Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
Old 02-Dec-2007, 11:26   #1
Shifty Geezer
uber-Troll!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under my bridge
Posts: 29,831
Default Anyone used a USB hub + card reader on PS3?

Had a friend asking about the SKU differences. He can't find a 60GB SKU anywhere in the UK so we were trying to pin down if the differences are worth worrying about. Has anyone tried using a USB hub to access devices on a PS3? Or a standard card reader and if the XMB can access media through that directly? As he has both already, if these things work automagically then apart from the lack of games bundled, the 40GB would be a suitable purchase.
__________________
Shifty Geezer
...

Tolerance for internet moronism is exhausted. Anyone talking about people's attitudes in the Console fora, rather than games and technology, will feel my wrath. Read the FAQ to remind yourself how to behave and avoid unsightly incidents.
Shifty Geezer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Dec-2007, 11:38   #2
manux
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA, CA
Posts: 901
Default

I have tried sandisk imagemate 6-in-1 usb card reader in ps3 and it did work.
manux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Dec-2007, 12:48   #3
Arwin
Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Maastricht, The Netherlands
Posts: 14,852
Default

I also tried an el-cheapo 11-in-1 reader (my wife has an xD type memory card which is rarely supported directly), and that did work fine too. Most of these cards just seem to offer the contents of the Memory stick as a standard type storage medium USB connection, which should basically always work.

I haven't tried a HUB yet, but I have some lying around so I could give it a try. I'd put money on that working without any issues though. I think for instance the Rockband peripherals work that way, and Buzz may well internally too (on the PS2).
Arwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Dec-2007, 13:57   #4
Shifty Geezer
uber-Troll!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under my bridge
Posts: 29,831
Default

If you can demonstrate a hub and a card reader and other USB devices in that all working fine, I'd be mightily pleased!
__________________
Shifty Geezer
...

Tolerance for internet moronism is exhausted. Anyone talking about people's attitudes in the Console fora, rather than games and technology, will feel my wrath. Read the FAQ to remind yourself how to behave and avoid unsightly incidents.
Shifty Geezer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Dec-2007, 14:50   #5
infinity4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,235
Default

I can't think of a reason why it wouldn't work.
I never heard of a device not working.
infinity4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Dec-2007, 18:15   #6
cthellis42
Hoopy Frood
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Out of my gourd
Posts: 5,890
Send a message via ICQ to cthellis42 Send a message via AIM to cthellis42 Send a message via Skype™ to cthellis42
Default

A friend of mine has a random D-Link USB hub plugged in, and everything works through it fine. He has a 60GB, so doesn't need to plug in a card reader, but I can't see any reason why it wouldn't work unless it was produced by Joe's Grill, Garage, and Card Reader Manufacturing. (Heck, maybe not even then. )

It's read off digital cameras and iPods (if you have "disk usage") and external HDD's just fine, so...
__________________
Everyone is someone else's weirdo.
cthellis42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-Dec-2007, 03:53   #7
Gradthrawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shifty Geezer View Post
Had a friend asking about the SKU differences. He can't find a 60GB SKU anywhere in the UK so we were trying to pin down if the differences are worth worrying about. Has anyone tried using a USB hub to access devices on a PS3? Or a standard card reader and if the XMB can access media through that directly? As he has both already, if these things work automagically then apart from the lack of games bundled, the 40GB would be a suitable purchase.
I have to tell you, those built-in card readers come in handy, and help keep the front looking clean w/o devices dangling.

Conversely, a cooler, 65nm Cell, and reportedly better WiFi/BT adapter are pretty tempting.

I'm surprised he can't find a 60GB unit.
Gradthrawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-Dec-2007, 08:46   #8
Shifty Geezer
uber-Troll!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under my bridge
Posts: 29,831
Default

There just aren't any in the UK at the moment it seems. Well in this part if it! None of the online retailers, including online arms of highstreet stores, have it in stock either. I guess the bundle offer was too tempting and those wanting PS3's for Christmas lapped the 60GB's quick.
__________________
Shifty Geezer
...

Tolerance for internet moronism is exhausted. Anyone talking about people's attitudes in the Console fora, rather than games and technology, will feel my wrath. Read the FAQ to remind yourself how to behave and avoid unsightly incidents.
Shifty Geezer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-Dec-2007, 11:49   #9
Arwin
Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Maastricht, The Netherlands
Posts: 14,852
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shifty Geezer View Post
If you can demonstrate a hub and a card reader and other USB devices in that all working fine, I'd be mightily pleased!
I could, but currently only on a 60Gb console obviously.
Arwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-Dec-2007, 14:04   #10
oramay
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 237
Default

I'd also like to know if an unpowered USB hub connected to PS3 can support 3 things at once: keyboard, mouse (both may be wireless) and card reader. If not, how about only keyboard and mouse?

I want to buy a PS3 with 65nm Cell but the 80GB version feels like taking forever.
oramay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-Dec-2007, 15:51   #11
Fu3lFr3nzy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 843
Default

Speaking of which, has anyone heard of any info about 80GB PS3's going 65nm anytime soon?

Im quite on a PS3 crossroad as the 40GB sounds nice with 65nm Cell making the console much more cooler and less power hungry, but at the same time the lack of two extra USB ports and Card Readers might be something i'll regret later on.

Sure, I can use an external hub, but thats not very good to look at now is it
__________________
Nitrous is like a hot girl with STD's. You know you wanna hit it, but you're afraid of the consequences! - anonymous
Fu3lFr3nzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jul-2008, 11:39   #12
force94
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Sony Playstation 3

ive used 3 different types of card reader with my ps3 (40gb) and they've worked fine
but im not sure about usb hubs
force94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jul-2008, 13:01   #13
Arwin
Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Maastricht, The Netherlands
Posts: 14,852
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fu3lFr3nzy View Post
Speaking of which, has anyone heard of any info about 80GB PS3's going 65nm anytime soon?

Im quite on a PS3 crossroad as the 40GB sounds nice with 65nm Cell making the console much more cooler and less power hungry, but at the same time the lack of two extra USB ports and Card Readers might be something i'll regret later on.
I must say I do like that I have the extra USB ports and the card readers. They aren't really essential but I do use them (meaning I don't have to swap out my EyeToy for instance when I'm using one to recharge and the other with the DFPro wheel plugged in), and they are good - i.e. the card readers seems to work better than most PC card readers (we have two) in reading 4GB discs for instance (which I can't get to work on my wife's Vista machine for instance).

However, I don't see that version become available anytime soon in Europe. Don't know about the U.S., but the European 40GB version is going to become an 80GB edition with otherwise the same feature set, so just the HDD replaced. If it turns out that 80GB version isn't also more energy efficient (though I think it may well be) then maybe I'll use that point in time to pick up a cheap 40GB and upgrade it's HDD. I definitely want a second PS3 for in my office room.
Arwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jul-2008, 13:45   #14
inefficient
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 2,121
Default

I use a card reader. It works exactly as expected, as in perfectly.
inefficient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jul-2008, 20:43   #15
Iron Tiger
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 847
Send a message via ICQ to Iron Tiger Send a message via AIM to Iron Tiger Send a message via MSN to Iron Tiger
Default

I have a 7-port DLink hub and not everything works when connected to it. I can't remember exactly which things are incompatible, but I think my PS Eye was among them.
__________________
Submit to Donimation, Global Donimation.
Iron Tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jul-2008, 21:13   #16
Shifty Geezer
uber-Troll!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under my bridge
Posts: 29,831
Default

Have you tried them in all the ports? Or do some peripherals just not work at all through that USB hub?
__________________
Shifty Geezer
...

Tolerance for internet moronism is exhausted. Anyone talking about people's attitudes in the Console fora, rather than games and technology, will feel my wrath. Read the FAQ to remind yourself how to behave and avoid unsightly incidents.
Shifty Geezer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jul-2008, 21:27   #17
Gradthrawn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,106
Default

And is the hub powered or unpowered?
Gradthrawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Jan-2010, 20:24   #18
dumle29
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default

i have tried a könig 4 port hub and stuff like flash drives and external hdd worked fine, but my GH guitar and logitech GH drums wont work when plugged into the hub. they will however work if they are plugged into a build in hub in a ps3 stand i have
dumle29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Jan-2010, 20:30   #19
Shifty Geezer
uber-Troll!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under my bridge
Posts: 29,831
Default

Thread necromancy! In the end he bought a specific 3 port hub+card reader shaped to fit and it works very well.
__________________
Shifty Geezer
...

Tolerance for internet moronism is exhausted. Anyone talking about people's attitudes in the Console fora, rather than games and technology, will feel my wrath. Read the FAQ to remind yourself how to behave and avoid unsightly incidents.
Shifty Geezer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Jan-2010, 20:41   #20
patsu
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27,472
Default

What is the make and model of that hub ?
__________________
My wife pays up to hundreds of dollars for paintings we just hang on the wall They do nothing, just hang their. Journey is interactive, so it does more than our paintings. Art can be expensive! Get over it!
-- 3rdamention@GAF
patsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Jan-2010, 22:03   #21
Shifty Geezer
uber-Troll!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Under my bridge
Posts: 29,831
Default

http://www.engadget.com/2008/07/02/n...s-multicard-r/
__________________
Shifty Geezer
...

Tolerance for internet moronism is exhausted. Anyone talking about people's attitudes in the Console fora, rather than games and technology, will feel my wrath. Read the FAQ to remind yourself how to behave and avoid unsightly incidents.
Shifty Geezer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Feb-2010, 02:08   #22
patsu
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27,472
Default

Ok cool, I was looking for one for my Home PS3. The cheap, unbranded hub I bought didn't seem to work well with all the peripherals.
__________________
My wife pays up to hundreds of dollars for paintings we just hang on the wall They do nothing, just hang their. Journey is interactive, so it does more than our paintings. Art can be expensive! Get over it!
-- 3rdamention@GAF
patsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-Feb-2010, 04:12   #23
DrJay24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Internet
Posts: 2,398
Default

I have two unpowered hubs on my PS3, one has a card reader which I keep a 4GB SD card in for backps.
DrJay24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Feb-2010, 12:09   #24
JPREBEL3
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Ps3 usb 7.1 soundcard/ps3 tech.

Mod: Question deleted because you're rude and obnoxious. If you want to try again with a little civility, please feel welcome.

Last edited by Shifty Geezer; 18-Feb-2010 at 12:12. Reason: No need for shouting!
JPREBEL3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Feb-2010, 12:14   #25
JPREBEL3
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Ps3 usb 7.1 soundcard/ps3 tech.

Mod edit: There's no need to shout, and show a little patience.
JPREBEL3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.