Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
Old 18-Dec-2011, 13:23   #1476
trinibwoy
Meh
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 9,978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neliz View Post
Mind you, no one has 3GiB graphics cards, they're all 3GB (3x 1024MB)

please carry on.
Other way around, GB=1000MB, GiB=1024MiB
__________________
What the deuce!?
trinibwoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 13:32   #1477
Entropy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rangers View Post
If it's faster than GTX 580 it will cost the same or more than GTX 580. We dont have to like it but that's the way it will be.
Only if they are targeting similar or lower sales volumes as well. Which, depending on production capability/yields, may well be the case.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 13:36   #1478
hoho
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Estonia
Posts: 1,218
Send a message via MSN to hoho Send a message via Skype™ to hoho
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dooby View Post
They are gonna shoot themselves in the foot, the leg, the arse and the head if that's the actual price.
Then again putting it on sale at ludicrous price is a nice way to "fix" the problem of sucky availiablity.
hoho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 13:36   #1479
Man from Atlantis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 728
Default





http://translate.google.com/translat...ra-ondeyiz.htm
Man from Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 13:59   #1480
Man from Atlantis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 728
Default



Man from Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 14:14   #1481
DieH@rd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Man from Atlantis View Post
Ability to pair up different size monitors is awesome.
__________________
“It is Microsoft. And I will kill them.
—Sony Computer Entertainment President and CEO Ken Kutaragi, asked in 1994 who he thought the biggest competition would be for his upcoming PlayStation game console.
DieH@rd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 14:29   #1482
hoho
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Estonia
Posts: 1,218
Send a message via MSN to hoho Send a message via Skype™ to hoho
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DieH@rd View Post
Ability to pair up different size monitors is awesome.
Going by the yellow triangle on the leftmost image it seems like the monitors have equal resolution, just different physical screen size.

Of course it could just be a photoshopping error
hoho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 14:44   #1483
Kaotik
Drunk Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,396
Send a message via ICQ to Kaotik
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoho View Post
Going by the yellow triangle on the leftmost image it seems like the monitors have equal resolution, just different physical screen size.

Of course it could just be a photoshopping error
It most definately is error, if you look at the actual scene everything lines up perfectly
__________________
I'm nothing but a shattered soul...
Been ravaged by the chaotic beauty...
Ruined by the unreal temptations...
I was betrayed by my own beliefs...
Kaotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 15:06   #1484
Miksu
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rangers View Post
If it's faster than GTX 580 it will cost the same or more than GTX 580. We dont have to like it but that's the way it will be.
That's not always the case. 4870 was almost as fast as GTX 280 when it was released, but the price points were drastically different: 299$ vs 650$.
__________________
Mikael Koskinen blog: .NET Programming, Windows Phone Development, Software Architecture
Miksu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 15:24   #1485
Dooby
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miksu View Post
4870 was almost as fast as GTX 280
But this came after the almost disasterous years of 2900XT and 3870, both of which were beat by the 8800GT. AMD (ATi) needed to gain some good will by having high performance at lower price. I think they believe they are at the point where they have enough PR capital from the good 4xxx-6xxx years to increase their prices again.

I still hold that they are wrong, and a £500 gfx card thats only 20% faster than a 580 will be a laughing stock. At the very least, NV will drop the 580 prices, release a 580Ultra which matches it for perf and price. And people will buy the cheaper 580 rather than a 580U or 7970.
__________________
.טאָ לאָמיר אַלע שפּילן ,אין דרײדל, אײנס און צוויי
webdesign & ecommerce | tv guide
Dooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 15:24   #1486
Alexko
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,861
Send a message via MSN to Alexko
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miksu View Post
That's not always the case. 4870 was almost as fast as GTX 280 when it was released, but the price points were drastically different: 299$ vs 650$.
If memory serves, the 5850 is a better example, as it actually was both faster an cheaper than the GTX 285.
__________________
"Well, you mentioned Disneyland, I thought of this porn site, and then bam! A blue Hulk." —The Creature
My (currently dormant) blog: Teχlog
Alexko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 15:24   #1487
Rangers
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,257
Default

I suppose, but it was similar in performance to GTX 260 and thus probably priced thereabouts (I dont remember exact pricing at those times). This would be a new high end.
Rangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 15:30   #1488
Mindfury
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rangers View Post
I suppose, but it was similar in performance to GTX 260 and thus probably priced thereabouts (I dont remember exact pricing at those times). .
NV cut nearly half of GT200 price after R700 release,then they probably priced thereabouts.

R700 is a special case,AMD made a huge bet on GDDR5 and won.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mao5
heard when u power on, the screen shows "Radeon 7", this should be read from Evergreen cards BIOS

Last edited by Mindfury; 18-Dec-2011 at 15:43.
Mindfury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 15:53   #1489
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default



__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 16:05   #1490
Man from Atlantis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 728
Default

^^ damn you fast

should be cape verde no ? it seems 128 bit
Man from Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 16:07   #1491
AnarchX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,494
Default

http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.p...&postcount=805

Hopefully a 128-Bit Cape Verde Pro and XT is 192-Bit. Or could be 128-Bit@5,5Gbps enough to feed a ~150mm² GCN 28nm die?
AnarchX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 16:12   #1492
Man from Atlantis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnarchX View Post
http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.p...&postcount=805

Hopefully a 128-Bit Cape Verde Pro and XT is 192-Bit. Or could be 128-Bit@5,5Gbps enough to feed a ~150mm² GCN 28nm die?
3+1 pwm and 6 pin seems unlikely to be a PRO to me.. and good to see finally AMD get rid of blower fan and just go nvidia way for a low heat producer card..
Man from Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 16:12   #1493
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default

I measured the die at ~125 mm².
__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 16:20   #1494
AnarchX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,494
Default

Considering pad-limits for GDDR5, would be even 5Gbps GDDR5 possible @125mm²?
Since Cape Verde might have only a single-setup, it probably scale it execution-units by 2.

My guess:
10 SIMDs (640SPs/40 TMUs) @1GHz + 128-Bit@4,4Gbps. Performance especially in D3D11 a bit over HD 5770/6770, many new features and a price around $100.
AnarchX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 16:25   #1495
Kaotik
Drunk Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,396
Send a message via ICQ to Kaotik
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnarchX View Post
Considering pad-limits for GDDR5, would be even 5Gbps GDDR5 possible @125mm²?
Since Cape Verde might have only a single-setup, it probably scale it execution-units by 2.

My guess:
10 SIMDs (640SPs/40 TMUs) @1GHz + 128-Bit@4,4Gbps. Performance especially in D3D11 a bit over HD 5770/6770, many new features and a price around $100.
It's extremely unlikely that HD7700 would lose to HD5700/6700 in anything, so I'd say it has to be around 6800-level to be safe.
__________________
I'm nothing but a shattered soul...
Been ravaged by the chaotic beauty...
Ruined by the unreal temptations...
I was betrayed by my own beliefs...
Kaotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 16:26   #1496
Mindfury
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnarchX View Post
My guess:
10 SIMDs (640SPs/40 TMUs) @1GHz + 128-Bit@4,4Gbps. Performance especially in D3D11 a bit over HD 5770/6770, many new features and a price around $100.
I also thought it would be 10CU,but....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexko View Post
I think CU count has to be a multiple of 4, so 10CU isn't possible—unless GCN is a bit more flexible than we were led to believe.
So,it more likely will have 12CU.....performance around 6850 probaly...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mao5
heard when u power on, the screen shows "Radeon 7", this should be read from Evergreen cards BIOS
Mindfury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 16:31   #1497
AnarchX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaotik View Post
It's extremely unlikely that HD7700 would lose to HD5700/6700 in anything, so I'd say it has to be around 6800-level to be safe.
In D3D11 games it probably will be.
Do not forget, that Turks (480SPs VLIW5, 128-Bit) will go for HD 7600/HD 7500 series with no additional features.
My suggested Cape Verde would not be such bad, compared to these.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mindfury View Post
I also thought it would be 10CU,but....
So,it more likely will have 12CU.....performance around 6850 probaly...
I know. But do you think Cape Verde will be "dual-core"/double-setup-engine?

Last edited by AnarchX; 18-Dec-2011 at 16:41.
AnarchX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 16:33   #1498
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnarchX View Post
Considering pad-limits for GDDR5, would be even 5Gbps GDDR5 possible @125mm²?
The memory controller itself is a big chunk of logic also, so I guess this one will use the cheaper implementation for low clock-rates. And we still don't know how well padding elements scale with the 28 nm process.
__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 16:35   #1499
Kaotik
Drunk Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,396
Send a message via ICQ to Kaotik
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnarchX View Post
Do not forget, that Turks (480SPs VLIW5, 128-Bit) will go for HD 7600/HD 7500 series with no additional features.
Yes, but wasn't it also mentioned that they're supposed to be "OEM only" products?
__________________
I'm nothing but a shattered soul...
Been ravaged by the chaotic beauty...
Ruined by the unreal temptations...
I was betrayed by my own beliefs...
Kaotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2011, 16:41   #1500
AnarchX
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,494
Default

6750/6770 were also "supposed to be "OEM only""...
AnarchX is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
bye bye vliw, fps, stutter, untapped power, vliw lives on

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.