Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

 
Old 29-Sep-2007, 21:47   #451
Arwin
Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Maastricht, The Netherlands
Posts: 14,968
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
other observation, the XMB is in true 1080p (in 720p too, it's 1080p downscaled in 720p) but Dashboard is in 720p and upscaled for 1080p output
Yes, that doesn't really surprise me. Having the two next to each other now it seems very clear that the 360's UI isn't 100% designed to be scaleable. Hopefully that changes some day. It's not bad, but it's too cluttered and full now, so I wouldn't be surprised if they do something about it at some point.
Arwin is offline  
Old 29-Sep-2007, 21:55   #452
Strange
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere out there
Posts: 1,254
Send a message via MSN to Strange
Default

Quote:
Yes, that doesn't really surprise me. Having the two next to each other now it seems very clear that the 360's UI isn't 100% designed to be scaleable. Hopefully that changes some day. It's not bad, but it's too cluttered and full now, so I wouldn't be surprised if they do something about it at some point.
I don't expect that to happen, as this might (I did say might) end up in more RAM to be taken. The current RAM limit might not allow that to happen.
Strange is offline  
Old 29-Sep-2007, 22:08   #453
_phil_
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post

other observation, the XMB is in true 1080p (in 720p too, it's 1080p downscaled in 720p) but Dashboard is in 720p and upscaled for 1080p output
and FP16 for a clean wave gradient
_phil_ is offline  
Old 29-Sep-2007, 22:16   #454
Arwin
Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Maastricht, The Netherlands
Posts: 14,968
Default

Here's a very quick and dirty rundown of Quaz51's posts here, though I have only taken the highest render resolution, where sometimes he has indicated the different levels of AA and such for different resolutions.

However, since Quaz51 has checked many more games than this, he may have a far better list somewhere himself. Also, he hasn't always clearly indicated where he used the demo, though probably most of the times there isn't going to be a difference between the demo and the final game, I assume.

Full Auto 2: 1920x1080 AA 4x, bad framerate - PS3
NBA Street: 1920x1080 AA 4x (30-60fps) - 360
LocoRoco Cocoreccho 1920x1080 MSAA 2x -PS3
Tony Hawk Project 8: 1040x584 AA - 360
Tony Hawk Project 8: 1280x720 - PS3
Virtua Tennis 3: 1920x1080 AA 2x - PS3, 360
XMB: 1920x1080p - PS3
Dashboard: 1280x720p - 360
Perfect Dark Zero: 1138x640p - 360
Halo 3: 1152x640p - 360
Call of Duty 3: 1120x630p 360
Ninja Gaiden Sigma: 1280x720p PS3
Project Gotham Racing 3: 1024x600 360
Tomb Raider: 1024x600 360
Ridge Racer 7:
NBA 07: 1920x1080 - PS3
NBA 08: 1920x1080 - PS3
Tony Hawk Proving Ground: 600p - PS3
Tony Hawk Proving Ground: 720p - 360
GRAW2: 720p - PS3
GRAW2: 720p AA 2x - 360
Super Rub a Dub: 1600x1080 - PS3
GTHD: 1440x1080 - PS3
Super Stardust HD: 1280x1080 - PS3
Skate: 1536x864 - PS3
Skate: 1280x720 AA - 360
Bioshock: 1280x720 - 360
Harry Potter: 1280x720 MSAA 2x PS3 ?
Pixel Junk Racers: 1920x1080 PS3
Heavenly Sword: 1280x720 AA 4x PS3
Blast Factor Demo: 1920x1080 PS3
The Darkness Demo: 1024x576 PS3
Arwin is offline  
Old 29-Sep-2007, 22:50   #455
thambos
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl B View Post
What you're suggesting will either be created in due time... or, well, it won't. But as far as every game of this gen worthy of note on the subject, they are already mentioned in this thread if you look for them, by Quaz and others.

People the thread is 18 pages long, 11 pages of it which precede the recent attention. Before asking for people to do more work to make your life easier, how about doing a minimum of work and at least reading and/or searching the thread to see if what you want to know has already been covered?
I didn't mean to give the impression I was ungrateful of the work people in this thread have done, or that I was above reading all 18 pages. I was just wondering if anybody had already compiled a list.
thambos is offline  
Old 29-Sep-2007, 22:52   #456
thambos
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 194
Default

Much thanks Arwin

(sorry for not using the multi-quote. I'm new to this forum and still getting acquainted w/ it. I would edit my previous post but i cant seem to locate that function.)
thambos is offline  
Old 29-Sep-2007, 23:02   #457
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arwin View Post
Here's a very quick and dirty rundown of Quaz51's posts here, though I have only taken the highest render resolution, where sometimes he has indicated the different levels of AA and such for different resolutions.

However, since Quaz51 has checked many more games than this, he may have a far better list somewhere himself. Also, he hasn't always clearly indicated where he used the demo, though probably most of the times there isn't going to be a difference between the demo and the final game, I assume.

Full Auto 2: 1920x1080 AA 4x, bad framerate - PS3
NBA Street: 1920x1080 AA 4x (30-60fps) - 360
LocoRoco Cocoreccho 1920x1080 MSAA 2x -PS3
Tony Hawk Project 8: 1040x584 AA - 360
Tony Hawk Project 8: 1280x720 - PS3
Virtua Tennis 3: 1920x1080 AA 2x - PS3, 360
XMB: 1920x1080p - PS3
Dashboard: 1280x720p - 360
Perfect Dark Zero: 1138x640p - 360
Halo 3: 1138x640p - 360
Call of Duty 3: 1120x630p 360
Ninja Gaiden Sigma: 1280x720p PS3
Project Gotham Racing 3: 1024x600 360
Tomb Raider: 1024x600 360
Ridge Racer 7:
NBA 07: 1920x1080 - PS3
NBA 08: 1920x1080 - PS3
Tony Hawk Proving Ground: 600p - PS3
Tony Hawk Proving Ground: 720p - 360
GRAW2: 720p - PS3
GRAW2: 720p AA 2x - 360
Super Rub a Dub: 1600x1080 - PS3
GTHD: 1440x1080 - PS3
Super Stardust HD: 1280x1080 - PS3
Skate: 1536x864 - PS3
Skate: 1280x720 AA - 360
Bioshock: 1280x720 - 360
Harry Potter: 1280x720 MSAA 2x PS3 ?
Pixel Junk Racers: 1920x1080 PS3
Heavenly Sword: 1280x720 AA 4x PS3
Blast Factor Demo: 1920x1080 PS3
The Darkness Demo: 1024x576 PS3
little correction

Halo3 is 1152x640 not 1138x640 (and the photo mode is 8064x4448 in a 7x7 tile grid downscaled in 1920x1080 ) and probably perfect dark too (1152 is anamorphique but is a more simple upscale ratio than 1138, apparently devs prefer to choose simple upscale ratio than isomorphic resolution)

Tony Hawk Project 8 X360 is rather 1040x585 not 584 (1040x585 is perfect 1:1 pixel with relative simple upscale ratio, 13/16 , and fill perfectely the EDRAM with AA 2x, the 1024x600 buffer of PGR3 and Tomb raider fill perfectly the EDRAM too with more simple upscale ratio, 4/5 and 5/6, but is anamorphic, the two solution is good )

RR7 PS3 is 1920x1080 (no AA)
and a last strange resolution... RR6 X360 is 1440x810 (good for fill the EDRAM without AA)

and i see a framebuffer grab of tekken 5 HD with native 1920x1080 without AA, Calling All Cars too but without other confirmation

Last edited by Quaz51; 29-Sep-2007 at 23:28.
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 29-Sep-2007, 23:26   #458
Dave Glue
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
Halo3 is 1152x640 not 1138x640 (and the photo mode is 8064x4448 in a 7x7 tile grid downscaled in 1920x1080 )
!!

Well, that explains why the filtering also seems to be improved, as I suspected - at that ridiculously high a resolution, there's a lot more room for the mip filter. It's patently obvious when you look at the pics vs. playing the game, although some still insist all the photomode is doing is "adding a little AA" - uh, yeah. Downscaling from that massive of a resolution gets rid of a lot of graphical artifacts, far more than just adding 4X AA.

Thanks for your work in this Quaz.
Dave Glue is offline  
Old 29-Sep-2007, 23:33   #459
Bohdy
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
(and the photo mode is 8064x4448 in a 7x7 tile grid downscaled in 1920x1080 )
I'm curious about how you discovered this?
Bohdy is offline  
Old 29-Sep-2007, 23:56   #460
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bohdy View Post
I'm curious about how you discovered this?
i explain in french, sorry, it's very difficult for me to write long sentence in english, if somebody can translate...

quand on utilise le photo mode et qu'on fait une capture d'ecran on voit se construire l'image sur l'ecran, on voit une succession de 49 tiles (grace au mode pause sur ma TV j'ai pu les identifier et les quantifier) qui s'affiche les uns apres les autres de gauche a droite et de haut en bas (et forme une grille de 7x7 tiles) chacun de ces tiles n'est surement rien d'autre qu'un rendu in-game de 1152x640 qui est ensuite downscalé pour construire l'image final par accumulation des 49 frames
dailleurs en theorie on doit pouvoir deduire que le rendering de la capture d'ecran doit prendre moins de 1.5 seconde (a 30fps chaque frame prend moins de 33ms et y a 49 frames a produire pour generer la photo final )

Last edited by Quaz51; 30-Sep-2007 at 01:10.
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 00:14   #461
[maven]
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: DE
Posts: 645
Send a message via MSN to [maven]
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
and Locoroco Cocoreccho PS3 is 1920x1080 MSAA 2x and Pixel Junk Racers is true 1080 too (ok it's mini game )
i tested some mini-game on XBL and i never found it on 1080p and you?
I think I remember the Settlers of Catan game looking a bit better in 1080p than 720p but that may be my memory or imagination playing tricks on me.
[maven] is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 00:34   #462
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [maven] View Post
I think I remember the Settlers of Catan game looking a bit better in 1080p than 720p but that may be my memory or imagination playing tricks on me.

I DL and checked and it's not 1080p
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 00:40   #463
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

but Go Puzzle and Sudoku PS3 is apparently 1080p
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 00:46   #464
sionyboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Skate: 1536x864 - PS3
Skate: 1280x720 AA - 360
How come the higher resolution on the PS3 version? Is it likely that rendering at a higher resolution was a 'cheaper' way to eliminate jaggies than using an AA option?
sionyboy is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 01:02   #465
djskribbles
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,831
Default

i was wondering why they used a higher resolution with no AA. i said earlier in this thread that i would have preferred a lower resolution with AA.
djskribbles is online now  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 01:26   #466
scooby_dooby
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: E-town, Alberta
Posts: 8,534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Glue View Post
Which has absolutely nothing to do with the users of this forum who are discussing this rationally (mostly) and peacefully. No one here is hyping this issue, place the blame where it belongs.
I'm not placing blame anywhere, I'm accurately describing the situtuation.

Quote:
They only "disclosed" it because it was proven here, and people started to ask questions. It Quaz had never revealed the true resolution, I doubt Bungie would have either.
True, a bit shady.

Quote:
Perhaps it is - because it's easy to sensationalize the aspect that Bungie "decieved" the public - which, by and large, they did.

It's certainly not a huge issue in the end, but I beleive Bungie's approach to this is largely responsible for any media hype, not to mention the dismissive and emotional response they gave when the evidence was out there.
Or perhaps it's due to rabid fanboys, that would run with the issue regardless of bungie's honesty, and huge page hits sites get for any Halo 3 related info. I think that's a little more realistic.
scooby_dooby is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 01:41   #467
Pete
Moderate Nuisance
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,683
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
i explain in french, sorry, it's very difficult for me to write long sentence in english, if somebody can translate...

quand on utilise le photo mode et qu'on fait une capture d'ecran on voit se construire l'image sur l'ecran, on voit une succession de 49 tiles (grace au mode pause sur ma TV j'ai pu les identifier et les quantifier) qui s'affiche les uns apres les autres de gauche a droite et de haut en bas (et forme une grille de 7x7 tiles) chacun de ces tiles n'est surement rien d'autre qu'un rendu in-game de 1152x640 qui est ensuite downscalé pour construire l'image final par accumulation des 49 frames
dailleurs en theorie on doit pouvoir deduire que le rendering de la capture d'ecran doit prendre moins de 1.5 seconde (a 30fps chaque frame prend moins de 33ms et y a 49 frames a produire pour generer la photo final )
It's way too easy for you to write long sentences in French.

"When one uses photo mode and one takes a screenshot one sees the image constructed on the screen, one sees a succession of 49 tiles (courtesy of pause mode on my TV I was able to identify and quantify them) which attaches [?] one after another from left to right and top to bottom (and form a grid of 7x7 tiles) each of these tiles is surely nothing other than an in-game render at 1152x640 which is then downscaled to construct the final image by accumulation of 49 frames.

Therefore [?] in theory one could deduct that the screenshot rendering ought to take less than 1.5 seconds (at 30fps each frame takes less than 33ms and there are 49 frames to make the final photo)."
Pete is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 06:03   #468
patsu
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27,504
Default

This thread should be a "hall-of-fame" material right ?

I mean besides understanding where we are today in terms of graphical performance, we also get to learn French in this thread. It doesn't get better than that.

Quaz51, have you looked at Resistance and MotorStorm ?

Last edited by patsu; 30-Sep-2007 at 06:30.
patsu is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 09:07   #469
Rufus
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214
Default

Just saw the confirmation from bungie. Anyone have an explanation of why you would need 2 framebuffers for HDR rendering?
Rufus is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 09:10   #470
almighty
Naughty Boy!
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
And we have confirmation from bungie. Anyone have an explanation of why you would need 2 framebuffers for HDR rendering?
All ready been posted in the "Halo IQ" thread in the "console games" section.
almighty is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 09:13   #471
_phil_
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,659
Default

if think resistance is a bit less than 720 vertically.712 or something.
_phil_ is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 09:28   #472
almighty
Naughty Boy!
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,469
Default

What about the ratchet and clank demo?
almighty is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 11:50   #473
lowlight
Registered
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Hey Quaz, I am doing a writeup about resolution in current-gen games on my blog (I actually started researching this just before the whole Halo 3 fiasco occured).

I am building a short list of some multi-platform games, comparing their resolutions on each console. Have you tested other games that you have not mentioned here? Do you know of any other resources I could look? I have tried checking out screenshots on IGN (they post full-res frame buffer grabs), but they mix the 360 and PS3 screenshots up on multiplatform games.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!
lowlight is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 12:00   #474
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by patsu View Post
This thread should be a "hall-of-fame" material right ?

I mean besides understanding where we are today in terms of graphical performance, we also get to learn French in this thread. It doesn't get better than that.

Quaz51, have you looked at Resistance and MotorStorm ?
the two are true 1280x720 with MSAA 2x (in motorstorm the AA effect is little decreased because hard contrast and bloom effect, i observed this in several games)

Last edited by Quaz51; 30-Sep-2007 at 12:10.
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 30-Sep-2007, 12:03   #475
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete View Post
It's way too easy for you to write long sentences in French.

thanks
Quaz51 is offline  

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.