Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
Old 02-Dec-2011, 16:57   #1051
silent_guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexko
Yeah, that and nobody wants the power consumption of 7Gbps chips either. That would be my guess, anyway.
I don't think the difference in power consumption will be much more than a linear scale up. If so, it'd be a simple choice between power and performance. One that many would be willing to make.

A bigger argument against the 7Mbps is that the performance increase doesn't scale as expected. There is a threshold (5.5Mbps?) above which addition restrictions are imposed wrt bank access patterns, which can result in performance hit. It was mentioned in an Anandtech article, but I can't find it right now. The result would be that, e.g. 6Mbps will be a net negative and you have to go higher to recoup that loss.
silent_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Dec-2011, 17:19   #1052
rpg.314
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: /
Posts: 4,274
Send a message via Skype™ to rpg.314
Default

So this is the end of the road for GDDR5 then.
rpg.314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Dec-2011, 20:15   #1053
silent_guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpg.314
So this is the end of the road for GDDR5 then.
I thought PCIe 3 was end of the line.
They find ways to improve, don't worry.
silent_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-Dec-2011, 22:56   #1054
rpg.314
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: /
Posts: 4,274
Send a message via Skype™ to rpg.314
Default

I am sure they will find a way to improve, but frequency seems to have maxed out for the most part.

Charlie posted a pic with interposers tagged as HD8000, and claims credibly that Intel is looking at interposers hard for Haswell. 2013 can't come here soon enough.
rpg.314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-Dec-2011, 06:42   #1055
Ninjaprime
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 337
Default

I seem to recall some hynix pdf slides that gave two possible branches for the future, one refered to GDDR5+ scaling up 32gbps, which would be 8ghz. So I think the possiblity is there, but with no demand for even their 7ghz products yet, they have no real reasons to launch anything. Or perhaps they are taking the other branch which refered to some new memory system entirely.
Ninjaprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-Dec-2011, 03:13   #1056
mczak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaprime View Post
So I think the possiblity is there, but with no demand for even their 7ghz products yet, they have no real reasons to launch anything.
I just see no evidence the memory manufacturers can actually produce 7gbps chips, despite claiming to be able to 3 years ago.
You'd certainly think they'd have 6gbps chips which were using standard 1.5V voltage instead of the factory overvolted 1.6V parts if it's so easy. I bet there IS demand for such such chips (as well as higher speed grade 1.35V parts for mobile products).
Noone is interested in parts needing even higher voltages (and hence with power consumption going through the roof) but I think claming no demand for 7gbps parts is silly (well if it actually can be made to work at standard voltage that is).
mczak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 08:10   #1057
Dooby
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 478
Default

I know this info is to be taken with a truck load of salt, but the wiki page for Southern Islands has changed.

7970: 2048:128:48 where 48 = ROPs. This definitely said 64 last week. Is someone in the know already?

I don't know why, but my expectation for a 7970 just cratered...
__________________
.טאָ לאָמיר אַלע שפּילן ,אין דרײדל, אײנס און צוויי
webdesign & ecommerce | tv guide
Dooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 08:29   #1058
AlphaWolf
Specious Misanthrope
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Treading Water
Posts: 8,143
Default

Last edited by someone in sweden, /shrug anyone can change it
AlphaWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 13:58   #1059
ToTTenTranz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,528
Default

So any news about this rumoured event that should happen today in London?
It won't happen? Will it happen later?

I'm eagerly awaiting news about this launch, not only because I'm curious but also because I have a graphics card purchase pending.

BTW, I saw this:




Also, two new laptops have in the price lists appeared with SI GPUs:
- ASUS X53TK-SX058V w/ A6 3420M + Radeon HD 7670M for ~620€ (wow @ price point)
- HP Envy 17-3030ew w/ i7-2670QM + HD7690M for ~1200€

However, I haven't seen any specific rumour about what will be the HD76xxM GPUs, so there's a big chance they're just renamed HD67xxM Whistlers (VLIW5, 480sp, 24TMUs, 8 ROPs).
ToTTenTranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 14:09   #1060
no-X
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,099
Default

It's the old XDR2 fake...
__________________
Sorry for my English. But I hope it's better than your Czech
no-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 15:29   #1061
Kaotik
Drunk Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,458
Send a message via ICQ to Kaotik
Default

http://lenzfire.com/2011/11/amd-rade...n-march-65733/

http://lenzfire.com/2011/12/amd-plan...ies-gpu-40341/

__________________
I'm nothing but a shattered soul...
Been ravaged by the chaotic beauty...
Ruined by the unreal temptations...
I was betrayed by my own beliefs...
Kaotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 15:34   #1062
homerdog
hardly a Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: still camping with a mauler
Posts: 4,517
Default

Where is all this fake XDR2 crap coming from? I look at a chart that looks completely believable and then I see that and it's like
__________________
Releasing a game in 2010 without AA is a completely foreign concept to me. If the technique you're using makes it impossible to use AA then you're using the wrong techniques. As simple as that. Releasing a PC game without AA options is OK only if that means you can only have it enabled
-Humus
homerdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 15:42   #1063
no-X
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,099
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaotik View Post
Interesting. But it's not in line with the driver info, which indicates the same architecture for Tahiti and Pitcairn:

Code:
AMD68FA.1 = ati2mtag_Evergreen = "AMD Radeon HD 7300 Series"
…
AMD675B.1 = ati2mtag_NI = "AMD Radeon HD 7600 Series"
AMD6751.1 = ati2mtag_NI = "AMD Radeon HD 7600A Series"

…
AMD6859.1 = ati2mtag_R475 = "AMD Radeon HD 7400 Series"

AMD6840.7 = ati2mtag_R476 = "AMD Radeon HD 7600M Series"
AMD6841.7 = ati2mtag_R476 = "AMD Radeon HD 7500M/7600M Series"

AMD6799.1 = ati2mtag_R575 = "SI NEW ZEALAND"
AMD679A.1 = ati2mtag_R575 = "SI TAHITI PRO"
AMD6798.1 = ati2mtag_R575 = "SI TAHITI XT"
AMD683B.1 = ati2mtag_R575A = CAPE VERDE PRO
AMD6819.1 = ati2mtag_R575 = "PITCAIRN PRO"

AMD682F.1 = ati2mtag_R576 = "CHELSEA PRO"
AMD6824.1 = ati2mtag_R576A = "CHELSEA XT"
…
Which one is wrong?
__________________
Sorry for my English. But I hope it's better than your Czech
no-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 15:43   #1064
Kaotik
Drunk Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,458
Send a message via ICQ to Kaotik
Default

http://lenzfire.com/2011/12/amd-rade...e-specs-89652/

Starting to think lenzfire is just spreading crap
__________________
I'm nothing but a shattered soul...
Been ravaged by the chaotic beauty...
Ruined by the unreal temptations...
I was betrayed by my own beliefs...
Kaotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 15:47   #1065
no-X
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,099
Default

Especially this paragraph is quite funny...
Quote:
Another advantage of the 7000 series is that they will use the PCIe 3.0 bus on motherboards, while the use of new memories XDR2 seems to be left for later. A Rambus memory design would offer a higher bandwidth (up to 8,000 MHz) but the cost may pile up a bit more and that’s why AMD could have been suggested to go with GDDR5 itself.
Are they implying, that AMD replaced XDR2 memory controller by GDDR5 MC just a few weeks before launch?
__________________
Sorry for my English. But I hope it's better than your Czech
no-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 15:48   #1066
neliz
MSI Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: In the know
Posts: 4,901
Send a message via ICQ to neliz Send a message via MSN to neliz Send a message via Skype™ to neliz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by homerdog View Post
Where is all this fake XDR2 crap coming from? I look at a chart that looks completely believable and then I see that and it's like
One Chinese post back in June/July and everyone keeps regurgitating it. It has had more public exposure than Kim Kardashian's ***

btw, Lenzfire is closer to the truth, but still spewing a lot of crap.
__________________
I miss you CJ, 1976 - 2010
neliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 15:56   #1067
Kaotik
Drunk Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,458
Send a message via ICQ to Kaotik
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no-X View Post
Especially this paragraph is quite funny...

Are they implying, that AMD replaced XDR2 memory controller by GDDR5 MC just a few weeks before launch?
Well the XDR2 was never anything but rumors
__________________
I'm nothing but a shattered soul...
Been ravaged by the chaotic beauty...
Ruined by the unreal temptations...
I was betrayed by my own beliefs...
Kaotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 16:48   #1068
mczak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dooby View Post
I know this info is to be taken with a truck load of salt, but the wiki page for Southern Islands has changed.

7970: 2048:128:48 where 48 = ROPs. This definitely said 64 last week. Is someone in the know already?

I don't know why, but my expectation for a 7970 just cratered...
If you're assuming 384bit gddr5 it most likely can't really be anything else than 48 ROPs and I would guess that's why someone changed the wiki.


Quote:
Originally Posted by homerdog View Post
Where is all this fake XDR2 crap coming from? I look at a chart that looks completely believable and then I see that and it's like
Does not look believable to me anyway. In particular for GCN disabling of "clusters" should come in groups of 4 (and btw the power draw would be fantastic news but I see no reason why both nvidia and amd wouldn't go to the same limits as before).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaotik View Post
Hmm funny that so wichita/krishna cpu is scrapped and the IGP of it still scheduled to launch? That doesn't add up .
mczak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 17:20   #1069
Kaotik
Drunk Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,458
Send a message via ICQ to Kaotik
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mczak View Post
Hmm funny that so wichita/krishna cpu is scrapped and the IGP of it still scheduled to launch? That doesn't add up .
Wichita/krishna scrapped since when?
The news about "starting fresh" and use TSMC are bollocks, we already knew sometime in early(?) summer that they're using TSMC at least for some of Wichita/Krishna combo
__________________
I'm nothing but a shattered soul...
Been ravaged by the chaotic beauty...
Ruined by the unreal temptations...
I was betrayed by my own beliefs...
Kaotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 17:24   #1070
no-X
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,099
Default

Kaotik:
http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/mobile/...t_Delayed.html
http://vr-zone.com/articles/report-a...led/13975.html
__________________
Sorry for my English. But I hope it's better than your Czech
no-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 17:38   #1071
Kaotik
Drunk Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,458
Send a message via ICQ to Kaotik
Default

Yes, I'm aware of those, "according to sources" stuff with no official info related to such, not even to this date.
Xbit for example mentions that "Brazos 2.0 will boost performance slightly" but won't "revolutionary" like Deccan was supposed to be, yet we already knew during summer that Krishna is supposed to use just enhanced Bobcat cores.
Also none of the sites broadcasting news about that seem to know that TSMC was already meant to be responsible for at least part of Krishna/Wichita chips.

To me it sounds like someone misunderstood something along some point, which then got spread as news. "Deccan disappearing" could just aswell mean that "Deccan" will be known as Brazos 2.0 officially, if the news have any reality behind them.
What could be true, of course, is GF problems, but that wouldn't affect all of Krishna/Wichita combo.
__________________
I'm nothing but a shattered soul...
Been ravaged by the chaotic beauty...
Ruined by the unreal temptations...
I was betrayed by my own beliefs...
Kaotik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 20:13   #1072
fellix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Posts: 3,031
Send a message via Skype™ to fellix
Default

__________________
Apple: China -- Brutal leadership done right.
Google: United States -- Somewhat democratic.
Microsoft: Russia -- Big and bloated.
Linux: EU -- Diverse and broke.
fellix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 20:28   #1073
Alexko
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,944
Send a message via MSN to Alexko
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fellix View Post
So in a nutshell, model [BLANK] will have [BLANK], up to [BLANK], and even [BLANK] for a power consumption of just [BLANK]. Impressive.
__________________
"Well, you mentioned Disneyland, I thought of this porn site, and then bam! A blue Hulk." —The Creature
My (currently dormant) blog: Teχlog
Alexko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 20:55   #1074
neliz
MSI Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: In the know
Posts: 4,901
Send a message via ICQ to neliz Send a message via MSN to neliz Send a message via Skype™ to neliz
Default

It looks like our "onepage saleskit" but this screecap has errors in it.. sorry to disappoint you guys
__________________
I miss you CJ, 1976 - 2010
neliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-Dec-2011, 20:55   #1075
UniversalTruth
Former Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,529
Default



Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexko View Post
So in a nutshell, model [BLANK] will have [BLANK], up to [BLANK], and even [BLANK] for a power consumption of just [BLANK]. Impressive.
I understand you.

But this one is much better and at least there is a source.



Source

Quote:
Originally Posted by neliz View Post
It looks like our "onepage saleskit" but this screecap has errors in it.. sorry to disappoint you guys
Any hints about the DX support?
The card dimensions too...

Last edited by UniversalTruth; 05-Dec-2011 at 21:04.
UniversalTruth is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
bye bye vliw, fps, stutter, untapped power, vliw lives on

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.