Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
Old 28-Nov-2011, 13:54   #1
deeFive
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 219
Send a message via MSN to deeFive
Default New build Xeon E3-1270 vs i7-2600k

Hi all hope that you are all well,

the time has come (or about to come i'm buying in the jan sales) for me to replace my current rig (which will be passed down to my sister). here's an draft overview of the rig i'm looking at:

CPU: two options

1.) i7 2600k

2.) E3 1270

HDD: 1 SSD for o.s. + 2 HDD for media storage

GPU: whatever is the fastest single GPU in jan

Memory: upwards of 16GB

Display: a 27" work monitor + a 120hrz game monitor

MB: not sure yet as i haven't decided on my cpu yet, but i would like Bluetooth support.

anyway my question is has anyone else looked in to the Xeon E3 and do SNB motherboards support xeons?

i also discounted SNB-E as I dont like the idea of having 2 cores (4 threads) disabled , i would of paid the money if they had not crippled them!

if you need any more info please feel to ask any questions!
deeFive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2011, 17:40   #2
homerdog
hardly a Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: still camping with a mauler
Posts: 4,393
Default

Can't see a reason to go with the Xeon over the 2600k. They are basically the same except the 2600k is slightly cheaper, unlocked, and sports a 95W TDP as opposed to the Xeon's 80W, although it is likely they draw about the same amount of power regardless of what the TDP says.

Oh the Xeon supports ECC memory but you don't want that, and the mobos you'd be looking at wouldn't support it anyway.
__________________
Releasing a game in 2010 without AA is a completely foreign concept to me. If the technique you're using makes it impossible to use AA then you're using the wrong techniques. As simple as that. Releasing a PC game without AA options is OK only if that means you can only have it enabled
-Humus
homerdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Nov-2011, 11:30   #3
deeFive
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 219
Send a message via MSN to deeFive
Default

thanks for the response homer but if i said that i could get a e3 1270 for £200 and the cheapest 2600k i saw as £250 (including shipping) would you be swayed toward the xeon?

Also am i correct in thinking that i could use a consumer MB with the xeon?
deeFive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Nov-2011, 14:26   #4
pcchen
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 2,486
Default

In general, yes, but I'd suggest that you check the MB manufacturer's CPU support list.
pcchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 15:33   #5
homerdog
hardly a Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: still camping with a mauler
Posts: 4,393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeFive View Post
thanks for the response homer but if i said that i could get a e3 1270 for £200 and the cheapest 2600k i saw as £250 (including shipping) would you be swayed toward the xeon?
In that case yeah I'd go with the Xeon. Your prices are way different than what I can get on Newegg. Even the 2600k is $20 cheaper than the 1270, and the regular 2600 is $40 cheaper. I assume you don't care much about overclocking?

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeFive View Post
Also am i correct in thinking that i could use a consumer MB with the xeon?
Yes it should, but check into whichever mobo you decide on to be sure there aren't any problems (don't see why there would be but you never know).
__________________
Releasing a game in 2010 without AA is a completely foreign concept to me. If the technique you're using makes it impossible to use AA then you're using the wrong techniques. As simple as that. Releasing a PC game without AA options is OK only if that means you can only have it enabled
-Humus
homerdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-Dec-2011, 03:40   #6
homerdog
hardly a Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: still camping with a mauler
Posts: 4,393
Default

Out of curiosity, what did you decide on? I'd like know your experiences going the Xeon route since I don't know anybody who's done that.
__________________
Releasing a game in 2010 without AA is a completely foreign concept to me. If the technique you're using makes it impossible to use AA then you're using the wrong techniques. As simple as that. Releasing a PC game without AA options is OK only if that means you can only have it enabled
-Humus
homerdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-Apr-2012, 15:49   #7
deeFive
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 219
Send a message via MSN to deeFive
Default

sorry had some family and work stuff to sort, in the process of building a S2011 intel rig, as i need to able to play FM2012 (wan game which always runs, BF3 and compile at the same time! i currently have the motherboard (asus sabertooth x79). hope to finsh it(the rig) beforeborderlands 2 is out so i can give my old rig to my sister!
__________________
www.danveria.com
deeFive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-Apr-2012, 20:59   #8
Albuquerque
Red-headed step child
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Guess ;)
Posts: 3,280
Default

Very, very happy with my S2011 rig; wish you luck on yours!

I used the Intel DX79Si board; no frills, but very happy with the performance (after the 430 firmware flash.) My little 3930k does 4.5Ghz at 1.33v in bios / 1.28v actual on air cooling via the 1.25x strap setting. Wickedly fast
__________________
"...twisting my words"
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ 1/25 View Post
Get some supplies <...> Within the next couple of months, you'll need it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ 6/9 View Post
And riots are about to begin too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_8/5 View Post
food shortages and huge price jumps I predicted recently are becoming very real now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ View Post
If it turns out I was wrong, I'll admit being stupid
Albuquerque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2012, 11:49   #9
Davros
Naughty Boy!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,075
Default

didnt want to start a new thread so is there any method to intel's naming madness and if there is can someone explain it to me ?
__________________
Guardian of the Bodacious Three Terabytes of Gaming Goodness™
Davros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2012, 15:56   #10
Albuquerque
Red-headed step child
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Guess ;)
Posts: 3,280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davros View Post
didnt want to start a new thread so is there any method to intel's naming madness and if there is can someone explain it to me ?
No.

(to both questions )
__________________
"...twisting my words"
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ 1/25 View Post
Get some supplies <...> Within the next couple of months, you'll need it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ 6/9 View Post
And riots are about to begin too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_8/5 View Post
food shortages and huge price jumps I predicted recently are becoming very real now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ View Post
If it turns out I was wrong, I'll admit being stupid
Albuquerque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2012, 16:35   #11
deeFive
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 219
Send a message via MSN to deeFive
Default

Albuquerque is right just go for the highest number you can afford SNB-E starts at 3820, IVB will come in under that.
__________________
www.danveria.com
deeFive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2012, 23:17   #12
Davros
Naughty Boy!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,075
Default

Thats a bad idea as I already have a q6600 why would I want a 3820 ?
__________________
Guardian of the Bodacious Three Terabytes of Gaming Goodness™
Davros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2012, 23:52   #13
Lightman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torquay, UK
Posts: 1,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davros View Post
Thats a bad idea as I already have a q6600 why would I want a 3820 ?
Going by the numbers you might end up with (AMD) FX 8150 which I think you don't want .

But yes, Intel's naming scheme is a mess. On desktop at least you can say i5 are 4 core and i7 are 4 core + HT. Then model numbers starting with 2xxx are Sandy Bridge (32nm) and starting with 3xxx are either Sandy Bridge EP (4-6 core / 32nm) or Ivy Bridge (22nm).
At least price is of some meaning in this mess and higher the price better CPU should be (but not always ).
Lightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2012, 00:07   #14
Davros
Naughty Boy!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,075
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lightman View Post
On desktop at least you can say i5 are 4 core and i7 are 4 core + HT.
The i5 680 begs to differ
__________________
Guardian of the Bodacious Three Terabytes of Gaming Goodness™
Davros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2012, 09:31   #15
Lightman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torquay, UK
Posts: 1,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davros View Post
The i5 680 begs to differ
Ha!
Lightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2012, 16:10   #16
Albuquerque
Red-headed step child
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Guess ;)
Posts: 3,280
Default

Davros, here are the 'general' pieces. None of them hold true across all platforms simultaneously, so you'll want to research the individual offerings to make a good decision.

Typically, the higher the "i" number, the higher the feature count. Common examples:
  • i3 = no turbo, i5 = some turbo, i7 = moAR turbo!
  • i3 = small cache, i5 = larger cache, i7 = EPIC cache!
  • i3 = no AES acceleration, i5 / i7 = AES acceleration!
  • i3 = no HT, i5 = some HT models, i7 = always HT enabled
  • i3 = no VT-D, i5 =some VT-D models, i7 = almost always VT-D models
Then you have the architecture indicators. Examples:
  • i3 / i5 / i7 that has three following digits are the original Nehalem architecture. Examples: i3-370, i5-640, i7-920.
  • i3 / i5 / i7 that have four following digits AND start with the number 2 are Sandy Bridge architecture. Examples: i3-2300, i5-2500, i7-2700.
  • The three i7's that currently exist on socket 2011 are Sandy Bridge "E" platform. Examples: i7-3820, i7-3930k, i7-3960X. To make it more confusing? The first steppings of the 3930k and 3960X were not VT-D enabled, but the second (and presumably later) steppings are. Go figure.
  • i3 / i5 / i7 that have four following digits AND start with the number 3 AND are on socket 1155 platform are Ivy Bridge architecture. Examples: i5-3550k, i7-3770k.

It really sucks, TBH. Your best gaming bet is probably an i5-2500k, or the Ivy Bridge equivalent which I believe will be the i5-3550k. Just like in my other thread, it looks like any more than four cores seems to go to waste for nearly all games, and hyperthreading doesn't appear to to a whole lot for most games either.
__________________
"...twisting my words"
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ 1/25 View Post
Get some supplies <...> Within the next couple of months, you'll need it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ 6/9 View Post
And riots are about to begin too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_8/5 View Post
food shortages and huge price jumps I predicted recently are becoming very real now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ View Post
If it turns out I was wrong, I'll admit being stupid
Albuquerque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2012, 19:15   #17
Davros
Naughty Boy!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,075
Default

Great answer
So what does the "K" mean
__________________
Guardian of the Bodacious Three Terabytes of Gaming Goodness™
Davros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2012, 19:24   #18
pcchen
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 2,486
Default

K means unlocked (overclockable) CPU. However, sometimes CPU with K and without K have other differences, such as Core i7-2600, which has HD Graphics 2000, and Core i7-2600K, with HD Graphics 3000. Also, some "K" CPU do not support TXT, VT-d, and vPro.
pcchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2012, 19:48   #19
Lightman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torquay, UK
Posts: 1,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albuquerque View Post
  • i3 = no HT, i5 = some HT models, i7 = always HT enabled

It's not easy with Intel

Intel® Core™ i3-2120 Processor
(3M Cache, 3.30 GHz)



Status
LaunchedLaunch Date - Q1'11
Processor Number i3-2120
#of Cores - 2
# of Threads - 4
Clock Speed - 3.3 GHz
Intel® Smart Cache - 3 MB
Lightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Apr-2012, 20:43   #20
Albuquerque
Red-headed step child
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Guess ;)
Posts: 3,280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lightman View Post
It's not easy with Intel
Processor Number i3-2120
#of Cores - 2
# of Threads - 4
Ack, those bastards!

Anyone getting ready to buy a processor from Intel does indeed need to do some homework, which sucks because there are so many ways they could've made this easier with the whole multi-tier branding structure they have.

iX-GsssM Where:
  • iX denotes HT, Cache, AES, VTD, Turbo, blah-de-blah
  • G denotes generation
  • sss denotes "relative speed" in that generation
  • M denotes the 'modifier' for either unlocked "K", low-power "S" or extreme "X" versions
Jerks.
__________________
"...twisting my words"
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ 1/25 View Post
Get some supplies <...> Within the next couple of months, you'll need it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ 6/9 View Post
And riots are about to begin too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_8/5 View Post
food shortages and huge price jumps I predicted recently are becoming very real now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by _xxx_ View Post
If it turns out I was wrong, I'll admit being stupid
Albuquerque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Apr-2012, 19:09   #21
I.S.T.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davros View Post
The i5 680 begs to differ
It's also a discontinued or de-emphasized model.
I.S.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Apr-2012, 20:33   #22
Davros
Naughty Boy!
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 11,075
Default

de-emphasized ?
I bet you will say the mighty i7-620M dual core doesnt count either
__________________
Guardian of the Bodacious Three Terabytes of Gaming Goodness™
Davros is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.