Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
Old 19-Jul-2008, 07:22   #101
RudeCurve
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,779
Default

This has probably been brought up before, but it's really easy to paint the white Xbox360 black with a $3 can of flat or satin black spray paint. Just remove the cover and faceplate to paint them.
RudeCurve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Jul-2008, 21:04   #102
Rangers
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RudeCurve View Post
This has probably been brought up before, but it's really easy to paint the white Xbox360 black with a $3 can of flat or satin black spray paint. Just remove the cover and faceplate to paint them.
Aaaand warranty=gone
Rangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jul-2008, 00:31   #103
infinity4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RudeCurve View Post
This has probably been brought up before, but it's really easy to paint the white Xbox360 black with a $3 can of flat or satin black spray paint. Just remove the cover and faceplate to paint them.
Then you are suggesting there is no point to release controllers in pink, blue etc when you can paint them all with whatever you like.
infinity4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jul-2008, 00:36   #104
eastmen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by infinity4 View Post
Then you are suggesting there is no point to release controllers in pink, blue etc when you can paint them all with whatever you like.
some people are lazy .

I have a few colored ones , it makes it really easy to tell who is what player and also I have a little niece that just wants a pink controller to play with and wont use any other color . Since its the same price as a normal controller it was no big deal to me .

Anyway I'm going to replace my launch unit after the holidays and I'm looking at the elite and 60 gig with intrest . I'm hopping for a price drop though. Elite at under $400 is an easy buy for me
eastmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jul-2008, 08:00   #105
thambos
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RudeCurve View Post
This has probably been brought up before, but it's really easy to paint the white Xbox360 black with a $3 can of flat or satin black spray paint. Just remove the cover and faceplate to paint them.
I think that would void the warranty. What I did is bought a $2 silver faceplate (from the clearance bin at target), sandblasted it, sprayed it black, used model paint to add white/orange/yellow/glow in the dark stars, blue/purple/green for some nebulas, then clear coated it. turned out really well & gives it a unique look while blending into the cabinet w/ all the other black components. just had to put it on top so you only see the faceplate.
thambos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Jul-2008, 02:36   #106
eastmen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,242
Default

alot of diffrent information is out there.

Apparently there are 2 60 gig bundles. One of them is the 20 gig units with a sticker saying 60 gig on it. These weight the same as the old 20 gig units . However there are other 60 gig units that have 60 gig on the box along with the 60 gig unit. The 20 gig rebranded apear to be at gamestops while the 60 gigs are at walmart .

its interesting , i wonder if there are any jaspers out there
eastmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Jul-2008, 16:57   #107
RancidLunchmeat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eastmen View Post
alot of diffrent information is out there.

Apparently there are 2 60 gig bundles. One of them is the 20 gig units with a sticker saying 60 gig on it.
Where did you get this piece of information I find extremely difficult to believe is accurate?

Something I've found more believable is that stores are having some difficulty pricing the new 60gig bundles. Apparently some have been able to purchase the 60's at the new 20 price of $299, while others are being charged $349.

Clearly, I think the confusion is with the retail stores themselves. The price of the 60s is supposed to be $349, but perhaps if the stores already have the 20s cleared out they've already adjusted the price of the 60s?

Unlikely, probably just a mistake.
__________________
You shall name him "Link".
RancidLunchmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Jul-2008, 18:08   #108
DrJay24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Internet
Posts: 2,462
Default

These stores should try a new system that uses a "computer" and has SKU tracking along with prices. Bubba's Electronics isn't going to be around soon if they are selling the 60GB under cost.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ibw7o8BOY8E

You tube of someone reading the box of the 60GB they bought. Sounds like a normal 20GB with a different HD.

Last edited by DrJay24; 31-Jul-2008 at 23:50.
DrJay24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 02:32   #109
RancidLunchmeat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJay24 View Post
These stores should try a new system that uses a "computer" and has SKU tracking along with prices. Bubba's Electronics isn't going to be around soon if they are selling the 60GB under cost.
Actually the reports are from national chains. Apparently there is a sku problem that is probably related to the release strategy of the 60s. There was no release date for them, stores were able to sell them as soon as they received the inventory that's why there were reports of people buying them 'early'. The stores must have received the new Pros under the same sku as the old Pros, and therefore sold them at the newly reduced cost.

It doesn't seem to be a widespread issue, so it's probably just the fault of some individual shipping/receiving clerks at particular stores.

Quote:
You tube of someone reading the box of the 60GB they bought. Sounds like a normal 20GB with a different HD.
I'm sorry.. did you expect something different? I was never under the impression there would be any difference between the old Pros and the new Pros other than the increased HDD. Were you?
__________________
You shall name him "Link".
RancidLunchmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 03:10   #110
eastmen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RancidLunchmeat View Post
Where did you get this piece of information I find extremely difficult to believe is accurate?

Something I've found more believable is that stores are having some difficulty pricing the new 60gig bundles. Apparently some have been able to purchase the 60's at the new 20 price of $299, while others are being charged $349.

Clearly, I think the confusion is with the retail stores themselves. The price of the 60s is supposed to be $349, but perhaps if the stores already have the 20s cleared out they've already adjusted the price of the 60s?

Unlikely, probably just a mistake.
its on other forums. A gamestop employee posted it.

Anyway i bought a 60 gig tonight , going to open it tommorow and i will take pictures and post it
eastmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 03:40   #111
RancidLunchmeat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eastmen View Post
its on other forums. A gamestop employee posted it.
What's on other forums? That people bought boxes labeled 60gig and when they turned on their 360 it only had a 20gig HDD in it? Because that's what you said.

And if you don't have proof of ridiculous rumors such as that, you shouldn't spread them. The reason it's ridiculous is because if the packaging doesn't match the product, it's easily returnable and refundable.

It really appears like you're trying to say that people are being ripped off by purchasing units designated as 60gig and only getting the older 20gig units. You should have firm, factual evidence before you involve yourself in spreading such clear nonsense.

Quote:
Anyway i bought a 60 gig tonight , going to open it tommorow and i will take pictures and post it
Take pictures of what? Post them why? Why would anybody care? We've all seen enough pictures of what the 360 Pro model looks like. So you have a 60gig HDD instead of a 20gig HDD. Riiiight. The point is... ?

Do we need to have pictures every time Sony changes the HDD size in the PS3?

No, we don't.

Is there some rumor that something else has changed in this models that I'm unaware of? This isn't like the HDMI port issue. It's just a HDD increase. Who cares? Why are pictures or Youtube video required?

Am I missing something?
__________________
You shall name him "Link".
RancidLunchmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 03:51   #112
eastmen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,242
Default

no no . sorry thats not whats going on .

When you look at the 60 gig box. It has a large sticker on the right. On the left it gives all the information about whats inside the box . however some of them say 20 gig on the left. They are basicly using the older boxes for the 20 gigs with the 60 gig units. The people get a 60 gig drive in it though

Sorry if I wasn't clear


As for pictures , I was going to post the info sticker with the wattage and production date . They no longer print that information on the box so if they do change over to jasper we can figure out a date of them they do that so people can buy the right ones. thats what everyone is waiting on .
eastmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 06:30   #113
RancidLunchmeat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,072
Default

Uh... Ok. Well, thanks for clearing that up.

I didn't actually know that anybody was really 'waiting' for the jasper chipset. Its not as though the past incarnations have had any problems.

I would agree that if there is a new chipset revision with 60 gig model that would be worthy of pictures, but that isn't what has ever been claimed or even assumed, which is why I was so surprised as to why this would even be an issue.

The 60 gig model made no promises or even guesses that it would have a different tech foundation than the 20 gig models that preceded it. The only difference to consumers is supposed to be the capacity of the HDD, and that appears to actually be the only difference.

The fact that they are re-packaging 20 gig Pros with 60 gig stickers should only demonstrate that the stickers out-weigh the packaging. Just like purchasing a software product that has a GAME OF THE YEAR sticker on it that means it includes the latest patches or newest maps.

Completely a non-issue, and that's not what it seemed like you were originally inferring.
__________________
You shall name him "Link".
RancidLunchmeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 15:21   #114
eastmen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,242
Default

not really , its been heavely rumored that in august jaspers would start leaving the factors . They recieved 65nm gpus in june . So really at any time now jaspers could start making their way to shelves.

As for it being a non issue on the packaging , it apears that the ones that say 20 gigs on them are the older systems . They have june dates on them
eastmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 15:37   #115
DrJay24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Internet
Posts: 2,462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RancidLunchmeat View Post

I'm sorry.. did you expect something different? I was never under the impression there would be any difference between the old Pros and the new Pros other than the increased HDD. Were you?
Did you miss the talk about a smaller power brick and lower package weight?
DrJay24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 16:24   #116
AzBat
Agent of the Bat
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Alma, AR
Posts: 4,471
Default

I'm really interested in the Jasper system. I'm in the process of upgrading from my non-HDMI Premium system to the Elite for the 120gb, black color and HDMI port. Having the Jasper motherboard would go along way to allay my fears of RROD. I've been really fortunate that I haven't experienced it with my July 2006 mfg console. I'd like to keep it that way. Maybe we'll get some news in the month or so because I can't hold out much longer. LOL

Tommy McClain
AzBat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 17:29   #117
eastmen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,242
Default

AZBat if you go on neogaf there is a thread where a guy has been keeping track of all the rrod 360s and what type they are.

The falcons are pretty good , he wagers they are in line with other ce devices .

I notice on this 60 gig and i believe its the same with all falcons they have 2 fans now on it instead of the small 3 fan set up. Its much nicer imo
eastmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 17:56   #118
eastmen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,242
Default

Quote:
Early Sept price reduction on X360 hardware:
Arcade (no hard drive) to $199
Pro (60GB) to $299
Elite (120GB) to $399

We should also expect hardware and game bundles for all hardware versions coming in the fourth quarter, just in time for the holidays.

In addition, the mole revealed that the upcoming release of Forza 2 Platinum Hits will include all the DLC tracks that were made for the title, which is a good way to add value to the game.

The last time the mole talked to me, before he became a super-villain, he told me the 60GB model of the hardware was coming, and he was right on the money with that one. Those prices should be considered rumors, but I'd be very surprised if this wasn't accurate information. Very sexy pricing.

http://arstechnica.com/journals/thum...e-in-september


Dunno if its true , but the arcade at $200 would be an amazing holiday deal. It has no hardrive but you get a 256 meg card and some arcade games. If they choose later on to get a hardrive the 60 gig is only $100 bucks but comes with 3 months of xbox live and some other stuff.
eastmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 18:43   #119
silhouette
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eastmen View Post
http://arstechnica.com/journals/thum...e-in-september


Dunno if its true , but the arcade at $200 would be an amazing holiday deal. It has no hardrive but you get a 256 meg card and some arcade games. If they choose later on to get a hardrive the 60 gig is only $100 bucks but comes with 3 months of xbox live and some other stuff.
Elite looks like extremely expensive with this pricing (unless they include something else like wifi module with it). I got the 120 gig drive at 140$ a few months ago. Arcade + hard-drive costs less than Elite itself with this.

Btw, this puts arcade cheaper than Wii
__________________
I also speak for myself and only for myself...
silhouette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 18:54   #120
eastmen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,242
Default

not really

elite is $400 here To get the arcade up to the elite you need


arcade unit + 120 gig hardrive (150 is offical price)

So your at $350 . Then you need a high def cable of some sort , component costs $40 i believe and hdmi varies but i'm sure its around $40 for one in a best buy. Then you need a head set which is $15. Your also still missing a wireless controller .
eastmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 19:54   #121
Zassk
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 459
Default

Arcade includes a wireless controller.

This pricing makes sense though - since it was leaked that MS is going to offer an $100 "upgrade pack" for Arcade owners this fall, which will contain the 60GB HDD + headset + something else I've forgotten.
Zassk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Aug-2008, 19:58   #122
AlphaWolf
Specious Misanthrope
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Treading Water
Posts: 8,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eastmen View Post
not really

elite is $400 here To get the arcade up to the elite you need


arcade unit + 120 gig hardrive (150 is offical price)

So your at $350 . Then you need a high def cable of some sort , component costs $40 i believe and hdmi varies but i'm sure its around $40 for one in a best buy. Then you need a head set which is $15. Your also still missing a wireless controller .
You don't need to pay $15 for a headset, I paid $6 for a knockoff, but ya if you want the HDMI cable (and dongle) and wireless controllers its still worthwhile.
AlphaWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Aug-2008, 00:05   #123
eastmen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6,242
Default

I was going with ms pricing as that is how ms thinks when they price things.


The elite is a godo value as you get everything in the box and don't have to shop around for it of course it isn't a better value than the arcade , but perhaps the elite is going to be tweaked soon
eastmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Aug-2008, 00:23   #124
Rangers
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zassk View Post
Arcade includes a wireless controller.

This pricing makes sense though - since it was leaked that MS is going to offer an $100 "upgrade pack" for Arcade owners this fall, which will contain the 60GB HDD + headset + something else I've forgotten.
Three months free Live card.

Yeah Elite is tenuous at this price point, while the Arcade becomes relatively more attractive. I think the 120Gb HDD currently retails at $180 though. There was the (almost certain to be true) rumor of the 60GB HDD for $100 and 120GB dropping to $149, but that wasn't supposed to happen until October.

I really think Arcade could take off at this 199 point. It might become really attractive to casuals and people who didnt think they could afford a 360. It also speak interestingly to MS hardware costs, that apparently 199 is at least break even on the 360 minus a hard drive. Something I'd always wondered about, since you see video cards with as much silicon and RAM as 360 contains on board for close to $100-$200 nowdays (say, the 9600GT, 8800GT, 3850, not even to mention 4850/70 etc).
Rangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Aug-2008, 04:12   #125
thambos
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silhouette View Post
Elite looks like extremely expensive with this pricing (unless they include something else like wifi module with it). I got the 120 gig drive at 140$ a few months ago. Arcade + hard-drive costs less than Elite itself with this.

Btw, this puts arcade cheaper than Wii
the main selling point of the elite (besides the matte black color & large HDD/moniker) is the inclusion of the optical RCA audio adapter for those old receivers which dont have HDMI. I ended up having to buy this since my pro didnt come w/ it & my Pioneer Elite is a little older but it was top of the line when it was new, no need to replace it.
thambos is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.