Welcome, Unregistered.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

 
Old 08-Nov-2007, 19:40   #676
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,252
Default

Their comparisons are pretty neat... I like that they manage to get the same view angles for both consoles. It really seems like the PS3 is getting the shaft on AA and resolution scaling.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯□)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline  
Old 08-Nov-2007, 20:03   #677
betan
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlStrong View Post
Their comparisons are pretty neat... I like that they manage to get the same view angles for both consoles. It really seems like the PS3 is getting the shaft on AA and resolution scaling.
Honestly, AA situation is much better than I expected given that 360 has edram. Dirt, Sega Rally are same, VF5 improvement is minimal for 7 months of development, Harry Potter is even better on PS3.

On a side note, both FIFA and PES gfx are miserable for top-down camera. I expect someone to come up with a photo-realistic looking downloadable soccer game that can put all to shame.
betan is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 00:47   #678
DJ12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,598
Default

PS3 VF his veins stick out (as they should) on the 360 they go inwards (or maybe flat textures my untechnical eye cannot tell).

What the heck is going on there?
DJ12 is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 00:56   #679
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

i often see filtering problem on X360 game
anistotropic in VF5 PS3 and not for X360 version, for oblivion too, anisotropic on PS3 version (and with 50% more pixel) not for X360, PES demo with bad bilinear filtering on X360 , trilinear for PS3 version, very good aniso on GT5 prologue demo, very bad bilinear filtering on Forza2 demo ect...
strange, it's just because 24 TMU vs 16 TMU or other thing?

Last edited by Quaz51; 09-Nov-2007 at 01:01.
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 01:14   #680
Betanumerical
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In the land of the drop bears
Posts: 1,506
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
i often see filtering problem on X360 game
anistotropic in VF5 PS3 and not for X360 version, for oblivion too, anisotropic on PS3 version (and with 50% more pixel) not for X360, PES demo with bad bilinear filtering on X360 , trilinear for PS3 version, very good aniso on GT5 prologue demo, very bad bilinear filtering on Forza2 demo ect...
strange, it's just because 24 TMU vs 16 TMU or other thing?
I'm pretty sure you hit the nail on the head, it does after all have 50% more TMU's then the Xenos.
Betanumerical is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 02:38   #681
Dot50Cal
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 394
Default

Anyone do uncharted yet? Heres a shot that should help

Its the only thing I could find that was suited for line counting, sorry guys.

http://dot50cal.the-horror.com/b3d/0...0-1280x720.png
Dot50Cal is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 02:54   #682
Rangers
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,507
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Betanumerical View Post
I'm pretty sure you hit the nail on the head, it does after all have 50% more TMU's then the Xenos.
It does, but dont forget that if they are used, they take away some shading power, as they do double duty as shading ALU's/TMU's in G71. Whereas Xenos TMU's are stand-alone.

Point taken though, might be the reason.
Rangers is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 04:34   #683
AlNets
Posts may self-destruct
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In a Mirror Darkly
Posts: 15,252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dot50Cal View Post
Anyone do uncharted yet? Heres a shot that should help

Its the only thing I could find that was suited for line counting, sorry guys.

http://dot50cal.the-horror.com/b3d/0...0-1280x720.png
Mind getting a screenshot with a higher contrast of colours between polygon edges? It's a wee bit difficult to see the edge aliasing , but there does seem to be 2xMSAA.
__________________
"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means."
Never scale-up, never sub-render!
(╯□)╯︵ □ Flipquad
AlNets is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 06:01   #684
Dot50Cal
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 394
Default

Thats all I can find really, everything else is crooked. Hardly any straight edges here
Dot50Cal is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 06:28   #685
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dot50Cal View Post
Anyone do uncharted yet? Heres a shot that should help

Its the only thing I could find that was suited for line counting, sorry guys.

http://dot50cal.the-horror.com/b3d/0...0-1280x720.png

it's 1280x720 2xAA
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 07:12   #686
Dot50Cal
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 394
Default

Excellent. Very impressive Naughty Dog!

I have a video on Stage 6, 720p you can stream it:

http://stage6.divx.com/user/Dot50Cal...lkthrough-720p
Dot50Cal is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 09:39   #687
grandmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dot50Cal View Post
Excellent. Very impressive Naughty Dog!

I have a video on Stage 6, 720p you can stream it:

http://stage6.divx.com/user/Dot50Cal...lkthrough-720p
Crikey, some pretty horrible v-lock screen tear there. Is it the DivX player, the capture or the game itself?

I'm assuming that it's the game as your Stardust capture looks sound.

By the way, the Stage6 video player is rather spendid, isn't it? Is there any other streaming player offering HD support like that?

Last edited by grandmaster; 09-Nov-2007 at 12:05.
grandmaster is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 15:25   #688
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Ready for the Big Bang? (COD4 PS3/X360)
Pixel analyze start... counting mode ON.... checking.... checking.... result coming shortly...
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 16:19   #689
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

COD4 X360 = 1024x600p 2xAA again...
COD4 PS3 = 1024x600p 2xAA too...

exactly the same
it's typically a X360 resolution (1024x600 is an anamorphic resolution use strictly on X360 for full the EDRAM) use on a PS3 game, it's strange
this point than COD4 is a "X360 centric" game (the very bad compression of video point this too, or the difficulty to port the texture panel in the two PS3 memory pool)
PS3 centric game = Uncharted
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 16:24   #690
DJ12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,598
Default

Well they still did a better job than most.

Would be nice if they did actually do what they promised in future (ie having a PS3 and 360 team)

I know they said that this time, but with your evidence it's a little hard to believe that they started from scratch on both machines.
DJ12 is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 16:24   #691
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

maybe the filtering and the framerate is better on PS3 version, to be confirmed...
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 16:24   #692
betan
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
COD4 X360 = 1024x600p 2xAA again...
COD4 PS3 = 1024x600p 2xAA too...
So much for "not a 360 port" statements.

I would ask for texture filtering but CoD4 textures don't look very detailed in the videos.
betan is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 16:26   #693
Dave Glue
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
maybe the filtering and the framerate is better on PS3 version, to be confirmed...
Perhaps filtering, but the 360 version runs at 60fps from every review I've read.

Of course, they said the same thing about COD2....
Dave Glue is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 16:48   #694
quite
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Quaz51, is there any way i can contact you ? like Google IM, MSN or Yahoo? please?
quite is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 16:50   #695
-=P3tRaN=-
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 315
Default

hey, quite, quaz is like the new npd so you better not stalk him or else..
:P
-=P3tRaN=- is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 17:12   #696
assen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Skirts of Vitosha
Posts: 1,377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
yes it's 60fps locked framerate for the two version of course, i rather thought to slowdown frequency...
How do you measure framerate? I'm pretty sure none of the versions is locked at 60 fps. (And no, NeoGAF posts from August don't count as proof.)
__________________
Twitter
assen is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 17:44   #697
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NRP View Post
I'm almost finished with the 1st ACT. The framerate so far seems smooth, but there are a few slowdowns, so it definitely isn't "locked" at 60 fps. That said, so far the framerate seems much smoother than CoD2.

I'm playing the 360 version.
when i say "locked" i don't say "no slowdown" just 1VBL synchro (when it's possible of course...)
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 17:50   #698
Statix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaz51 View Post
COD4 X360 = 1024x600p 2xAA again...
COD4 PS3 = 1024x600p 2xAA too...

exactly the same
it's typically a X360 resolution (1024x600 is an anamorphic resolution use strictly on X360 for full the EDRAM) use on a PS3 game, it's strange
this point than COD4 is a "X360 centric" game (the very bad compression of video point this too, or the difficulty to port the texture panel in the two PS3 memory pool)
PS3 centric game = Uncharted
In reality though, Uncharted isn't really, really PS3-centric. 1280x720 is not the optimal resolution for a PS3 game, at least not for 1080i/p. 960x1080 is the optimal PS3-centric resolution, because it makes use of the horizontal-only hardware upscaler.

Did you test Uncharted in 720p, or 1080i/p output?
Statix is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 17:52   #699
Quaz51
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: France
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quite View Post
Quaz51, is there any way i can contact you ? like Google IM, MSN or Yahoo? please?
PM...
Quaz51 is offline  
Old 09-Nov-2007, 18:08   #700
Statix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 234
Default

I'm really kind of disheartened by all these instances of big differences in textures between 360 and PS3 multiplatform games. First, it was The Darkness, now it's COD4. 360 really pulls ahead in terms of texture resolution. I'm surprised, because isn't the PS3 supposed to have about the same amount of texture memory as the 360 (sans the ~50 megs needed for the OS)?

Not to derail this thread with texture resolution talk, of course...
Statix is offline  

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.