Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
Old 08-Dec-2011, 10:56   #1126
Ninjaprime
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaotik View Post
There's 5 or 6 memslots in the picture, and definately not room enough in the cropped out part to get 12 chips required for 384bit, so agreed, 256bit.
I donno, looks like 6 to me, and if the same pattern was repeated on the top part of that card, it would be exactly 12...
Ninjaprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 11:01   #1127
Man from Atlantis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaprime View Post
I donno, looks like 6 to me, and if the same pattern was repeated on the top part of that card, it would be exactly 12...
if the memory chips are planted on between pcie slot and gpu then you are correct.. i've never seen like that before though
Man from Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 11:04   #1128
Ninjaprime
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Man from Atlantis View Post
if the memory chips are planted on between pcie slot and gpu then you are correct.. i've never seen like that before though
Don't ruin peoples dreams!
Ninjaprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 11:36   #1129
Dooby
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 478
Default

I hope it is 256bit. I would prefer 64 ROPs and 256bit with fast RAM, than 48 ROPs and slower RAM with 384bit.
__________________
.טאָ לאָמיר אַלע שפּילן ,אין דרײדל, אײנס און צוויי
webdesign & ecommerce | tv guide
Dooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 12:02   #1130
Man from Atlantis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaprime View Post
Don't ruin peoples dreams!
i think a bit more and it seems like you are right the white thing on the left of the photo is pcie clips and right side is card's top so upper side of photo is card's left side where dvi and other connectors are so there should be plenty of room for extra memory modules.. thats why there is a diagonal memory module.. if it was 256 bit there shouldnt be any just be L shape.. i believe the card is 384 bit

http://www.abload.de/img/pc070155dxrz1.jpg

Last edited by Man from Atlantis; 08-Dec-2011 at 12:08.
Man from Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 12:23   #1131
Jawed
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 9,955
Send a message via Skype™ to Jawed
Default

Yeah that's a novel memory chip layout for AMD/ATI.
__________________
Can it play WoW?
Jawed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 12:29   #1132
Gipsel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 1,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaotik View Post
There's 5 or 6 memslots in the picture, and definately not room enough in the cropped out part to get 12 chips required for 384bit, so agreed, 256bit.
There is enough space for a 384 bit interface, if you arrange the memory on 3 sides ( compare here for instance or simply look at a GTX480/580 ). But from that picture you can't tell what it is.
Gipsel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 12:32   #1133
Kaotik
Drunk Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,459
Send a message via ICQ to Kaotik
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Man from Atlantis View Post
i think a bit more and it seems like you are right the white thing on the left of the photo is pcie clips and right side is card's top so upper side of photo is card's left side where dvi and other connectors are so there should be plenty of room for extra memory modules.. thats why there is a diagonal memory module.. if it was 256 bit there shouldnt be any just be L shape.. i believe the card is 384 bit

http://www.abload.de/img/pc070155dxrz1.jpg
Still wouldn't fix it, when you turned the picture, it seems more obvious that the "possibly memchip spot" (now furthest down, not in line with the rest) isn't a memchip, which would mean you'd need to have 5 + the 2 45 degree chips on top line, doesn't seem likely to me.
__________________
I'm nothing but a shattered soul...
Been ravaged by the chaotic beauty...
Ruined by the unreal temptations...
I was betrayed by my own beliefs...
Kaotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 12:33   #1134
Gipsel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 1,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jawed View Post
Yeah that's a novel memory chip layout for AMD/ATI.
HD1950XT had a similar (256 bit) one:
Gipsel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 12:35   #1135
Gipsel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 1,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaotik View Post
Still wouldn't fix it, when you turned the picture, it seems more obvious that the "possibly memchip spot" (now furthest down, not in line with the rest) isn't a memchip, which would mean you'd need to have 5 + the 2 45 degree chips on top line, doesn't seem likely to me.
In the original orientation you need the 3 straight ones at the bottom and 3 in a similar arrangement at the top, 4 at the left and the 2 angled ones in the top left and bottom left corners to arrive at the 12 chips for a 384bit interface.
Gipsel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 12:46   #1136
Jawed
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 9,955
Send a message via Skype™ to Jawed
Default

Yeah that's pretty similar though in this case it's the indented chip nearest the bottom that is the most novel feature here. This seems to be explicitly for compactness, but we can't use this as evidence of >256-bit memory.

But the area near the top of the board between the GPU and the back plane is "quite empty" on HD6970, so it's easy to imagine 10th, 11th and 12th memory chips curving down into that space.
__________________
Can it play WoW?
Jawed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 12:48   #1137
Kaotik
Drunk Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,459
Send a message via ICQ to Kaotik
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gipsel View Post
In the original orientation you need the 3 straight ones at the bottom and 3 in a similar arrangement at the top, 4 at the left and the 2 angled ones in the top left and bottom left corners to arrive at the 12 chips for a 384bit interface.
Indeed, brainfart.
Did a quick photochop, doesn't have any perspective taken into account, but seems too wide IMO
Distance between toprow chips is based on the distance between the 1 chip visible in original

__________________
I'm nothing but a shattered soul...
Been ravaged by the chaotic beauty...
Ruined by the unreal temptations...
I was betrayed by my own beliefs...
Kaotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:03   #1138
Man from Atlantis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 728
Default



http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/4349/pc070158b.jpg


http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/2207/pc070150.jpg

10 mc 320 bit 7950 ?
Man from Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:10   #1139
Jawed
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 9,955
Send a message via Skype™ to Jawed
Default

Wow there's a memory chip between the GPU and the PCI Express slot interface.
__________________
Can it play WoW?
Jawed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:11   #1140
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,034
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default

11 DRAM chips?
__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:18   #1141
no-X
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,099
Default

I see 11, too
__________________
Sorry for my English. But I hope it's better than your Czech
no-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:19   #1142
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,034
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default

Well, unless AMD opted for 32-bit channel architecture--one DRAM device per channel, what we see now is very confusing.
__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:21   #1143
no-X
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,099
Default

Now I see even the 12th, it's between the green sticker a PCB border (near PCIe)
__________________
Sorry for my English. But I hope it's better than your Czech
no-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:27   #1144
Man from Atlantis
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 728
Default

what about the power plugs ? 2x8 pin, 8+6 pin or 2x6 pin ?
Man from Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:29   #1145
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,034
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default

__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:31   #1146
Jawed
Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London
Posts: 9,955
Send a message via Skype™ to Jawed
Default

Please refer to this article if you want to see my edited picture (derived from a picture posted above) with numbered memory chips:

http://www.techsweden.org/nyhet/lCRC...d-radeon-7970/
__________________
Can it play WoW?

Last edited by Jawed; 10-Dec-2011 at 11:50. Reason: Since 2700 views of the picture I uploaded are too many for my crappy ISP, plusnet
Jawed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:32   #1147
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,034
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default

LOL, I didn't saw that one!

That one below must be in a very tight fit.
__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:34   #1148
no-X
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,099
Default

384bit MC seems to be double-confirmed now.
__________________
Sorry for my English. But I hope it's better than your Czech
no-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:38   #1149
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,034
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no-X View Post
384bit MC seems to be Jawed-confirmed now.
fix't
__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-Dec-2011, 13:38   #1150
boxleitnerb
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 402
Default

There has to be one between the GPU and the PCIe interface. If you look closely, the area where the chips are is of a slightly different color:

boxleitnerb is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
bye bye vliw, fps, stutter, untapped power, vliw lives on

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.