Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

 
Old 01-Mar-2008, 20:40   #226
edepot
Naughty Boy!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 52
Default

It is difficult without pictures to show

Can you take a pic? Up close of the inside texture of a sign or flag, but
including the long pole is it hanging on (preferably at a very slight angle in game).

Also, take a pic of the powerline in gthd and prologue.

I think it is easier if there were pics for comparison.

Perhaps a close pic of the "planet glow" too.

I understand that you are looking at a line to examine pixel resolution,
but there is way to test if textures exceed the normal pixel resolution...
see if patterns like: xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox exists instead of xoxoxxoxoxooxoxoxxooo
edepot is offline  
Old 01-Mar-2008, 20:47   #227
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

I believe that you are mistaken
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 01-Mar-2008, 22:47   #228
Hazuki Ryu
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 373
Default

Can anyone tell me the native resolution of soul caliber here http://ui05.gamespot.com/2212/soulcaliburonchankast.jpg

the game is running on chankast (dreamcast emulator) i set it to 1280x1024 then i made the window smaller to fit my 1440x900 monitor I'm wondering if the native resolution of the game is altered to me it looks like it is it definitely looks great though shadows are missing

Last edited by Hazuki Ryu; 01-Mar-2008 at 22:59.
Hazuki Ryu is offline  
Old 01-Mar-2008, 23:01   #229
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazuki Ryu View Post
Can anyone tell me the native resolution of soul caliber here http://ui05.gamespot.com/2212/soulcaliburonchankast.jpg

the game is running on chankast (dreamcast emulator) i set it to 1280x1024 then i made the window smaller to fit my 1440x900 monitor I'm wondering if the native resolution of the game is altered to me it looks like it is it definitely looks great though shadows are missing
native resolution seem 1280x1024
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 01-Mar-2008, 23:10   #230
Hazuki Ryu
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 373
Default

Thanks quaz thats good "news" it really didnt look like 640x480 to me but always better to check if you want to see better i can send you a bmp without resizing.
Hazuki Ryu is offline  
Old 02-Mar-2008, 00:03   #231
Shifty Geezer
uber-Troll!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under my bridge
Posts: 30,364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edepot View Post
I understand that you are looking at a line to examine pixel resolution,
but there is way to test if textures exceed the normal pixel resolution...
That only works if the texture is at 1:1 mapping with the render buffer. Because textures are being scaled all the time, you've no way to test whether the texture you're seeing is being scaled by being on a lower resolution buffer or through texture scaling. With anamorphic scalings and regular textures you may be able in some cases to determine different scaling amounts in different directions, but i doubt there'd be much accuracy obtainable in texture-resolution analysis.
__________________
Shifty Geezer
...
Flashing Samsung mobile firmwares. Know anything about this? Then please advise me at -
http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?p=1862910
Shifty Geezer is offline  
Old 04-Mar-2008, 23:47   #232
JPT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 1,375
Default

Next SOCOM game

http://blog.us.playstation.com/2008/...ation-screens/

The original pictures are hosted at

http://www.flickr.com/photos/playsta...48861/sizes/o/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/playsta...44397/sizes/o/

Can these be of use to determine resolution?
JPT is offline  
Old 05-Mar-2008, 00:03   #233
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,177
Default

Looks like 720p 2xMSAA, 0xAF, although the railings in the first screenshot are doing teh funneh.

(Mind you, I wouldn't say anything is final until the game is released and we get some capture data)
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯□)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline  
Old 06-Mar-2008, 19:05   #234
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Echochrome PS3 : 1920x1080 AAx2
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 06-Mar-2008, 19:09   #235
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
Echochrome PS3 : 1920x1080 AAx2
One should hope that this of all games would be 1080p.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯□)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline  
Old 06-Mar-2008, 21:23   #236
RadioFr33Europe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlStrong View Post
One should hope that this of all games would be 1080p.
You'd be surprised. Plenty of the little non-intensive games on the PSN haven't been 1080p.

Operation Creature Feature
AquaVita / Auquatopia
Eye Create
Lemmings
Toy Home
Trials of Topoq

Those games (at least) don't support more than 720p.
RadioFr33Europe is offline  
Old 06-Mar-2008, 21:28   #237
deepbrown
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlStrong View Post
One should hope that this of all games would be 1080p.
Youd hope it'd be 4xAA as well
deepbrown is offline  
Old 06-Mar-2008, 21:40   #238
Shifty Geezer
uber-Troll!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under my bridge
Posts: 30,364
Default

It should be better than that! They should use a proper line-drawing algo' for 'perfect' AA. They could have given it a bit of artistry too, creating a hand-drawn look or something. I think the game is too minimalist!
__________________
Shifty Geezer
...
Flashing Samsung mobile firmwares. Know anything about this? Then please advise me at -
http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?p=1862910
Shifty Geezer is offline  
Old 06-Mar-2008, 23:47   #239
Arwin
Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Maastricht, The Netherlands
Posts: 14,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shifty Geezer View Post
It should be better than that! They should use a proper line-drawing algo' for 'perfect' AA. They could have given it a bit of artistry too, creating a hand-drawn look or something. I think the game is too minimalist!
Agreed. But in lieu of that, it probably shares a LOT of code with the PSP version.
Arwin is offline  
Old 07-Mar-2008, 14:42   #240
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioFr33Europe View Post
You'd be surprised. Plenty of the little non-intensive games on the PSN haven't been 1080p.

Operation Creature Feature
AquaVita / Auquatopia
Eye Create
Lemmings
Toy Home
Trials of Topoq

Those games (at least) don't support more than 720p.
Yes and more than that, and all the XBL games too, it's too bad!
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 07-Mar-2008, 14:46   #241
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlStrong View Post
MLB08: The Show = 1190x640 (2xAA, centered on 720p output)

it's wrong now
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 07-Mar-2008, 14:59   #242
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
it's wrong now
I didn't get the memo. What is it


blah.... XBLA/PSN games should be mandated to run at stupendously large framebuffers with maximum hardware-supported AA..... and then downscaled of course. (unless the game is 2D)

Surely, none of the games is taking up more than 400MB in memory at a given time?
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯□)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline  
Old 07-Mar-2008, 15:11   #243
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlStrong View Post
I didn't get the memo. What is it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
indeed you can adjust display size and the game is true 1280x720p native resolution when you put in Full screen mode
in the setting you can decrease the display size to ~1024x576 but it isn't 720p downscale in 576p (that would improve IQ), it's really 576p rendering resolution (zero profit, or perhaps more stable framerate) then it's important to adjust setting for gamer with TV without overscan like me and put the game in Full screen!

it's 1280x720 AAx2 finally
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 07-Mar-2008, 15:14   #244
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,177
Default

Thanks for the heads up. I missed it as I was skimming.

So the rendered part is adjustable up to the full 720p frame?
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯□)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline  
Old 07-Mar-2008, 15:21   #245
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlStrong View Post
Thanks for the heads up. I missed it as I was skimming.

So the rendered part is adjustable up to the full 720p frame?
the size of the rendering window is adjustable and without rescale trick. the rendering resolution = the window size (and it's between 576p and 720p)
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 07-Mar-2008, 15:44   #246
RadioFr33Europe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
Yes and more than that, and all the XBL games too, it's too bad!
At least the XBOX will upscale.
RadioFr33Europe is offline  
Old 07-Mar-2008, 15:49   #247
deepbrown
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioFr33Europe View Post
At least the XBOX will upscale.
Do they still sell those?
deepbrown is offline  
Old 07-Mar-2008, 15:54   #248
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,177
Default

*cough*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Third Post of the Thread
Where comparisons may be made with multiplatform titles, please refrain from off-handed remarks and one-liners that do not add to this technology forum.
That also includes <Insert Company Name> Defense Forces!
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯□)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline  
Old 07-Mar-2008, 15:55   #249
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioFr33Europe View Post
At least the XBOX will upscale.

and my TV too...
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 08-Mar-2008, 04:31   #250
Darkon
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkon View Post
How about F1 CE ?
So anything on F1 yet.
Darkon is offline  

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.