Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
Old 17-Jun-2009, 16:40   #626
jaidek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 45
Default

They guys at Lens of Truth were called out on the resolution for the PS3 version. They posted this response. They also compare the quality of the Game Trailers comparison to their own. The PlayStation 3 version looks the same....blurry.

http://www.lensoftruth.com/?p=11033
jaidek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Jun-2009, 19:58   #627
Silent_Buddha
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaidek View Post
They guys at Lens of Truth were called out on the resolution for the PS3 version. They posted this response. They also compare the quality of the Game Trailers comparison to their own. The PlayStation 3 version looks the same....blurry.

http://www.lensoftruth.com/?p=11033
So from that I take it the GT movies were all encoded at 540p (960x540). So the X360 version would have been downscaled and thus look closer to the PS3 version...

BTW - don't read the comments there. Ugh they made my head hurt...

Regards,
SB
Silent_Buddha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Jun-2009, 20:41   #628
Nesh
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,449
Default

I have a question which is partially off topic but didnt want to start a new thread for it.

Is there a way to export video from an HDTV? If yes which is the easiest way to do it?

I am interested since I want to export videos of games not necessarily directly from the console itself, but from my TV.
Nesh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Jun-2009, 21:40   #629
Laa-Yosh
member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8,157
Default

Gametrailers does some terrible stuff to every movie... Our guys spend a lot of time tweaking every tiny detail, then we spend days on finding the right amount of compression - and then GT reencodes everything and f***s the gamma up, too.
__________________
My opinions do not represent that of my employer blah blah etc.
Laa-Yosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Jun-2009, 06:46   #630
bagofsuck
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 219
Default

So xbox 360 720p vs Ps3 540p ?
bagofsuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Jun-2009, 09:54   #631
TheWretched
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 668
Default

It's not 540P in a sense... it is a bit more.

But other than that... WEAK effort by the developers...
TheWretched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jun-2009, 12:41   #632
Blazkowicz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,745
Default

on my comp I've set Far Cry to 2xQ AA, with transparency supersampling (I only have a 7600GT which is similar in a way to PS3's GPU. you may try it if you have an nvidia board). It looks good and runs fast. Doom 3 is the other game where I use 2xQ. high res, high IQ and high framerate.

I can't blame devs for using 2xQ on console, it's a pretty interesting trade off in some cases. It's awful in older games but okay in "high tech" games full of normal maps, shadows etc.
Blazkowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jun-2009, 16:22   #633
Shifty Geezer
uber-Troll!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under my bridge
Posts: 29,060
Default

OT posts moved to this (already locked) thread.
__________________
Shifty Geezer
...

Tolerance for internet moronism is exhausted. Anyone talking about people's attitudes in the Console fora, rather than games and technology, will feel my wrath. Read the FAQ to remind yourself how to behave and avoid unsightly incidents.
Shifty Geezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jun-2009, 08:49   #634
user542745831
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,092
Default

Anyone here who figured out the native rendering resolution / AA in those:

Quote:
Max Payne 3: first images
Rockstar has finally decided to release the first screenshots of Max Payne 3.
http://www.gamersyde.com/news_8137_en.html

?
user542745831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jun-2009, 09:43   #635
grandmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,159
Default

They look super-sampled down from a much higher resolution owing to the very noticeable lack of aliasing.
grandmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Jul-2009, 11:19   #636
user542745831
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,092
Default

Remembering the discussion about Street Fighter II Turbo HD Remix and XBLA download size limit and wondering if such a limit could prevent something like this

http://www.joystiq.com/2009/07/01/fi...level-and-all/

from being true 1080p60.

Hardware shouldn't be a limitation, or should it? What do you guys think?

Last edited by user542745831; 02-Jul-2009 at 11:31.
user542745831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Jul-2009, 11:35   #637
AlNets
A bit netty
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: warp
Posts: 14,801
Default

The download size would only matter if they redid all the textures to at least 1k x 1k. Setting the framebuffer to 1080p is mutually exclusive since it's a 3D game.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
"UC3's story had more platforming than the gameplay."
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-Jul-2009, 17:10   #638
SG79
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 534
Default

NG Sigma 2 confirmed now at 1280x720 with no AA:

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...ing-blog-entry
SG79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Jul-2009, 15:22   #639
user542745831
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,092
Default

Anyone here who figured out the native rendering resolution / AA of this:

http://scc.system3.com/downloads/wal..._1920x1080.jpg

?

Last edited by user542745831; 04-Sep-2009 at 13:33.
user542745831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jul-2009, 03:43   #640
Dr. Nick
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 676
Default

There is a demo availble for Magna Carta 2 on the Japanese marketplace. Would someone mind checking the res. It look a bit blury to me at least during the town portion. Once your on the field an agressive DOF kicks in.
__________________
"The most rewarding part was when he gave me my money"

Last edited by Dr. Nick; 25-Jul-2009 at 03:50.
Dr. Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Jul-2009, 23:10   #641
Caris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to Caris Send a message via Skype™ to Caris
Default

Can someone tell me if Modern Warfare 2 runs at 600p or not?

This is the best screenshot I could find.

Caris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Jul-2009, 23:34   #642
AlNets
A bit netty
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: warp
Posts: 14,801
Default

Still the same. (Though I'm not surprised, given that 60fps is very important to them).
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
"UC3's story had more platforming than the gameplay."
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2009, 00:09   #643
assurdum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlStrong View Post
Still the same. (Though I'm not surprised, given that 60fps is very important to them).
Sorry but I can't resist how can push 360 to limits1024x600p a 60 fps ? I really don't understood
assurdum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2009, 00:46   #644
AlNets
A bit netty
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: warp
Posts: 14,801
Default

For one thing, it neatly fits within eDRAM.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
"UC3's story had more platforming than the gameplay."
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2009, 12:11   #645
Laa-Yosh
member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8,157
Default

Rage probably won't have AA, whereas COD has 2xAA on top of the 60fps. It's a trade-off and different devs make different decisions.
__________________
My opinions do not represent that of my employer blah blah etc.
Laa-Yosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2009, 12:19   #646
assurdum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laa-Yosh View Post
Rage probably won't have AA, whereas COD has 2xAA on top of the 60fps. It's a trade-off and different devs make different decisions.
I have some doubts honestly; I don't thinks 2xAA is so expensive for the fps. Carmack said pc will have better AA and resolution translation: minor AA on the console (2xAA & QAA I'll bet). Surely id has different experiences of infinity ward in the graphics engine development.

Last edited by assurdum; 29-Jul-2009 at 12:24.
assurdum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2009, 12:34   #647
Rotmm
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grandmaster View Post
What you're suggesting is incompatible with the IW philosophy which has a very strong basis on ultra-low latency controls. Load up the CoD4 training mission/shooting range (where it is locked at 60fps) and feel the precision in the controls.
Did you ever do a FPS comparison between the PS3 and 360 for MW? I don't know why, but on the PS3 the game just didn't feel quite so sharp to me. I don't know if that was down to the framerate, or just the fact that the 6axis just doesn't seem to help with that kind of game (for me).
Rotmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2009, 12:41   #648
assurdum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotmm View Post
Did you ever do a FPS comparison between the PS3 and 360 for MW? I don't know why, but on the PS3 the game just didn't feel quite so sharp to me. I don't know if that was down to the framerate, or just the fact that the 6axis just doesn't seem to help with that kind of game (for me).
360 had better fps overall but to be honest I don't thinks affect the controls in the ps3.
assurdum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2009, 12:46   #649
rekator
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: France
Posts: 672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by assurdum View Post
Infinity ward said MW 2 push to limits 360 but to be honest if 600p is push to limits a console...well... Rage forever my dear.....however cod4 has a lot of framerate drops, rarely 60 fps is steady.
PR discours… MW 2 don't push 360, or if it push more PS3 to is limit…
Sorry, but push a console to is limits don't be measuring only by a 720p 4AA… There a lot of others areas who impact performance stable fps, 60 vs 30 fps, textures qualities, colors, lighting, polygones, physic, IA, etc…
MW2 have, like Grandmaster said, a priority for respond controls, thing that is the more important for FPS game, so 60 FPS target is need for them.
All games have priorities some is "Whaou" graphics impression, other is "Whaou" gameplay feeling… I preferred the second.
rekator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2009, 12:51   #650
grandmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotmm View Post
Did you ever do a FPS comparison between the PS3 and 360 for MW? I don't know why, but on the PS3 the game just didn't feel quite so sharp to me. I don't know if that was down to the framerate, or just the fact that the 6axis just doesn't seem to help with that kind of game (for me).
There is a clear performance gap on CoD4, as seen here but this sort of discussion is best left to the frame rate analysis thread really.

However, it is tangentially relevant in that the framebuffer is the way it is in order to get maximum frames and thus maximum response from the controls, and yes, I noticed it too.
grandmaster is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
post #3387

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.