Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
Old 16-Mar-2014, 09:56   #3901
KKRT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,039
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Globalisateur View Post
I think Ryse (SMAA 1tx) may use a less advanced temporal reprojection than SMAA 2tx, Crytek themselves did annouce a new version called "1tx" just used in Ryse but still with temporal AA but... 1 < 2, right?
No, T1x TAA is much superior to T2x.

You can read about it a little here at page 19:
http://crytek.com/download/Sousa_Gra...CryENGINE3.pdf

It uses multiple frames, not only one like SMAA T2x
KKRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Mar-2014, 19:28   #3902
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,193
Default



Lego Movie:

Decided to look for something a bit more solid (more steps/pixels). Again, it's just a guess/arbitrary count, but it looks like it's around 1280 for the vertical axis (64/54).

1200 would have given 60/54, mind you, let alone 20/18, which I kept finding to be 21/18, and so... another <unspecified time> investigating.

Kind of weird, but not an unfamiliar number, exactly 1.5:1 anamorphic. At least the FOV isn't affected due to it, which does say something about the engine.

---
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Mar-2014, 19:49   #3903
Jcustom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlNets View Post
Lego Movie:

Decided to look for something a bit more solid (more steps/pixels). Again, it's just a guess/arbitrary count, but it looks like it's around 1280 for the vertical axis (64/54).

1200 would have given 60/54, mind you, let alone 20/18, which I kept finding to be 21/18, and so... another <unspecified time> investigating.

Kind of weird, but not an unfamiliar number, exactly 1.5:1 anamorphic. At least the FOV isn't affected due to it, which does say something about the engine.

---
Can i ask you how you can count more steps than the maximum of the resolution of the image? I mean, if the native resolution of the screenshot is below than the res of the image i get it but how it works in the other way?
Jcustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Mar-2014, 20:01   #3904
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcustom View Post
Can i ask you how you can count more steps than the maximum of the resolution of the image? I mean, if the native resolution of the screenshot is below than the res of the image i get it but how it works in the other way?
It's tricky, but you're basically looking for a leading edge. Some steps have the erm, subsample, and others do not. It kind of just... works for non-integer scaling ( in which case all steps get extra sub-sample shades, and makes it harder although we know how rotated grid MSAA generally looks. It gets more complicated as you go up from there, and you have to look at other factors in image quality).

It's still guesswork, of course.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Mar-2014, 21:42   #3905
Jcustom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlNets View Post
It's tricky, but you're basically looking for a leading edge. Some steps have the erm, subsample, and others do not. It kind of just... works for non-integer scaling ( in which case all steps get extra sub-sample shades, and makes it harder although we know how rotated grid MSAA generally looks. It gets more complicated as you go up from there, and you have to look at other factors in image quality).

It's still guesswork, of course.
Thanks, looks tricky indeed
I've tried to see some images of Lego Movie PS4 from DF but i'm not quite sure how to check the right edge when the post-AA kicks in.

DF has just updated the article
Jcustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2014, 00:45   #3906
Globalisateur
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: France
Posts: 618
Default

I have misjudged the AA solution in MGS5. I previously thought it was a "blurry FXAA" when in fact it's definitely not. Sorry Mr. Kojima!

The AA is a lot better than I thought. We can see some artifacts in some areas (the wire transformed into a dotted line, the pattern on the fences, the strange stuff on top of the rocks top-left on this pic).

But the important geometry sub-details are preserved (surprisingly well, in fact notably on the tower) and the textures have still some sharpness in them (ground textures with sun reflection are definitely not wrecked by a strong FXAA):



Maybe the pic I first saw had a strong motion blur in effect during this moment (it was during some stealth kill).

But it does look great and clean enough for a cross-gen game.
Globalisateur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2014, 00:47   #3907
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,193
Default

Seems likely the funky dithering is just their LOD system (fade in objects with view distance/object size).
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2014, 19:31   #3908
deanos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 42
Default

infamous direct feed screenshots: (courtesy of gaf)

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3825/1...b72aea1d_o.png
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7121/1...dce9ab1d_o.png
http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3767/1...85bc8b52_o.png
deanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2014, 19:36   #3909
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,193
Default

I believe it was already confirmed on twitter to be SMAA T2X with slight modifications.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Mar-2014, 04:59   #3910
djskribbles
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,931
Default

I remember you said wait for some better screens because you saw some odd artifacts from the compressed ones a while back. So is it native Al?

Last edited by djskribbles; 18-Mar-2014 at 05:34.
djskribbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Mar-2014, 13:38   #3911
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,193
Default

Looks that way. I haven't seen it in motion, but it was probably just some shoddy capture from a 1080i recording (it happens) for those anomalous shots.

--

Heh, right hand in third shot shows a very tiny amount of typical temporal ghosting issue. Also on that piece of paper to his left.

Actually, quite a few edges get missed by the edge detection here, probably too low contrast (hard to notice).

---
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯°□°)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 15:15   #3912
FATBOT
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 60
Default

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare (Xbox One)





Not a good capture, but it sure doesn´t look like 1080p, right?

Last edited by FATBOT; 02-May-2014 at 15:25.
FATBOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 16:02   #3913
Rangers
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,462
Default

I'm a very poor pixel counter, but I think I can safely say it's less than 1080P. Beyond that I wouldn't trust me much.

For a horiontal rez, I'd guess maybe 3/4 ratio, which should be around 1440, but that's kind of an odd resolution. And again, dont take me to know much, but it seems safe to say it's less than 1080P.

Could be 900P or even 720P I think.

Edit: Ughh, on a better measurement I think it's maybe ~720P. I'm pretty solid on 720P. Of course if it's some oddball resolution like 780P, I wont be able to suss that out, but it looks "around" 720p.

Edit 2: and that's on that particular shot. A lot of you have sharper eyes than me, and Globalisateur seems to think it might be a dynamic resolution, or that different parts of the trailer may sport different resolutions (different versions even?)
Rangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 17:01   #3914
Globalisateur
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: France
Posts: 618
Default Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare (Xbox One)

I also find roughly a 4/3 ratio for both vertical and horizontal resolution which is exactly 810p.

A very long vertical edge can be found in the first image between the window and the book shelf. For horizontal resolution it's more tricky but we can thanks the FXAA naughty artefacting for giving us several long horizontal edges on the white truck here:

http://postimg.org/image/4tdrbk46r/full/

We can safely presume the native resolution (of gameplay-ish scenes) is approximately 800p.

But it's maybe exactly 810p!! After the Titanfall 793p resolution everything is possible!

EDIT: Horizontal resolution in a Kevin Spacey scene has a more precise 31/40 ratio with very detailed edges:

http://postimg.org/image/4j68s7pkj/full/
http://postimg.org/image/v2ytucq43/

Which is exactly 837p. Statix you may be right with your 840p number.

Last edited by Globalisateur; 02-May-2014 at 17:32. Reason: cutscene pixel Spacey counting added
Globalisateur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 17:01   #3915
Statix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 234
Default

On one of the screens posted on NeoGAF, I was getting ~840p pretty consistently. Could be dynamic resolution though, because some parts of the video are definitely blurrier than others.



Edit: I think Globalisateur has the resolution pegged, at least for some scenes. 810p looks about right.

Last edited by Statix; 02-May-2014 at 17:13.
Statix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 18:15   #3916
Starx
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 100
Default



I think the resolution is native 900p.

Last edited by Starx; 02-May-2014 at 18:27.
Starx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 18:26   #3917
Globalisateur
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: France
Posts: 618
Default

The 840p resolution might be the right resolution even for the gameply-ish scenes:

For instance here I now find a 34/44 ratio (~835p)

http://s5.postimg.org/izti6sf1x/COD_...ontal_edge.png
http://s5.postimg.org/hbucs516f/Ghos...s_44pixels.png
Globalisateur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 21:16   #3918
Shortbread
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Globalisateur View Post
The 840p resolution might be the right resolution even for the gameply-ish scenes:

For instance here I now find a 34/44 ratio (~835p)

http://s5.postimg.org/izti6sf1x/COD_...ontal_edge.png
http://s5.postimg.org/hbucs516f/Ghos...s_44pixels.png
So, we’re currently looking at 840-900p for cutscenes and mostly 840p gameplay? Maybe when everything is said and done within 5-6 months, 900p across the board.
Shortbread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 21:43   #3919
damienw
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shortbread View Post
So, we’re currently looking at 840-900p for cutscenes and mostly 840p gameplay? Maybe when everything is said and done within 5-6 months, 900p across the board.
I would not take Starx's word, as I do not know him/her or their background.

The other 2 I would trust to get pretty close. So maybe 'low 800-ish p' is a ballpark until there is an official consensus.
damienw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 22:05   #3920
zed
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,839
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KKRT View Post
No, T1x TAA is much superior to T2x.
I quickly looked & they I think they dont say that at all

I dont think they even mention T2x TAA, do they?

They mention smaa t2x though perhaps youre getting confused.

The general rule = with the same method the higher the samples the better the quality but at slower performance
__________________
Coming soon my new mobile game Asscent in the meantime the game of this generation
http://zedzeek.com/presskit/index.html
zed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 22:34   #3921
Globalisateur
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: France
Posts: 618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zed View Post
I quickly looked & they I think they dont say that at all

I dont think they even mention T2x TAA, do they?

They mention smaa t2x though perhaps youre getting confused.

The general rule = with the same method the higher the samples the better the quality but at slower performance
In this case it may be a bit different.

From what I gathered SMAA 1tx used in Ryse uses several previous frames blended in the same single (1tx) temporal AA buffer. So the temporal component is more robust (no more temporal artefacts like ghosting seen occasionaly in Infamous) but at the price of some constant blurring (and indeed Ryse is a lot more blurry than the usual 900p->1080p upscaling typical blur).

When SMAA 2tx uses 2 previous temporal frames stored in 2 temporal buffers (2tx) and the algorithm chooses the best previous samples (kinda) depending of the scene.

But I suspect the temporal AA component might/will have many implementations and/or combinations.
Globalisateur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 22:38   #3922
Statix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shortbread View Post
So, we’re currently looking at 840-900p for cutscenes and mostly 840p gameplay? Maybe when everything is said and done within 5-6 months, 900p across the board.
Resolution generally doesn't increase this far along in development. Especially not when a consistent 60fps is a priority.

Look at Titanfall as an example. PR made it seem like a possibility that they could increase the resolution to 900p at launch, but that never happened. They're still busy trying to stabilize the framerate and alleviate the frame tearing.
Statix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 22:52   #3923
Shortbread
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Statix View Post
Resolution generally doesn't increase this far along in development. Especially not when a consistent 60fps is a priority.

Look at Titanfall as an example. PR made it seem like a possibility that they could increase the resolution to 900p at launch, but that never happened. They're still busy trying to stabilize the framerate and alleviate the frame tearing.
I was being more optimistic about the situation, than realistic.

Anyhow, does anyone know if the engine is forward or deferred based (maybe a hybrid of the two)?
Shortbread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-May-2014, 23:05   #3924
Statix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shortbread View Post
I was being more optimistic about the situation, than realistic.

Anyhow, does anyone know if the engine is forward or deferred based (maybe a hybrid of the two)?
Seeing as how Activision PR has not issued a single word about this being a new engine, I would assume it's still using the same core engine all the older Call of Duty's. Which would most likely mean it's forward rendered.

The new post-processing effects (depth of field, motion blur) are a definite plus in my book though. I do love myself some good, cinematic movement-based motion blur; in fact, I wish every game had this effect. But I wonder if it impacts input lag in any significant fashion.
Statix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-May-2014, 01:00   #3925
Rangers
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Statix View Post
Resolution generally doesn't increase this far along in development. Especially not when a consistent 60fps is a priority.

Look at Titanfall as an example. PR made it seem like a possibility that they could increase the resolution to 900p at launch, but that never happened. They're still busy trying to stabilize the framerate and alleviate the frame tearing.
Not saying it will increase, but Titanfall devs said they may increase resolution in a patch after release.

The same thing kind of happened to Trials Fusion (day one X1 patch 800P>900P) and several PS4 games recieved day one resolution increasing patches.

So if resolution can be increased even after release, it's hardly too late 6 months from release.
Rangers is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
post #3387

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.