07:38   #704
rekator
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: France
Posts: 683
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grandmaster View Post
The complete lack of any form of aliasing whatsoever makes that claim a bit suspect...
Probably Press shoot for console version…
rekator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 08:43   #705
Statix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 234
Default

Personally, I'm not especially impressed by the lighting technology of Rage. Pre-baked lightmaps with drop shadows done per-character (and the character shadows don't even realistically intersect with the precomputed environment shadows). No SSAO or motion-blur (per-object or camera-based).

But if the game does manage to achieve the purported 60 fps on the current-generation consoles, then it would still be a commendable technical achievement.

The megatexture technique seems to allow for some beautiful outdoor vistas from a distance view, however.
Statix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 08:47   #706
Shifty Geezer
uber-Troll!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under my bridge
Posts: 30,877
Default

Please remember this is the IQ thread, not the RAGE discussion thread. Thanks.

And looking at those screens, we can't tell squat about IQ as they're promo shots.
__________________
Shifty Geezer
...
Flashing Samsung mobile firmwares. Know anything about this? Then please advise me at -
http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?p=1862910
Shifty Geezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 13:49   #707
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,241
Default

They're the same ones from the Game Informer magazine, probably the source material (not scans).
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 17:26   #708
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,241
Default

http://www.gamersyde.com/news_meet_t...2-8362_en.html

1024x576....... Also quite a lot of post-processing.

Some pretty high quality character assets on the other hand..
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 19:20   #709
nightshade
Interwebz Hijacker !
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 3,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlStrong View Post
http://www.gamersyde.com/news_meet_t...2-8362_en.html

1024x576....... Also quite a lot of post-processing.

Some pretty high quality character assets on the other hand..
No thanks Bioware.....But I think I'd rather have an HD game with models like ME1, than that.
__________________
wookies love cookies !
nightshade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 19:23   #710
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,241
Default

Btw, this isn't the thread for such... discussion. Just a friendly reminder about post 1 (rules) and that this is indeed the Tech Forum.


At first I thought it was some sort of post-processing issue for background objects as the characters *appear* fine for 720p; the emissive lighting on those structures in the fourth shot gave away the vertical resolution. I suppose the high poly-count and muted colour palette surrounding them helped mask what I was eventually able to determine. It was actually a particular edge on one of the characters giving away 1024 horizontal res.

So that's theoretically a 36% drop in pixel shading and fillrate load.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 22:08   #711
PhilB
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 659
Default

So it's pretty much confirmed then that 1024x576 is the final res? Can't say I blame them though considering how the first one ran.
PhilB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 22:11   #712
brain_stew
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilB View Post
So it's pretty much confirmed then that 1024x576 is the final res? Can't say I blame them though considering how the first one ran.
Agreed, something had to give as the framerate was really atrocious in the original.
brain_stew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 22:13   #713
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,241
Default

Just for those screenshots, but it makes you wonder why they'd release it as such if it weren't final. They're definitely not bullshotting anyone.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 23:30   #714
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,241
Default

gah, made a mistake.

False alarm.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 23:38   #715
Arwin
Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Maastricht, The Netherlands
Posts: 15,122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlStrong View Post
gah, made a mistake.

False alarm.
JC man, thank god. I thought I was going crazy.
Arwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Aug-2009, 23:39   #716
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,241
Default

did a 4/5 instead of a 5/4 multiplication.

(Thanks Mazinger)

I blame Friday morning.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Aug-2009, 00:04   #717
Silent_Buddha
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,497
Default

Are you sure about that res? Did they upscale the shots they provided to Gamersyde then?

And if that's 1024x576, that's the best 1024x576 I've ever seen. Actually looks better than many 1080p shots I've seen. Well, until I got to the 3rd shot with the high contrast aliasing (/sigh).

Regards,
SB
Silent_Buddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Aug-2009, 00:08   #718
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,241
Default

Apparently downscaled from 1600x900. Yeah. haha would explain the high quality crispness of the characters.

edit: Even had the blown up pixels and steps labeled correctly 20 steps, 16 pixels. Brain not functioning.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-Aug-2009, 21:41   #719
dah145
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 29
Default

any word on the Lost Planet 2 demo Xbox 360 demo?
dah145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Aug-2009, 03:20   #720
obonicus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,939
Default

These may be Bayonetta on PS3 screenshots (but I somewhat suspect they're not):
http://ps3media.ign.com/ps3/image/ar...2105621262.jpg

From here: http://media.ps3.ign.com/media/142/14253676/imgs_1.html

Any res change from what we'd seen before? All my untrained eyes see are jaggies.
obonicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Aug-2009, 03:25   #721
SG79
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 534
Default

They're not from the PS3 build, and look at the date. The PS3 game hasn't been shown in public... yet.

IIRC, it's 720p with no AA on the 360.
SG79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Aug-2009, 03:28   #722
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dah145 View Post
any word on the Lost Planet 2 demo Xbox 360 demo?
From what I could see... it's not any different than previous games from the team. 720p and dynamic MSAA.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Aug-2009, 04:26   #723
Gitaroo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,706
Default

hopefully PS3 version will atleast lock at 2X MSAA, not QAA and no more 5 gigs install capcom. Btw, anyone check dirt? Seems like it could be QAA.....
Gitaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Aug-2009, 21:26   #724
Aeoniss
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 557
Default

This was probably touched on before, but I couldn't find it- why is QAA more reasonable on the PS3? Is it cheaper? I suppose if it cuts back on memory\bandwidth it's an obvious choice. I've heard people state that it -isn't- though.

ergo my confusion.

If so, why doesn't the 360 also use it? (I know the Edram benefits.. but if the goal is to simply conserve memory\bandwidth.. Wouldn't it work on both all the same?)
Aeoniss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Aug-2009, 22:18   #725
Silent_Buddha
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aeoniss View Post
If so, why doesn't the 360 also use it? (I know the Edram benefits.. but if the goal is to simply conserve memory\bandwidth.. Wouldn't it work on both all the same?)
QAA is an Nvidia form of AA. ATI hardware doesn't support it.

ATI does have the wide and narrow tent filters, but those were introduced after Xenos. And don't exactly serve the same purpose as QAA.

Regards,
SB
Silent_Buddha is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
post #3387

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.